For the onwer of turbo...

stock turbo car's from factory , doesn't come with turbo timers , cause the turbo gets enough cooling already .

modified turbines if still using water cooling for their shafts should not have problems...

mine dun have so before i reach my destination i bawak slow slow...let the oil cool down first. :lol:

stock cars with stock turbos have no boost meter, no turbo timer, no loud exhaust and no blow off valve sound. :P

Originally posted by MitonCT26@Mar 8 2005, 10:01
modified turbines if still using water cooling for their shafts should not have problems...

mine dun have so before i reach my destination i bawak slow slow...let the oil cool down first. :lol:

stock cars with stock turbos have no boost meter, no turbo timer, no loud exhaust and no blow off valve sound. :P
me too. i take out the water cooling for my turbine.

so i'll cool down my car everytime atleast 30sec turn off.

most mitsu turbo from vr's,evo's, n so on are watercooled turbos....it seems to be like a longer lasting turbo compared to those non watercooled wif the same size....but the again the design of other turbos may not require them to need water cooling...

timer are usefull if u are tuning n malas to wait at the ignition key for 30 b4 can switch off n alter AFC's,haltech,motec n so on...so after revving high can just switch off then let timer do the waiting while u see the dyno graph and tune again....yweaahhhhhhh....
it is agaiin there bcoz wanna "sempurnakan" flow of engine oil through the rotating shafts in the turbo itself...

i just use the mineral oil 15-40(sustain higher temp) for my l2.change at about 3000km after see the engine oil become thicker, black and less(maybe half of the full neddle line).oil filter use original daihatsu one and change at 6000km.
filter just use the knn and clean when feel dirty.
i personnally think just need to frequently check ur spare radiator coolant level,engine oil level and ur car porch floor (see any oil/water leak stain from the car)

me got turbo timer also deactivate. didnt use it. want to keep low profile...

bout the radiator laa... is it bigger radiator will make the engine cool more than before? :blink: if i am not wrong our malaysia weather is too hot for turbo...... :(

BooN.....me using GSR turbo for more than a yr dee leh....nv once overheated,somemore i traveled on highway quite often,KL-MLK,MLK-JB,KL-JB....all no problems at all.....

Originally posted by Itab@Mar 8 2005, 21:54
BooN.....me using GSR turbo for more than a yr dee leh....nv once overheated,somemore i traveled on highway quite often,KL-MLK,MLK-JB,KL-JB....all no problems at all.....
Cool bro!!!Bro u usin vr4 i/cooler or gsr i/cooler n usin ori radiator?? hehehe would like to know.... :D :D

Originally posted by BooN@Mar 8 2005, 21:48
bout the radiator laa... is it bigger radiator will make the engine cool more than before? :blink: if i am not wrong our malaysia weather is too hot for turbo...... :(
IMO, better use the standard radiator that comes with your engine. should be okay. because engineers have already designed the best radiator for the engine's application.

unless u are like me, driving a car with small engine bay. had to use honda accord's radiator...

khoyos... as u know la the designer for turbo engine design for their country weather .Like japan quite cold at least more cold than malaysia. I jes tot to use a bigger radiator to keep the engine more cold. Do correct me if i am wrong.... :P soli to interupt.... ;) CheerSS...

Originally posted by BooN@Mar 8 2005, 22:11
khoyos... as u know la the designer for turbo engine design for their country weather .Like japan quite cold at least more cold than malaysia. I jes tot to use a bigger radiator to keep the engine more cold. Do correct me if i am wrong.... :P soli to interupt.... ;) CheerSS...
hehehe std radiator should be okay, unless u are running big piston with thin water jackets. otherwise std cooling system should be okay. should monitor temperature. if it goes higher than normal, something wrong. better attend to the problem soon or else it will cause big headache not to mention burn a big hole in ur wallet...

if u are worried about ur temperature (driver's instinct ;) ) better upgrade to bigger/better radiator...

i wana improvemy low to mid end torque and hp from 1k-4krpm of my 1.6L M/T Gen2..what type pf turbo is recommended.. iwant quick spooling, zero turbo lag instant boost response from 1 k onwards...thanks pref boosting 0.5 bar to 0.7 bar without changes to engine internals...any suggestions?

