Evo9 boost help.

aycy

Hi all sifu, i got my e9 gsr 2 month back. i was wondering what is the original boost for stock evo9 gsr? because i see on the m7 EBC it show 1.18bar only. is it stock? and how much i can boost on stock car? i mean safe boost. thanks...:driver:

Stock boost should be around 1.3-1.4bars. Probably you got a loose fitting somewhere that might be causing a leak

Max boost on stock turbo? I'd probably say 1.6-1.7 bars . Probably can go more but I won't advise without a little mod

leak ar? what should i check? when i rev the car, the boost show around 1.2bar at the pivot meter maximum everytime is the correct boost right?

It shld b 1.38bar for Ori E9... For ori car without any form of mod, there tends to b boost hike too... Shoot up to 1.5-1.6bar... Tht's how i kaput my titanium E9 turbo~~~ =.="

aycy,

Its pretty hard to tell what happened to yr car... I'm sure there r oredi some mod done to the car right? Is there any ECU or boost cut installed into yr car due to previous setting?! Else, those rubber pipings r the things to check if there is any leak... Tht's y onwers of Evo always goes for steel pipes, in order for it to sustain the pressure n boost...

Do u feel the pawer of the car when its boosting at 1.2bar as mentioned?! Get someone to check yr turbo as well to see if its the ori E9 turbo... For GSR E9, there will b 2 type of turbo for ori car depending on the yr of manufacturing... Earlier batch, like mine, 2005 - mayb end of 2006, its titanium turbo... After tht, and after bad market feeback, mitsu change it to alu fin turbo...

Then if yrs is the earlier batch, mayb the previous owner did replaced it with mayb E8 MR or TME turbo, when he faced the same pro as mine...

Happy modding n enjoy yr ride!!! ^.^

imho..

stock boost = duno.. doesnt matter hehe but 1.2-1.3(18-20psi) should be about right based on me past readings.

max boost = 1.5-1.6 on ron97 advisable with tuning and basic fueling mods(regulator,pump,etc) :) also depends on your actuator and boost controller if can hold that boost if not it will taper/spike...

leak ar? what should i check? when i rev the car, the boost show around 1.2bar at the pivot meter maximum everytime is the correct boost right?

The most accurate reading is from the ebc. Having an ebc also eliminates boost spike generally.

Assuming your car is with stock turbo and mild mods like intake & exhaust , i would suggest checking these:-

i) Boost limit setting on the ebc. Maybe someone meddled with it.Get a tuner to look at it if you're unsure

ii) Check all intake connections, especially if you have silicone hoses. Check air intake ram/intake manifold/intercooler pipes. You can spray some soap water and see if there are big bubbles. Small ones ok.

These are the common causes

ur right guys, i guess when m7 pass to me the car, the ebc are not in correct settings.
i try to play with the m7 ebc last nite and found out got 4 settings.
In setting 1, it show 46, setting 2 it show 58 and setting 3 it show 63 and setting 4 it show 60.
i dont know wat the number mean, but at setting 1, at my boost meter it show about 1.18bar. at setting 2 i can get to boost untill 1.25 bar. any one know what is the number mean? i dare not set to setting 3, scared will blow my engine.