Engine Oil

redbone

Hi, I m newbie about car. Bought Savvy AMT end of Nov. Now the trip-period close to 1000KM. Time for 1st service. I had question. please everybody assist my "Stupid" question.

Anyone used Bardahl Synthetic engine oil? any comments? how is the performance wise? Which one should I choose? Can i mix Bardahl Synthetic with Bardahl 1(engine oil treatment)? any differences?

I read thru the Owner's Manual and it said "Use engine oil conforming to the following API classificatin: SAE 10W/30 or qquivalent API 'For Service SJ' or higher. NOTE: using engine oil with a lower API classification will void the warranty."
How do I know which SAE rating that I should choose or consider? the high rating and the low rating? best performance, reduse noise and etc. I would like to give the best to my car. so i can hazzle free for another 10 years..

if it said it will void the warranty if you use a lower rating then just choose 10w30 lo.
after warranty period only change to the rating that you prefer.
How's the car?

yes, why not use back the 10w/30 engine oil. There won't be a big different in term of power wise or by using a good engine oil can make ur engine as new for another 10yrs.
since the car and engine is new. lower then 10/30 will eat up ur engine oil more faster but power wise "don't think you can feel it lol"
moreover who say by using good engine oil the engine won't makan engine oil one.
ur gasket faulty, vavle faulty, piston ring faulty etc.. all this stuff inside ur engine one which has wear and tear. that's why got this "overhaul words"

btw, you still need to change your clutch kit.
info on engine oil
http://www.skillcentre.com/motoroil.html

escaflowne said:
if it said it will void the warranty if you use a lower rating then just choose 10w30 lo.
after warranty period only change to the rating that you prefer.
How's the car?

I think u need to test these engine oils to determine what is best for you. No? Most engine performance differs from car to car regardless the type of engine oil used. No?

But if the warranty booklets says do not use a particular classification, then u have to pandai pandai la, DONT USE IT :smile: It is like trying to plug a 110v peripheral to our local 240v...warranty sure void la :dancing2: then dat time sure si beh tulan with yourself.

Hows the car? Good? Got test max speed arr? Can go 170KM arr? Have fun man..u should have bought an EK man! woho :biggrin:

if u want a good cold cranking, go for 5w30.
caltex havoline or conoco hydroclear is good oil.
current api rating for petrol engine is SM.
SL is ok to use.

thks guys. so far everything seems to be ok.
only with one problem.... while driving in 10-20 KMPH, there is "cluncking" sound found. not sure what it is. will send 2 proton SC on thursday. hopefully they are skillful enough to fix it and take care of my car... :secruity:

badmotorfinger said:
I think u need to test these engine oils to determine what is best for you. No? Most engine performance differs from car to car regardless the type of engine oil used. No?

But if the warranty booklets says do not use a particular classification, then u have to pandai pandai la, DONT USE IT :smile: It is like trying to plug a 110v peripheral to our local 240v...warranty sure void la :dancing2: then dat time sure si beh tulan with yourself.

Hows the car? Good? Got test max speed arr? Can go 170KM arr? Have fun man..u should have bought an EK man! woho :biggrin:

dun dare 2 try lah... hav 2 sayng the car mah. further it is my 1st car leh.... :wink:

dun dare 2 try lah... hav 2 sayng the car mah. further it is my 1st car leh....

have to try ma :biggrin: then only u will know what the limit of the car :wink: ask softmuffin to test with you la...side by side ( him drivin his car side by side lol :tee: )

1st service on 1000km
2nd service on 5000km
3rd service on 10000km

IMO just use normal engine oil (mineral oil) coz you will change the engine oil 3 times in 10000km. You need to spend lot of money to buy those synthetic oil.

my first service was @ 1000 KM. 2nd service @10000KM & 3rd service 20000 KM. and all three service are free. :smile:

but i did find out that Pronton SC is using Shell 15w/50 engine oil when i send my car for 1st service. so currently looks like i hav 2 top the oil using shell's engine oil.

btw, any of u use Bardahl engine oil??
how is the peformance?

yeah Q8 has quite alot of good reputation.Ok wat shell yellow tong 15w50.Been using that before i switch to shell semi and fully.For me just that shell mineral is hard for my engine to crank when it is cold(old engine mah~)