How to determine an engine oil is for 5000km or 10000km?
I think most oils now can last 10k km or more. In the US where they go by miles instead of kms, they go by 10k miles which is 16k kms! So now depends on driving style and traffic condition I suppose. If you like to drive hard with high revs then may need sooner, or if you very often stuck in heavy traffic. But for me I just use full synth oils and just go with 10k km to match the oil filter change interval, so no need to think too much.
I would suggest to just follow the recommended change interval for your car and use the recommended oil grade as well, then should be fine.
But US have long life EO also. Those with extended mileage, because their cross country run is so much further than ours. Another issue is their expensive service charges. Here RM10 to change oil, there labor by hour....lol
If you're a Proton CFE engine user like me, better change your oil less than 10k km to prolong your turbo unit lifespan, even if you use fully synthetic oil. I don't think other turbo engines are as sensitive as this Proton turbo engine. I change the oil every 7,500 or 8,000km.
After plunk in 93T in wira. Been using M7 engine oil fs.
Twice service d. I always follow 5k km.
This up coming Monday, going to service again.
I wanna try other brand. Any recommended?
MTF Gearbox oil too. How many bottle, brand?
Pls advice dear sifu's. Thanks in advanved.
Oil addictive, got avandtage?
Thanks bro. Later I go Tesco buy. Hahaha...serious.
Yup M7 oil, wahahaa..I agree
Oil addictive I also sceptical...
All my car I stick to 5k km. At most also 6-7k.I not flooring pedal type driver.
Better spare couple hundreds. I don like silly mistake breakdown.
Oil additives are not necessary la, those are just like snake oil products to con you. If those additive are really as good as what they claim, why the big oil companies not use them in the first place or the car manufacturers don't recommend them too? Buying good reputable engine oil is fine already, they contain the necessary additives already so no need to waste more money. Many of those so called additional additives actually do more harm to your engines!
Thanks bro. Later I go Tesco buy. Hahaha...serious.
Yup M7 oil, wahahaa..I agree
Oil addictive I also sceptical...
All my car I stick to 5k km. At most also 6-7k.I not flooring pedal type driver.
Better spare couple hundreds. I don like silly mistake breakdown.
That is because the B1 additives are their product.......lol
I rather use cheaper oil but change more often, then use expensive oil and prolong the OCI.
Ya la, they want to sell their additives also leh! But at least I assume it should still be compatible with their own engine oil.
How much you bought that oil btw and how is it?
Around RM110-RM120. I forgot the exact amount. My mechanic bought it together with a few other things during my last service including 2 bottles of gearbox oil.
Previously, I'm using Bardahl 10W-40 semi synthetic. This feels better than it. Revs feel lighter. Previously before using Bardahl, I'm using even worse kind of oil. 20W-50 Castrol GTX semi synthetic. After changing to Bardahl 10W-40, it really felt much better.
This is the gearbox oil that I'm using.
![]()
Hmm not bad price, quite cheap also but I thought the 5w40 FS can get under rm100, no? Actually last time considering to try the Bardhal but since got Toyota Japan 5w30 FS oil for rm130, I tried that one instead.
How much you bought that Toyota 75w90 oil? I'm always using Eneos 75w90 bought at AEON 1 Utama for rm25/ltr. If that Toyota one is the same price or cheaper then I might try it also. Last time when I changed oil, the shop had that same Toyota gear oil but he was asking >rm30 I think so I decline.