emanage tuning and installation

Hi Kenji , Jo, and other sifu..

if me BOT already... the airflow sensor i pasang after the intercooler izzit ok??? any pros and cons??? as if the piping for the ori airflow is 2.7" only.. and turbo suction inlet maybe 4inch .. so i still can use back the e-manage and the airflow which stay near with intake manifold which after intercooler.. izzit good or a bad thing??? what i know is eventhough i dont have airfilter or without the filterpipe also ok rite??? or the wrong way?€???:stupid::stupid::stupid:

Hi Kenji , Jo, and other sifu..

if me BOT already... the airflow sensor i pasang after the intercooler izzit ok??? any pros and cons??? as if the piping for the ori airflow is 2.7" only.. and turbo suction inlet maybe 4inch .. so i still can use back the e-manage and the airflow which stay near with intake manifold which after intercooler.. izzit good or a bad thing??? what i know is eventhough i dont have airfilter or without the filterpipe also ok rite??? or the wrong way?€???:stupid::stupid::stupid:

Ur MAF sensor will go under compressed air. The pressure will be applied on the sensor, electronic component and also plastics.

If there is any case of turbo leakage, the your sensor will be damaged by the engine oil that goes into the intercooler piping system.

As far as I see, no pro, just con. Maybe you consider not seeing the MAF part of the pro, but i just respect how an engine system is being designed.

IF you really hate the MAF, then just transplant into an engine without MAF.

Thanks for the comment speed horizon..

BTW because the turbo i might change is 4inch inlet mouth.. plus i got the 6inch open pod now with cone ram.. then the piping from airfilter is 6inch to 2.7" pipe for airflow sensor, then turn back to 4inch inlet.. does it effect any performance ??? i can use silicone reducer which 4" to 3"... except i choose other turbo which is 3inch inlet which comp map is suitable for the engine... and the e-manage stay usable... with the airflow on..

there are 2 pics shown an example.. one is after one is before... does in the same engine.. one is greddy turbo kit.

Thanks for the comment speed horizon..

BTW because the turbo i might change is 4inch inlet mouth.. plus i got the 6inch open pod now with cone ram.. then the piping from airfilter is 6inch to 2.7" pipe for airflow sensor, then turn back to 4inch inlet.. does it effect any performance ??? i can use silicone reducer which 4" to 3"... except i choose other turbo which is 3inch inlet which comp map is suitable for the engine... and the e-manage stay usable... with the airflow on..

there are 2 pics shown an example.. one is after one is before... does in the same engine.. one is greddy turbo kit.

In mechanics of fluid point of view, every reduction and expansion of a pipe diameter will cause losses in the flow in terms of pressure. however, this would be the least you need to worry as the engine is force induction. The losses are more visible in NA, as NAs depended alot on the flow.

Just be worry more about the reliability of the hardware when u place the MAF in the compressed line of the piping.

In mechanics of fluid point of view, every reduction and expansion of a pipe diameter will cause losses in the flow in terms of pressure. however, this would be the least you need to worry as the engine is force induction. The losses are more visible in NA, as NAs depended alot on the flow.

Just be worry more about the reliability of the hardware when u place the MAF in the compressed line of the piping.

thanks for more explanation on this...
as u see on the pics i upload there... best is follow the greddy turbo kit type rite? which the airflow sensor plug at the airfilter side??

thanks for more explanation on this...
as u see on the pics i upload there... best is follow the greddy turbo kit type rite? which the airflow sensor plug at the airfilter side??

U can custom a straight pipe aka air ramp. Straight from 6"->4". But do you really need big turbo..? Hm.. auto GB will be a problem to take that kind of load...

regarding the MAF, yes. It's where the OEM has designed to locate right...

U can custom a straight pipe aka air ramp. Straight from 6"->4". But do you really need big turbo..? Hm.. auto GB will be a problem to take that kind of load...

regarding the MAF, yes. It's where the OEM has designed to locate right...

i know the airram can make 6" to 4", then then airflow sensor must in 2.7" pipe.. then the pipe like 6" >2.7">4inch.. because airflowsensor that part cant expand much.. later take stable..

jinkl said:
it really depends on ur electronic design and ecu
and no , u cant simply move the MAF here n there , b4 turbo or after turbo as u like :)
air entering before the turbo is calculate by your MAF , and fuel is given accordingly,
if you place a MAF after the intercooler , first thing is it is already pressurised , your airflow is not built for that , secondly , when ur bov opens up , ur engine will stall , simple as that :D

the only way for u throw away the MAF is by changing it to run with MAP ,
u can run a microtech mt-4 which is still a piggyback n throw away ur MAF
or get a standalone totally
quote]

thanks for the post.. but i think server update gone liao ur msg... i copy back from my email..

in the secondly, u said bov open engine will stall, does it apply which the airflow sensor is plug after intercooler?? if use back to airfilter pipe should be no problem rite? for sure bov is pasang after turbo..

how about e-manage with map sensor.. tak dapat rite??? because i see got greddy map sensor too..
if me use MT-4 will effect my auto gearbox change gear problem? and how about standalone?? and if use standalone, can use my original ecu to control the gearbox change gear.. does it works?:confused::confused::confused:

i know the airram can make 6" to 4", then then airflow sensor must in 2.7" pipe.. then the pipe like 6" >2.7">4inch.. because airflowsensor that part cant expand much.. later take stable..