Originally posted by razaksa@Mar 8 2005, 22:56
i wana improvemy low to mid end torque and hp from 1k-4krpm of my 1.6L M/T Gen2..what type pf turbo is recommended.. iwant quick spooling, zero turbo lag instant boost response from 1 k onwards...thanks pref boosting 0.5 bar to 0.7 bar without changes to engine internals...any suggestions?
U need a supercharger!!!

Originally posted by AlucarD+Mar 8 2005, 23:10 --></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td>QUOTE (AlucarD @ Mar 8 2005, 23:10 )</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'> <!--QuoteBegin-razaksa@Mar 8 2005, 22:56
U need a supercharger!!! [/b][/quote]
yah i know, I'm triyng to get Gerard(Draeger Racing) to do one for me but not so soon....oso I cant find any Supercharger specialist in JB or SIngapore area, just considering turbo option.

BooN,me using stock GSR intercooler,but i don think tht has much to do with the cooling of the engine,in general bigger i/c gives cooler air,thus more dense air with more oxygen molecules per volume,so gives u better power only,but too big an i/c also increases lag la,so depends on wat engine n the size of your turbo lo

me also using standard radiator...and as i said,darn bloody reliable...no joke,nv once overheated
but as turbo user i check on the engine oil level and reserve water tank level every now n then,much more often than usual la,since i always travel on highway

Originally posted by khoyos+Mar 8 2005, 22:16 --></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td>QUOTE (khoyos @ Mar 8 2005, 22:16 )</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'> <!--QuoteBegin-BooN@Mar 8 2005, 22:11
khoyos... as u know la the designer for turbo engine design for their country weather .Like japan quite cold at least more cold than malaysia. I jes tot to use a bigger radiator to keep the engine more cold. Do correct me if i am wrong....  :P soli to interupt....  ;)  CheerSS...
hehehe std radiator should be okay, unless u are running big piston with thin water jackets. otherwise std cooling system should be okay. should monitor temperature. if it goes higher than normal, something wrong. better attend to the problem soon or else it will cause big headache not to mention burn a big hole in ur wallet...

if u are worried about ur temperature (driver's instinct ;) ) better upgrade to bigger/better radiator... [/b][/quote]
Will bigger radiator interrupt the engine performance?? :ph34r: jes wanna play safe a bit.. hehehhe

Originally posted by Itab@Mar 8 2005, 23:25
BooN,me using stock GSR intercooler,but i don think tht has much to do with the cooling of the engine,in general bigger i/c gives cooler air,thus more dense air with more oxygen molecules per volume,so gives u better power only,but too big an i/c also increases lag la,so depends on wat engine n the size of your turbo lo

me also using standard radiator...and as i said,darn bloody reliable...no joke,nv once overheated
but as turbo user i check on the engine oil level and reserve water tank level every now n then,much more often than usual la,since i always travel on highway
hehehe thanks a lots for ur advise!!! reli reli appreciate.... but if i wan change bigger i/cooler will make turbo lag a bit rite?? any solution??? or use all standard the best??

bro,as i said,depends on the size of the turbo and how much u're boosting la
say u get a TD04 twin fin from a GSR,and use a VR4 i/c,this is quite a common setup,it should be good enough la
but if say u overkilled the size of your i/c,say u put in a evo7 i/c,and boost remains stock which is around 0.6 bar,i think u're bound to experience some lag la....then u'll need to up your boost dee lo....up your boost dee,then comes the issue of whether your stock internals can tahan or not?since u're opting for a bolt -on turbo kit....factory turbo engines like GSR,i was told can stand up to 1.2 bar with no problems la,but i nv tried tht b4,so don really know la

TD04 twin fin has quite a fast response la,since it is smaller in comparison to TD05,spools up faster,but then the power band ends faster also lo
in general bigger turbo,bigger lag,but once the boost kicks in,u'll smile all the way up to the red line i guess

juz my 2 cents,hope it helps

:D :lol: :D :lol: reli thanks for ur advise.. i jes wanna make sure about it. how bout GSR-RS TD04 with vr4 i/cooler can i boost until 1.0 bar??? as i know 0.7 bar is safe zone lah... any suggestion?? :P