Flying to London, pls help!!!

GSR5559

Guys im planning to fly to London. Problem is im not committed to any jobs in Msia and im kinda afraid they wont let me in, they might think im goin ther to werk illegally or known as "Tiu Fei Kei" .. im goin ther to visit my gf, might be goin with her parents but planning not to come back as early as her parents will do. so as long i can fly in to London den i do not need to worry about any other things, like going back to Msia cus i go ther for about 6 months i think. Im not goin to werk ther illegally, but i need to prove it to them dat im jus goin ther for holidays. So with my status now, unemployed, nothin to show them im tied down in Msia. so pls help me, im out of ideas.

thankz

bro, apply with immigration with a special pass. better still u can contact immigration department malaysia and enquire about it. dealt with immi officers for few years last time, but from wat i know, that special pass is for one way only and there is no coming back! furthermore, now security measures are very tight at london due to those bombing incidents.....if u apply for holiday passes it shud be in a group pass whereby it has to be registered with a travel agency, but that is only valid for 2 weeks. i know some big guns in immi, but i dunno whether he is retired or not i really dunno.

give it a try, no harm done! if u wan tiu fei kei, u will be caught and will be handed back to malaysia eventou u are not working there! and sumore malaysian ambassy over there need a valid reason for u doin so... and its not easy!

haiya danny, migrate there la ahahahahhahaaa....

GSR5559 said:
Guys im planning to fly to London. Problem is im not committed to any jobs in Msia and im kinda afraid they wont let me in, they might think im goin ther to werk illegally or known as "Tiu Fei Kei" .. im goin ther to visit my gf, might be goin with her parents but planning not to come back as early as her parents will do. so as long i can fly in to London den i do not need to worry about any other things, like going back to Msia cus i go ther for about 6 months i think. Im not goin to werk ther illegally, but i need to prove it to them dat im jus goin ther for holidays. So with my status now, unemployed, nothin to show them im tied down in Msia. so pls help me, im out of ideas.

thankz

Bro you need to apply for your visa at the British High Commission in Jalan Ampang..they will interview you and then you can explain your porpose of visit and your current employment status..when they are satisfied that this is a genuine case they will issue a visitors visa..it is beter to go through the screening here than to get stranded at Heathrow..

hope that helps

There's no need for that, i just came back from the UK yesterday. When you're at the imigration, tell them that you're there to visit your gf. They'll ask for her address, just give it to them. Your visitors visa permits you 3-6 months stay however you're not allowed to work AT all. If you're aged between 18-25 (not sure if this has changed), you can try applying for the working holiday visa (i did this 4 years ago) which allows you 2 years stay in the country and permits you to work for about 30 hours a week (not 100% sure of the figure)
I heard recently that there's a long waiting list for the working holiday visa but you could try, no harm there. If you successfully get it and decide to work there, you won't have to stick to the stipulated 30 hours because the employers there don't really give it a shit :P

Hope this helps!

My friend just goes to UK without any paperwork at all. He just tells them that he wanna watch EPL live.

Edit: Before the London bombing.

hello,

1. no need visa, but heard they will implement soon.
2. ask your gf prepare a letter stating you and her relationship, place to stay, etc.
3. immigration officer will ask,
a. what are you doing here?
b. what's the purpose of visiting?
c. where will you visit?
d. who are you going to stay with?
e. where is your friend/relative staying?
f. what is your friend/relative working as?
g. do you have a job in malaysia?
h. what are you working as?

these are the basically questions they will ask, they might go into details and this is where the letters are needed. don't be afraid just relax... they might ask you to show them your return ticket to malaysia.

remember to be polite, say Hi or good morning, afternoon, evening to them ... my relative said if your 'yong shui', 'they dont like your face'... they will ask a lot of questions and might be treating you a coffee/tea in a special room, it happen to my cousin.. maybe because she is younger

good luck

ps. working holidaymaker visa is no longer exist anymore. it has been suspended in middle of 2005, and i am not sure if the british commissioner will continuing this visa. yes, there's a long queue for those who called for interview only... infact that you can get the visa within 2 weeks.

fstrader : wahlan migrate crazy ar? no money man. moreover got family staying in msia gonna miss them so much man. btw im veri sure dat im not goin to werk over ther, if reli no money might think of dat but afraid might get caught, embarassing and might be locked up oso i wont know. big shots, huhuhu..mebi if im reli out of idea, mebi ill gif u a call if i can reli save up money and go look for my gf. anyway no harm trying rite? she will be ther for 2 yers, now it is only 5 days, kinda difficult to reach 2 yers man.

BMW: yeah mebi these few days might be goin ther to ask jus in case fly ther get all tix den cannot go, hailat!!! tix is not cheap man

zero: i dun think ill be werking over ther, purpose is to teman gf oni. stay at home better man, or go out shopping..i wonder how much do i need to survive ther for 3 months for eg:

NOS: thats a good reason man. hahaha..EPL

4agze: wah see face summore, and yeah my gf said she will get a letter from her uni to let me come over to visit her. and basically i am unemployed dude. so i feel kinda hard for me to get permit to fly over. they might think im goin ther for werking purpose.

thankz guy for all ur info, ill go to the embassy directly to check whether i am able to go ver ther or not. thankz for ur help guys

another question is how much do u guys think i need if i were to go to London for 3 months maybe. airtix how much? the cheapest one i need to transit alot of country rite? how about direct flight? return tix price ya. and wen is the peak and non-peak season.? jus gif me a rough estimation.

