Evo 3 Alternator Issue

huakenny said:
im with E3 4G63 turbo engine lo..... heatshield got remove or without i dun think related to charging la.... :)

there must be some wiring problems if alternator keep kong

Heat will direct affect yr alternator performance cannot say not related.

u mean the top ekzos manifold shield o wat? my buddies all running big turbine with aftermarket manifold(no shield)...they never got charging problem also :)

the shield should be quite far from alternator if not mistaken, i forgot

If the heat source is far from alternator not so bad but too near then will have problem. My exhaust beside my alternator it does really affect my charging but I not using EVO lar...he he...

I'm planning to change to 90 amp alternator for my E2 engine. Is there any issue replacing 75 amp with 90 amp alternator?... i'm worried that i might burnt something...LOL

i had the problem mainly because the car was driven under the heavy rain as our alternator located at very low part in our engine ...no doubt a small amount of water on the road will splash on it which cause its misfunction sometimes, this happened everytime when heavy rain happens especially when u see a small flood...i got mine changed the 4th times so far!

If like this charging will affected by heat.
Yes bro you are right, mine even closer than yours a little.. right now if i gotta change to a bigger alternator.. it will be even closer..i still not yet wrap the exhaust yet..

---------- Post added at 09:21 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:20 AM ----------

i had the problem mainly because the car was driven under the heavy rain as our alternator located at very low part in our engine ...no doubt a small amount of water on the road will splash on it which cause its misfunction sometimes, this happened everytime when heavy rain happens especially when u see a small flood...i got mine changed the 4th times so far!

Mine happened 2 times under afternoon hot sun driving with aircond blasting.. suddenly it just died like that.. both times also very hot afternoon.. :banghead::banghead::mad:

Its seem that this problem is quite familiar to RVR engine (my personal opinion)..root cause of this problem, still not found..no concrete solution for this problem too..hummm, "SUSAH KES"!!!

Really "pening giler"... so sien..:mad:

ahaha...i think thats a hot trademark for 4G63 series...guys lets get over it...we have the problem under the different situations...sigh~

Internal parts of alternator...

http://www.bosch.co.jp/shared/templates/subwindow-image.asp?src=/jp/aa/products/images/groups/AlternatorRepairParts-1-L.jpg&title=&caption=

But, I don't know whether Bosch Malaysia sell alternator repair parts as they sell it at Japan...

http://www.bosch.co.jp/jp/aa/products/category.asp?id=9

(Please use google chrome as you can translate Japanese language)

Internal parts of alternator...

http://www.bosch.co.jp/shared/templates/subwindow-image.asp?src=/jp/aa/products/images/groups/AlternatorRepairParts-1-L.jpg&title=&caption=

But, I don't know whether Bosch Malaysia sell alternator repair parts as they sell it at Japan...

http://www.bosch.co.jp/jp/aa/products/category.asp?id=9

(Please use google chrome as you can translate Japanese language)
I think always spoilt part should be the white colour thing behind gua.. that should be voltage regulator?

anybody want to sell 90amp alternator? i need for my E2 engine... looking for 4g67 auto alternator or maybe RVR auto alternator... Please PM me if you want to sell...thahks...

I think always spoilt part should be the white colour thing behind gua.. that should be voltage regulator?

Sad to inform, my alternator had failed on me again on saturday night at MUAR... *^$%@#%&.... yesterday almost cannot get back to jb already, luckily got relatives fren at muar came to help, change a temporary 90amp alternator for me so that i can come back to jb.. and again the voltage regulator was burnt.. y? because the alternator was still underrated for my car, thus it cause the alternator to charge and charge and charge because the power consumption was too high for the alternator to cope.. i also dunno why.. anyway tomoro going to change my alternator to a bigger amp.. if it works, i'll update here... really got fedup already... :banghead::banghead::banghead:

sad to hear dat..have u tried buying frm chop shops?..

i bought a second hand alternator for european cars from chop shop.. now still under surgery to transplant into my car.. will update here once it's ok.. basically it's 0.5x bigger that my previous alternator in size and the amp is 140amp at 14V.. i have frens already been using that alternator for SPL setup in his car..so far no prob.. hopefully can be ready by tomorrow as yesterday already sent into operation theatre.. :nurse:

bro, how come u din buy those half cut alternators from evo engines?..