EVO III intercooler piping question.

duke_gti

Hi Guys,

Where's the 2 piping (circled in red) goes? The one on the left goes to the intake manifold (i guess). The one on the right goes to some sort of plastic black box. Does anybody knows what the box does and where the compressed air goes. Haven't had the chance looking closely in the engine bay. Thanks a bunch :)

hahaha... i also wondering the same question... dunno why the pipings split into 2!! =) Anyone can answer? IC looks pretty good condition man this one... how much u got the halfcut for?

tht one usually they eliminate when making aftermarket stuff
it ends up no where :(

Got it for 10,500. At first I thought it was damn expensive but then, there's a lot of big label aftermarket stuff inside :) hehehhe.

The right one goes to nowhere? You sure? I wonder why Mitsu made the split in the first place...

wah... 10500 is really damn steep... evo3 i suppose... whut kinda stuff's in it lar? Doesn't really look like got anything from the outside... got JE pistons and stuffs ar??

alvin24 said:
wah... 10500 is really damn steep... evo3 i suppose... whut kinda stuff's in it lar? Doesn't really look like got anything from the outside... got JE pistons and stuffs ar??

Well, slotted disc brakes all round, 4 cusco absobers, kansai stablizer bar, oil catch tank (haven't seen the brand yet), HKS air filter, HKS boost meter, HKS turbo timer, 3 meters (oil press., oil temp, water temp) of japanese make, HKS F CON-V, fan controller. I think that's pretty much it. I don't think there's any performance internal stuff (even if there is i don't think the mechanics know.. heheh). And yeah, it's an EVO3.

DJmobile said:
wah even got Fcon together with halfcut..
shiok la wei...

heheh one of the reasons i bought the halfcut in the first place ;)

jinkl- said:
but the fcon is piggy back one rite

Mine's piggyback. But from the web i understand it can be made standalone (from the web, not sure personally). For the FCON-S it's piggyback & FCON-PRO it's fully standalone. Anybody know a good tuning place for the HKS ecu?

rainman2 said:
fren,
if i not mistaken f-con don't need to use the air flow meter.

I believe so, but i think it'll need MAP sensor to replace the MAF sensor. Mine still uses the MAF though. Personally I'd rather have the MAP sensor and modify the intake so i could hear the turbines spooling up.... damn nice i tell ya :cool:

WAh... got F-CON... no wonder laa... =Þ Explains the price A LOT. hahaha... =Þ

F-CON got quite a few models mar... got piggy back and got standalone. =Þ Not many people know how to tune the f-con... so actually, if i were u also i wouldn't really get it... unless u're not planning to tune, just drive stock with what ever it is tuned at already. =Þ

I believe the people at speed-D tunes HKS f-con... =Þ I personally don't really like them, coz' they quite 'hidung tinggi'... plus they screwed up a skyline that eventually went back to my mech to fix.

alvin24 said:
WAh... got F-CON... no wonder laa... =Þ Explains the price A LOT. hahaha... =Þ

F-CON got quite a few models mar... got piggy back and got standalone. =Þ Not many people know how to tune the f-con... so actually, if i were u also i wouldn't really get it... unless u're not planning to tune, just drive stock with what ever it is tuned at already. =Þ

I believe the people at speed-D tunes HKS f-con... =Þ I personally don't really like them, coz' they quite 'hidung tinggi'... plus they screwed up a skyline that eventually went back to my mech to fix.

Screwed up a skyline? that sure sucks. I think for my scenario i still need to tune the f-con as the new exhaust piping, hks ssqv & lower fuel RON are being used/installed. Those japanese are lucky with their 100 octane fuel. I think here it's only 98 RON max?

gahaha.... yeah, true also lar. =Þ Unless u pray that japs set the f-con to be rich! Hahaha... then maybe u can use back no need tune... =Þ

Best is u dyno one round first see how's the AFR readings.

alvin24 said:
gahaha.... yeah, true also lar. =Þ Unless u pray that japs set the f-con to be rich! Hahaha... then maybe u can use back no need tune... =Þ

Best is u dyno one round first see how's the AFR readings.

Thanks for the tip. Later on i wanna buy the AFR meter just to be on the safe side after putting my car through the dyno. Thanks again, mate

hahaha... =Þ Yeah... good idea also... although I must tell u not to rely on it too much, coz' O2 sensor not that accurate... just a rough reading... good to have one though, better than nothing right? I also got AFR meter in my car... not that expensive mar even if u buy branded ones. =Þ

Anywayz... i asked my mech liau... he said the extra piping thing... that leads to a box thingy... is something like to maintain the pressure so that when blow off that time the manifold pressure don't drop that much, then the engine also won't mati so easily. Thats why most people who do stainless steel pipings or already redo their intercooler pipings and removed that box... if full boost blow off and step on clutch... sure engine die off.... at least thats his explaination lar... should be true kua? hehehez. Sounds logical to me too... =Þ Anyone can confirm this fact?

alvin24 said:
hahaha... =Þ Yeah... good idea also... although I must tell u not to rely on it too much, coz' O2 sensor not that accurate... just a rough reading... good to have one though, better than nothing right? I also got AFR meter in my car... not that expensive mar even if u buy branded ones. =Þ

Anywayz... i asked my mech liau... he said the extra piping thing... that leads to a box thingy... is something like to maintain the pressure so that when blow off that time the manifold pressure don't drop that much, then the engine also won't mati so easily. Thats why most people who do stainless steel pipings or already redo their intercooler pipings and removed that box... if full boost blow off and step on clutch... sure engine die off.... at least thats his explaination lar... should be true kua? hehehez. Sounds logical to me too... =Þ Anyone can confirm this fact?

actually i read somewhere that some ppl put a tank to do exactly what alvin explained. it maintain pressure better after lepas thrttle and thrttle on again.

either that or its a water trap of somehow

my2c
140dB

140dB said:
actually i read somewhere that some ppl put a tank to do exactly what alvin explained. it maintain pressure better after lepas thrttle and thrttle on again.

either that or its a water trap of somehow

my2c
140dB

hehehe... thinking to 'buang' the box when changing the piping. Now, I think I wanna leave it alone. Thanks for the great info

ahahha... do let is know if u've already done the intercooler pipings woh... then we can check it out see the difference between someone who took out the box.