Rm2600 for open ticket return flight exclusive tax which is about Rm500 lowest season starts from now until december forgotten the date, at 12noon flight, and additional maybe RM50-Rm100 for midnight flight ... if your staying in london, i estimate you use 50PD a week, so you calculate yourself.. if you cook yourself will be a saving. of course you can go and visit any places without bringing much money, i.e. 5pd for water and a something to eat like bread with you unless you wanted to buy things.

buy a period ticket to zone 1,2,3,4 & 5... probably 6 if you want for a month or 2 depends on how long your staying is which is so much cheaper. this ticket allows you to use the national railway, the underground services and bus services. anywhere, anytime but within the zone you purchased earlier.

i have check with local british commissioners and they need us to apply for a visa for any purposes including visiting there. you might get yourself in an interview if they want to. oh ya, starts from November 2005

fstrader, what immigration with special pass?? never heard of it, unless it is holidaymaker visa

GSR5559 said:
fstrader : wahlan migrate crazy ar? no money man. moreover got family staying in msia gonna miss them so much man. btw im veri sure dat im not goin to werk over ther, if reli no money might think of dat but afraid might get caught, embarassing and might be locked up oso i wont know. big shots, huhuhu..mebi if im reli out of idea, mebi ill gif u a call if i can reli save up money and go look for my gf. anyway no harm trying rite? she will be ther for 2 yers, now it is only 5 days, kinda difficult to reach 2 yers man.

u'll get used to it. and prepare for ups and downs. haha

wei, what special arrangements aaa? come come PM me let us discuss lah... im interested lah wei really!.. :D

fstrader said:
hehehehee mr lee, that is special arrangements ma :tongue:

4agze: yeah ive checked thru online, tix will be around 2k+ - 3k+ depending which season im goin. excluded airport tax le. i think becus of the bombing evryone needs a visa to enter London., and yeah my fren told me to get a monthly pass for those underground trains, quite affordable rather than getting theri taxi man, it will cost around 80-90 pounds from the airport to zone 2 man. btw usually wht they will interview about? and if with the status i am currently, do u think it is easy to get in London?

nakata: haha, getting better each day, but still gota face the fact that shes gone. anyway hope to fly veri soon. thankz bro

boggy: haha, ciggies? me oso a heavy smoker, one passport wher got enuf to buy for ur share oso le? hehe..price of ciggi might be incresing beginning of nex month, from wht i heard around RM 8..happy quit smoking ya

DON'T EVER TAKE TAXI IN LONDON... sorry for the caps just for warning. walk or take the underground train is very convenient like those in singapore.

interview? oh.. you mean the visa application on coming november is it? normal things like i stated earlier loh.. maybe will go into details and with your currently jobless, i think they will ask will you able to go there? how much is your savings in bank, etc.. lah

buy ciggie in england? no need lah, small packet already cost RM21.00 but not so sure in the duty free zone but malaysia duty free ciggie cannot buy cos sucks la..

4agze: yeah i heard my gf said to take a cab from the airport to zone 2 cost 80-90p equivalent around RM 600 bucks man. and yes ciggi price is damn epensive ther man, so to compare with msia dat is goin to raise to RM 8.50 still affordable at the moment. hehe

thteh: yeah dude, long time no see? how is evrythin? anyway yeah shes in london now, me sad over here.. :( anyway life goes on, build up a career so can get married fast with her..ahhhaa..

if your lugguage is not many, and you can carry by yourself, take the train(tube). less than 10pounds for a day pass, and maybe ~30pounds for a week depending on the "zones" you wanna go to. Monthly pass available too. I guess ur gf can explain better, ask her about the oyster card.

Train ticket can act as bus ticket as well.

When you are here, care to join me for a drink?
send me a pm if you'r interested.

i think i can help in this

hey bro, about your mattter, i am in London right now .. i am from Malaysia. i been here on 05 May 2005 ... now i am still in London..you are right when passing the kastam will ask many question..the most important thing is u know how to speak english ..that all.. what i do when i pass the kastam is.. prepare your an address and telephone number than can contact ur gf.just tell them u are looking for ur gf that live in bla bla bla....then they will ask u how long u gonna be here.. tell them 2 weeks or 1 weeks. while they were thinking, u can suddenly come out a question to them.. take ur address out, ask them how are you gonna go to this place.. haha.. :rock: that the way i use when i come to london..at the time i ask the kastam.. she point at the information counter.. then chop my passport for 6 month.. then we pass the kastam .. hehe... anyway all the best bro :tee:

boggysv said:
if your lugguage is not many, and you can carry by yourself, take the train(tube). less than 10pounds for a day pass, and maybe ~30pounds for a week depending on the "zones" you wanna go to. Monthly pass available too. I guess ur gf can explain better, ask her about the oyster card.

Train ticket can act as bus ticket as well.

When you are here, care to join me for a drink?
send me a pm if you'r interested.

hey bro, your in london currently aaa?

a week rail ticket for zone 1,2,3 is £25