Evo 7 mod advise

LanEvo

Plan to mod my Evo VII but having difficulty to decide what which brand to get. Bros with modded Evo VII please advise.

1. HKS Kansai carbon fibler airbox or Apexi Open pod with heatshield? Will open pod cause stalling cause i heard open pod with BOV and exhaust will cause engine stalling.

2. HKS EVC 5 or Blizlt i-Color boost controller?

LanEvo

1) changing air intake system would not cause stalling; never heard of such. but changing BOV will, i have problems with my SQV so i am using back ori BOV. VTA + MAF = NO NO (VTA means vent-to-air and MAF is the air sensor sitting ontop of your intake).
what BOV are u using now? i took out my SQV kit so if you are interested, let me know.

2) haven't read any reviews about Blitz but EVC and Greddy Profec B is know as the simplest boost controller; i am currently using AVC-R and its a good bc but requires a lot of test run.

Proud member of MEOC

LanEvo u got lobang for the sbc i color izit?? How much?? rm4k++?

i think the SBC i color thingy is somewhere in the region of 4K ++....heard is available in some workshop name QuarterMile in Sunway :) try your luck there :P

Hi frens... just installed a go fast bits stealth fx bov... dunno y after around 6-6.5 rpm there seems to be a lost of power (the boost drops) like angin keluar/bocor... checked the piping but seems ok to me... still using the stock hoses/piping... u guys encountered the same prob before?

if u r using an e7, with standard ecu, i think its best to revert back to original bov and plumb it back, exposing it to atmosphere can cause problem in ecu readings, and many cars have been experiencing such probs. U need to get a good bov n sedt the spring rate adjustment correctly to get things problem free....so if not too familiar on bov settings, it can cause some confusion

its the tuning that creates problem on all items installed in our rides...
no matter how much performance parts you install.. you need a good tuner... a 400hp e7 againts a 320hp e7... the 320hp e7 might just win...
a reliable ecu n minor mods with precision tuning and superb timing for your engine... but just keep an eye on your gear box... evo's weekest point is the gearbox ....

sad case..

Gheez..lot of problem..how abt E8 ? does E8 will encounter this problem ? So far have u guys heard any problematic on e8 ?:regular_smile:

DDgreystar said:

if u r using an e7, with standard ecu, i think its best to revert back to original bov and plumb it back, exposing it to atmosphere can cause problem in ecu readings, and many cars have been experiencing such probs. U need to get a good bov n sedt the spring rate adjustment correctly to get things problem free....so if not too familiar on bov settings, it can cause some confusion

Okay... now i already changed back to my ori bov... but still the problem still not yet solved... around 6-6.5 boost bocor... must i reset the ecu then? how?

u can try resetting your ecu....b ut make sure u check your actuator and your wastegate to see if anything loose...