Evo 1/2/3 OEM shocks+springs

if the damping was same... change into softer springs means less absorber work to do...the absorber control the spring movement up-down easier because spring soft so it doesnt fight back the absorber too much......

so if now damping set to hard level...change into softer spring means u can change damper setting into softer setting as well...

changing into softer spring will makes your ride like euro/proton lotus handling....soft spring+high damping suspension.... slightly harsh on really2 uneven surface but very nice to drive... :proud:
thanks for the info pomen...i'll be extremely pleased if i get euro ride quality with lotus handling... :biggrin:

That is exactly what I would do.

Overly hard springs will affect ride comfort. That's a given. And stiffening the abs would stiffen the ride obviously, the thing you need to find out is what type of abs you are using. My previous Hyperflex II H/L/S/H was progressive, anything below 10 clicks was really bad in absorbing bumps on the road. 11 clicks was just nice (for me la) and it was a good compromise between soft and hard road handling (front absorbers). For my rear I put it to 8 clicks to match the front. It handled road bumps quite decently and wasn't too "magic carpet-ish" when going straight. But if I loaded with 2/3 adults at the rear I would stiffen it up to 11 or 12 clicks since it would sink. Obviously it made it bumpier but at least I wouldn't scrape speed bumps or sink too much.
not sure what kinda abs i have but im using hwl hlsh body shift...from their website, its twin tube gas filled...didnt mention progressive or not...i've heard of progressive springs but not progressive abs tho...

my biggest dilemma now is that i've got mixed feedback...there are basically 2 shops in penang who are well known for selling aftermarket exhaust + suspension systems...i'm a former customer of both...one says my suggestion to swap to 5k 3k springs will work...the other said my abs will die very fast as the softer springs are not a proper match for the abs...and the warranty also will void...i've asked quite a few ppl abt changing to softer springs...some say ok, some say abs will kong...so i oso pening... :hmmmm:

no..absorber wont die with softer springs...plus 5k and 3k was still harder than any proton oem springs...waja rear spring was rated at 2.7k if i remember correctly...front not sure...probably around 3.5-4k

You want to kill the abs faster, use shorter springs. Same length but softer won't do anything to the abs.

had my springs swapped last weekend...moved my rear 5kg springs to the front, means im now using longer springs in front, 200 change to 220mm...put in 3kg springs at the rear, also longer, 220 change to 250mm...but my abs are body shift, so i think no impact...

one thing the shop boss noticed was my rear 5kg springs were larger in diameter than the gab 5kg springs...my hwl coils were ~1mm bigger...so the boss told me it is possible that my hwl 5kg springs were the equivalent to gab's 6kg springs...dunno how true, but i suppose all kinds of manufacturing process will have a tolerance...

so after i swapped, rear to front, and put in 3kg springs to the rear, i definitely feel an improved ride quality...with both front & rear dampers adjusted to the softest...personally, i would say ride has been improved by abt 30-40%...i still have an option of putting in 4kg springs in the front, but i dont know how much further improvement i'll get from 5kg to 4kg..i imagine less improvement than the first swap from 8k5k to 5k3k...

i guess i cannot expect lexus ride quality on a 20yr old proton..so i'll just have to make do with what i have... :biggrin: anyway u guys have been a great help...thanx so much for all your advise and opinions... :adore:

had my springs swapped last weekend...moved my rear 5kg springs to the front, means im now using longer springs in front, 200 change to 220mm...put in 3kg springs at the rear, also longer, 220 change to 250mm...but my abs are body shift, so i think no impact...

one thing the shop boss noticed was my rear 5kg springs were larger in diameter than the gab 5kg springs...my hwl coils were ~1mm bigger...so the boss told me it is possible that my hwl 5kg springs were the equivalent to gab's 6kg springs...dunno how true, but i suppose all kinds of manufacturing process will have a tolerance...

so after i swapped, rear to front, and put in 3kg springs to the rear, i definitely feel an improved ride quality...with both front & rear dampers adjusted to the softest...personally, i would say ride has been improved by abt 30-40%...i still have an option of putting in 4kg springs in the front, but i dont know how much further improvement i'll get from 5kg to 4kg..i imagine less improvement than the first swap from 8k5k to 5k3k...

i guess i cannot expect lexus ride quality on a 20yr old proton..so i'll just have to make do with what i have... :biggrin: anyway u guys have been a great help...thanx so much for all your advise and opinions... :adore:

me last week swapped my 6k spring in return getting his 3k spring...

so now my car was running 4k 300mm front spring and 3k 220mm rear spring.....now the ride is exactly what i want....just need to replace my steering rack and all front related bushing.....then all will be perfect...no more tinkering about.... the ride is perfect...firm damping but not harsh when going over bumps/speedbreaker line