Expertise Help me to choose between MIVEC or 4G93 Turbo GSR

azuan_man81

Hi my friends,

Right now i'm having problem to choose between this 2 engine. I think the prices both quite similar. Please help me expertise out there.

Thank you very much....

azuan_man81 said:
Hi my friends,

Right now i'm having problem to choose between this 2 engine. I think the prices both quite similar. Please help me expertise out there.

Thank you very much....

yo bro...let me b the one to reply u 1st..hahahah...anyway, i had ur problem last time...mivec or gsr...both are good engines....mivec is a very very good NA engine....high compression engine. lower maintainence (bcoz it's NA). that engine can go up to 130 bhp (correct me if i am wrong). won't hv lag like turbo engines have.

gsr for that matter is a turbo engine....said to be 160bhp(correct me if i am wrong). yes....they are about the same price. dun u just love the turbo blow off sound...hehehe..and the g-force of coz. however, there are a few types of gsr. RS and the normal one. RS is said to be without A/C. but can generate to about 210bhp.

actually i dunno what to write here..:p. maybe u can be more specific of what u are unclear and i m sure members of zth will be ever willing to advice u..:)

turbo or NA?
now is hard to decide,see the petrol increase every few month. there will be another increase before RAYA. so, guess in long run, we need solar power car.

expertise....

can u give the rough price for Mivec MD, Mivec, Mivec LSD, GSR, GSR RS, GSR LSD? n what is the true different between Mivec n Mivec MD..which one is better?

n Zero kool...what is GSR RS without A/C...is it Air Cond?

Top speed between GSR n MIVEC?

n which engine do you prefer if i'm consider about reliability?

what is the good about high compression? GSR dun hav compression engine?

Fuel consumption between them?

Which one can win, 4g93p or MIVEC?

Desperate to know..hehe...

You have 2 options actually. Power or reliability.

Power - GSR

Reliability - Mivec

azuan_man81 said:
expertise....

can u give the rough price for Mivec MD, Mivec, Mivec LSD, GSR, GSR RS, GSR LSD? n what is the true different between Mivec n Mivec MD..which one is better?

n Zero kool...what is GSR RS without A/C...is it Air Cond?

Top speed between GSR n MIVEC?

n which engine do you prefer if i'm consider about reliability?

what is the good about high compression? GSR dun hav compression engine?

Fuel consumption between them?

Which one can win, 4g93p or MIVEC?

Desperate to know..hehe...

Azuan,

1.) Dont know the exact price.. need someone else to answer this..

2.) The so-called "GSR RS" are supposed to come with only manual air-cond controller, but the RS version is very highly debatable whether it truely exist being it having a higher horsepower engine. Yes, the Libero GT does come in 215ps if i read it somewhere correctly, but whether is it oficially called the 'RS' version, I have no idea. If one would physically judge a 4G93T with only the manual aircond, then all the chopshop guys would take out the digital unit, replace it with a manual one and sell it at a higher price.. Would not want to dwell into this too much as there was a topic which covers this area before..

3.) There are a lot of areas that dictates a top speed of a car, (ie gear ratios, etc) What I can confirm is both can reach 180km/h and gets stuck there if you've got the speed-cut on :D. Personally, what matters to me most is which engine gets to 180km/h the fastest..

4.) I've not driven or own a MIVEC powered car, but my gut feeling tells me the GSR would drink more than a MIVEC provided both are well tuned and that both the driver has an equal weight on the right foot.

5.) This is also very subjective.. I've seen a 4G93P trashed a MIVEC and a MIVEC beating a 4G93P lamp posts away, but on papers, the MIVEC should be a more powerful powerplant.

Hope that helps, I'm bored..

hi bro.actually this is depend on u whether u wan a fast o normal car.ya mivec is good when u mod it with a lot of money.but if u conpare with vtec then is no so good coz no many performance parts on the town.if u play with turbo,u can easily get greater power juz put in some mod compare to na.(i'm a mivec driver b4,when i play with vtec kena ta pau by their 3rd gear.)so think carefully don be a silly guy like me get mivec then regret and put gsr.waste money!!!.but many ppl say mivec 1.8 is good.so consider it yourself.Good luck,bro!

turbo also reliable if u maintain it well and no modding funny2 stuff..just let it standard for a while..if me..save a little bit and go for 4g63 evo 1, 2 or 3 halfcut..hehe:)

i'm thinking also to put vr4 but due to lot of problemo been through by vr4 owner, gsr n mivec is the best. canot effort for evo1,2,3.

Somebody knows the different between Mivec n Mivec MD. What i know MIVEC MD is low FC but is it as powerful as MIVEC

Anybody there know the price of MIVEC n GSR?

Thanks expertise...

for me...i think mivec should be better since our fuel consumption keep on rising nowadays........Mivec u juz need a Mivec Controllet to tune abit thne should be powerful oledi without any problems........

Turbo lots of troubles.......

gsrTurbo9166 said:
hi bro.actually this is depend on u whether u wan a fast o normal car.ya mivec is good when u mod it with a lot of money.but if u conpare with vtec then is no so good coz no many performance parts on the town.if u play with turbo,u can easily get greater power juz put in some mod compare to na.(i'm a mivec driver b4,when i play with vtec kena ta pau by their 3rd gear.)so think carefully don be a silly guy like me get mivec then regret and put gsr.waste money!!!.but many ppl say mivec 1.8 is good.so consider it yourself.Good luck,bro!

bro...correct me if i'm wrong.....as i know there is no mivec 1.8..rite ?? (correct me)....they name it mivec 1.8 because is hybrid type.......correct me again if i'm wrong.....:D

bro azuan,

if you like ppsshhh ppsshh sound and blow off sound....go for turbo....if you like N/A got for it......but one thing ...if you play turbo..no matter what turbo....for sure you FC is higher than N/A ......hahaha...drive turbo sure tekan wan mah....where got slow slow wan .......hehehehe...:p :D :D