jinkl said:
it really depends on ur electronic design and ecu
and no , u cant simply move the MAF here n there , b4 turbo or after turbo as u like :)
air entering before the turbo is calculate by your MAF , and fuel is given accordingly,
if you place a MAF after the intercooler , first thing is it is already pressurised , your airflow is not built for that , secondly , when ur bov opens up , ur engine will stall , simple as that :D

the only way for u throw away the MAF is by changing it to run with MAP ,
u can run a microtech mt-4 which is still a piggyback n throw away ur MAF
or get a standalone totally
quote]

thanks for the post.. but i think server update gone liao ur msg... i copy back from my email..

in the secondly, u said bov open engine will stall, does it apply which the airflow sensor is plug after intercooler?? if use back to airfilter pipe should be no problem rite? for sure bov is pasang after turbo..

how about e-manage with map sensor.. tak dapat rite??? because i see got greddy map sensor too..
if me use MT-4 will effect my auto gearbox change gear problem? and how about standalone?? and if use standalone, can use my original ecu to control the gearbox change gear.. does it works?:confused::confused::confused:

Make it this way bro....
MAF sensor should be the first thing to get in touch with air after filter. It measures the volume flowrate of air that enters your engine. THen send signals to your ECU. Ur ECU will reply with the right amount of fuel to be mix with the air. After combustion, the O2 sensor will trace the amount of O2 remaining in the exhaust gasses determining the right amount of fuel in... Thus, auto correct the a/f.

So, piggyback is a device to tune up/down on the afr. or maybe ignition depending on brands.

When u have a MAF after/before the intercooler, the reading will be messed up by the air out through BOV. When X amount of air detected, then Y amount of fuel should be injected, when the throttle closes, excessive air release from BOV and the previous reading of the MAF is not accurate anymore...

MAP sensor is the same thing as MAF, but it reads pressure instead of air flow. It reads the pressure in the intake manifold, then calculate the amount of O2 in it and inject the right amount of fuel...

Make it this way bro....
MAF sensor should be the first thing to get in touch with air after filter. It measures the volume flowrate of air that enters your engine. THen send signals to your ECU. Ur ECU will reply with the right amount of fuel to be mix with the air. After combustion, the O2 sensor will trace the amount of O2 remaining in the exhaust gasses determining the right amount of fuel in... Thus, auto correct the a/f.

So, piggyback is a device to tune up/down on the afr. or maybe ignition depending on brands.

When u have a MAF after/before the intercooler, the reading will be messed up by the air out through BOV. When X amount of air detected, then Y amount of fuel should be injected, when the throttle closes, excessive air release from BOV and the previous reading of the MAF is not accurate anymore...

MAP sensor is the same thing as MAF, but it reads pressure instead of air flow. It reads the pressure in the intake manifold, then calculate the amount of O2 in it and inject the right amount of fuel...

Hi bro thanks for the long explanation...
so mean just got error if i put the sensor after the turbo rite?
so if my sensor at filter pipe.. BOV can be pasang rite?.. and if when idle time.. the BOV buka rite? then the engine will normal???? or how ar?:smokin:

Yes.... Idle time BOV won;t bukak. BOV is use to release the access air when the throttle closes after boosting to prevent the compressed air from kicking back into the turbo and damage the turbine blades...

A good BOV should surge even at 0.1 bar. But will not open even at 3 bars when boosting...

any place for a better emanage tuning???
pls reconmend...somehow getting bored with the setting thinking of my tuner kinda limit the power of it...sob sob

Bump: any place for a better emanage tuning???
pls reconmend...somehow getting bored with the setting thinking of my tuner kinda limit the power of it...sob sob

any place for a better emanage tuning???

Bump: any place for a better emanage tuning???

Hmm... it's a relative question bro... some think this is better, some think that is better... Some do on road, some do dyno.... So... hard to say... But having on road tunning have the fun of feeling the improvement stage by stage.... On the spot... Kekeke....

Yeap.... Should be before the turbo... A good BOV will not open even boosting at 3 bar... But will surge even at 0.1 bar....

It'll function is to prevent excessive pressure from kicking back into the turbo and damage the turbine blade when the TB closes...

Thanks for the explanation...
any sugesttion of the BOV?
i got the Hks SSQV which can adjust de.. not sure it ngam or not..

wanna try the mapsensor after BOT... see this JUne when me holiday.. dapat project or not kekeke

Bump: Thanks for the explanation...

wanna try the mapsensor after BOT... see this JUne when me holiday.. dapat project or not kekeke

Thanks for the explanation...

Bump: Thanks for the explanation...

Good luck to ur project... Just remember that the MAP sensor will never allow u to remove the MAF... U still need to run on both...

like that no need move to MAP lo.. still the airflow same also... then any other option to change MAP? standalone can but my car is autoGB not sure can change gear or not afterward hahaha:bawling:

I wonder who knows if the Greddy-3bar Map sensor can be used without the Original MAP sensor. Cause really feel like removing the MAF that causes irritating engine stall once upon a time...

What i am trying to say is using e-manage on mitsubishi engine. Then add on 3bar map sensor and tune. then just throw the MAF sensor...

Bump: I wonder who knows if the Greddy-3bar Map sensor can be used without the Original MAP sensor. Cause really feel like removing the MAF that causes irritating engine stall once upon a time...

What i am trying to say is using e-manage on mitsubishi engine. Then add on 3bar map sensor and tune. then just throw the MAF sensor...

I wonder who knows if the Greddy-3bar Map sensor can be used without the Original MAP sensor. Cause really feel like removing the MAF that causes irritating engine stall once upon a time...

Bump: I wonder who knows if the Greddy-3bar Map sensor can be used without the Original MAP sensor. Cause really feel like removing the MAF that causes irritating engine stall once upon a time...

sorry u cannot do that for emanage blue..:biggrin:

Write your reply...