Exhaust system

AE82GT

hi, would like to know if install back box exhaust ONLY without any piping & extrator modification...Engine stock standard....

Question: Does it improve the performance?? What about the fuel comsumption?

Please advise.

Thank you.

improvement, yeah very little until u won't feel much...almost anything.

F.C. will increase due to how u drive, for me it won't increase at all

with the extractor and end-muffler changed to the WiSE stuffs, my FC gone higher about 10% minumum.

Fuel Consumption - well, this basically happend not due to the muffler back box..., this happend because of you purposely pressing on your gas pedal often to hear the noisy/bassy exhaust sound without realising how much gas waisted... ahahha...

Originally posted by AE82GT@Feb 13 2005, 15:43
hi, would like to know if install back box exhaust ONLY without any piping & extrator modification...Engine stock standard....

Question: Does it improve the performance?? What about the fuel comsumption?

Please advise.

Thank you.
Well, it depends on the size of the back box you plan to change to. The back box has a muffler, the larger the muffler is, the less sound pollution you have but then again, the larger the muffler, the higher the exhaust flow resistance is created. This exhaust flow resistance would affect the performance of the engine. If you are changing from the stock large muffler to a smaller one, you will feel a difference. But don't expect a big difference. Last time what my bro did for my 1.5 Wira was he completely took out the muffler and just use a 2" pipe only with no muffler. Damn, did it sound good. Not too loud and satisfactory performance.

Originally posted by drexchan@Feb 14 2005, 12:33
with the extractor and end-muffler changed to the WiSE stuffs, my FC gone higher about 10% minumum.
wah so obvious??
i change from stock wira to iswara LMST exhaust feel no different on FC
still get the bassy sound

badguy,

where u get the iswara LMST and how much..?looking for 1..do inform me..thanx

Originally posted by badguy+Feb 21 2005, 16:38 -->
QUOTE (badguy @ Feb 21 2005, 16:38 )
--QuoteBegin-drexchan
@Feb 14 2005, 12:33

wah so obvious??
i change from stock wira to iswara LMST exhaust feel no different on FC
still get the bassy sound [/b][/quote]
dunno.. maybe i enjoyed the sound too much.. haha!!

According to my knew, if u using 4-2-1 this is more for pick up, if using 4-1 this is more 4 high speed depend on your need. if u think large and large piping is good that's u wrong. If u drive 1.5 wira and wif 2" piping u will lost pick up coz air flow to straight so cannot create the back flow so u will lost pick. Pls remember this thing too large = no good but too small = no good. I hope can help everyone.... :rolleyes: :P B)

Originally posted by chinkw2@Feb 22 2005, 22:59
According to my knew, if u using 4-2-1 this is more for pick up, if using 4-1 this is more 4 high speed depend on your need. if u think large and large piping is good that's u wrong. If u drive 1.5 wira and wif 2" piping u will lost pick up coz air flow to straight so cannot create the back flow so u will lost pick. Pls remember this thing too large = no good but too small = no good. I hope can help everyone.... :rolleyes: :P B)
bro , so how many inch is da best coz im planning 2 change 2 straight flow piping . neway , im driving a 1.5 wira . btw , u said if use 4-1 it will increase ur speed n 4-2-1 will lost speed n higher pick up . so , is there any solution 2 combine both dis mechanism . beginner here ler , dun fire me k ... hehe :lol: :lol:

Originally posted by kiyoshi@Feb 21 2005, 17:41
badguy,

where u get the iswara LMST and how much..?looking for 1..do inform me..thanx
i bought it from one ZTH forumer at RM 50 and installation cost RM 30
if wanna change the pipe line have to add RM 50
but i didn't do that i only install only

bassy sound is good but on highway is too loud for me!

but one thing is there is one plate stick on the side of the exhaust that i can't take out abit-ugly

i'm driving a 1.5 wira...will it makan oil if i change da extractor and da piping...coz my friend installa 1.8" piping but very makan oil....isit true...

i wanna ask about bullet/mid box. if im going to get torque at mid rpm, which ones better: bullet, midbox or neither? and also whats the best size piping. 1.0 3 cly. engine.

currently using 3-1 extractor, bullet (with swirl fin inside), straght muffler.

hi guys, i kinda like to go overboard and was wondering if you could help me out, i have an old mitsu that im restoring and want to change the piping from a single to a double. can you help me out on this?
meaning, for example, if my system is now a 4-2-1, and i want to make it a 4-2, how do i go about it?

is there any diff between 4.2..............1 means the 2 pipe longger.. compare to 4.2.1 the 2 pipe shorter...?

Originally posted by szekeiemme@Mar 26 2005, 10:35
is there any diff between 4.2..............1 means the 2 pipe longger.. compare to 4.2.1 the 2 pipe shorter...?
[snapback]842163[/snapback]​

my fren was trying to explain to me but i could get it very clear, he said that if i wanted to do that the pipe would have to come out like at the it would be thin to thick then thin again.. the diameter of the pipe i mean, is that right??

the 2ndary pipe is short, which will provide u better low end torque. And better uphill ability, ex: won't need to change to lower gear if going uphill.

and as for 4-2? don't really understand cause, how can u connect 2 into 1? unless u custom make ur piping to twin pipes...which i can tell u, less low to high end torque...completely useless.

as for the big again? Mine is like that too, that it will ketuk in back to fit in the normal diameter. It's still 4-2-1, find some day, we go TT then i'll tell u more about that.