Gsr or Mivec

For my opinion ... to choose between dis 2 engine is depends on clients long term budget . Yes, GSR originally comes with turbo, maximum boost 0.7 bar , 160 hp on wira sedan Compare to mivec n/a140 hp in wira sedan car . i've been facing dis problem when convert my engine but my last decision is to choose mivec bcuz i scared of maintanence of turbo engine. Today i've modify my n/a mivec to the maximum by converting it to 1.8 . GSR with TD04 turbo i still can win 1 car gap ... So why choose GSR ... if really want power i prefer straight away put 4G63 evo lor

GSr Max boost only 0.7 bar? izzit??? erm...need to think bout tat..

for me.....im driving turbo car la actually.......fuel consumption still ok la....but i more prefer MIVEC la....d sound nice only when d Mivec kick on..after tuned la...

some more NA very syok to tarik.......can hear d sound...not like turbo....cant tarik....some more if u boost higher..problems datang la.....then u know...

MIVEC is like VTEC...nice sound..if u luv VTEC then u wil luv MIVEC...rite???

huakenny said:
for me...i think mivec should be better since our fuel consumption keep on rising nowadays........Mivec u juz need a Mivec Controllet to tune abit thne should be powerful oledi without any problems........

Turbo lots of troubles.......

for me turbo not give u lot trouble la like people said..... if u layan standard engine i think ok for u.... fuel consumption oso ok but little bit more la than N/A..... maintenance oso easy like N/A car but must change oil engine regularly loo... i've been drive gsr for a 1 year++ and its ok until now....no much problem at all.... u can feel the power loo but can't feel like u drive evo ler just 'sedap sedap rasa liao..':p

put in simple terms: if u like high revving, go for mivec...if u like the kick of turbo, go for gsr..

wat i can tell u is this...u will never get the same feeling from an n/a as wat u get from a turbo..the feeling is totally different when the boost starts to kick in..

if u go for mivec, just get the regular blacktop or silvertop..dun get the md...if u go for gsr, just get the regular one..dun look for rs version..

my suggestion is this...go get urself a test drive in both mivec & gsr...have a feel of wat its like to drive them both...then u decide which one u want..best is for u to test on stock, not modified..so u will know wat u will get fr the h/cut...

azuan_man81 said:
i'm thinking also to put vr4 but due to lot of problemo been through by vr4 owner, gsr n mivec is the best. canot effort for evo1,2,3.

Somebody knows the different between Mivec n Mivec MD. What i know MIVEC MD is low FC but is it as powerful as MIVEC

Anybody there know the price of MIVEC n GSR?

Thanks expertise...

mivec and gsr are around the same price...mebbe RM5500 +- la.well bro...i had ur thinking last time...alwiz hearing ppl saying...turbo maintain like hell....but also...i see many ppl hv gsr, they driving it for 3-4 years dee....still no problem....but of coz occasional oil checks and oil change is a must la. mivec will kena ta pao by vtec ler...like gsrTurbo9166 said. coz it seems vtec is a better engine than mivec(price better oso ler).

i knw someone in zth replied to ur post saying about his mivec..yes...u can bolt in a turbo and u can really get a powerfull mivec turbo. but still...is it worth it? and y did the owner bolt in a turbo?? bcoz original mivec not enough power?? ahh....think about this...if he is satisfied with his n/a mivec, no turbo should be in it right???:p. besides, if u get a mivec then later bolt in a turbo....isn't that more money wasted?? also, when u come to bolting into turbo, there are many things to consider...wiring is one, pipping is two and carftmanship is three.....u need good ones to do it. if not, u'll just end up paying more for it's maintainence...so y not get a gsr with a turbo in it which the ENGINEERS of mitsubishi have created with??;)

yes...gsr rs is without a/c(air-cond). but the normal version ones are coming about 0.6-0.7 boost bar la. if ur car u are gonna transplant with is a daily car...0.7 bar is more than enough bro.....how high can u boost la in the JAM??u can say hardly boost oso....gsr has the best fuel consumption among turbo cars(this is what i heard). compared to evo3 or 4, those are crazy. i hv a fren who uses one full tank in two days...for that evo3 engine....while i hv a fren who has gsr uses RM10 for about 80++ km.so u see.....of coz those with mivec will say mivec is better....those with gsr will say gsr is better..so in the end? it's all up to u. like ambayah said, u wan power?then go for gsr.u want reliable go for mivec.it's not to say that gsr IS NOT reliable.it is reliable of coz. if not mitsubishi won't build it:p . so just ask ur self...want the bov sound? or not nia...:)

HyperRevved 6313 said:
Today i've modify my n/a mivec to the maximum by converting it to 1.8 . GSR with TD04 turbo i still can win 1 car gap ... So why choose GSR ... if really want power i prefer straight away put 4G63 evo lor

Zero_kool,

If you're reffering to hyperrevved's posting, what he meant was he had his MIVEC stroked up to 1.8 with a 4G93P block. There's a full stop between the two sentence..

hehe I missed that too when I had a glanced of it just now. Was curious to know why he said that he was afraid of the maintanence of a turbo and yet he had a turbo bolted on..

yalo...should go n hv a try on both car......all cars are good to drive if u dun kacau d engine..but once u kacau or boost up d car...then problems may come.....

i juz boost up my car las few week....then brake not makan oledi......then fuel pump need to tukar........turbo hose pecah while max boost so need to tukar.....n downpipe need to change so change tis change tat...now pokai oledi....

heheheheh just use standard engine loor... don't usik-usik...:p If u start usik then the problem may come laa...;)