drive shaft

yen187

Hi All,

my friend wants to know where he can fix his drive shaft for his coupe.
I think it is the first generation coupe and he wants to know a realiable place for him to repair or to replace his drive shaft.

Any recomendations?

Thanks in advance

Actually I've just got mine replace this month!!!
I did it at my regular workshop in Sri Gombak!!!
By the way, the shafts are from US not Korea!!!

The shaft prob syndrome:
Let's say you wanna make a U-turn that requires you to fully turn the steering wheel to right!!!
Then, when you start moving you're car to make the U-turn, there will be some clicking sound (tak-tak-tak) that comes from the left-front side of your car!!!
This means that you're LEFT drive shaft has problem!!!
When you make a left side turning and the sound exists, this means that the RIGHT drive shaft has problem!!!

i think when turn both sides also got sound man...
so that means the right and left side also died alraedy?
how much will it cost to get it done?

any recomendations of workshops in klang?

yen187 said:
i think when turn both sides also got sound man...
so that means the right and left side also died alraedy?
how much will it cost to get it done?

any recomendations of workshops in klang?

Yeah, that means both sides of the shafts had problems!!!

I've changed both of my drive shafts this year also and it cost me RM660!!!
I did not changed the whole unit but only half of it!!!
The outer part of the whole driveshaft only(nearing the wheel part) as my inner part shafts still in working condition!!!

If you were to change the whole unit, it will cost about RM400-RM600 for the left side shaft while the right side shaft will be RM200-RM400 more than the left side shaft, if I'm not mistaken!!!

Right side shaft is more expensive than the left side because the right one is longer than the left one!!!

About your last question, I can't really help you because I'm not familiar with Klang area!!!
~~Hope you can manage to find a suitable workshop to get it done~~

dam man... thats goonnaa cost a bomb to get both sides repaired...

the only place i think can get it done in klang is the hyundai workshop and i think thats when they will potong kau kau... dam...

will try to look for other places...

Thanks daniel for the info... will compare it with the price that they offer

if you're in tight budget, cheap option is to rework it.i usually do for my old car at wah seng, danau kota,setapak. it cost a rm65 for both in and out CV joint per side include new rubber boot.its the cheapest so far..
for a non hi revs engine, its worth it and can last longer for more than a year with careful driving (means: don't accelerate harder during turning and don't full turning).
but make sure you fill back your same atf oil when you open up your left side.

if you didn't confident, take out your driveshaft, remove the CV joint, and brought to the spare parts shop.try to look at the compatible OEM. my friends Accent got his compatible same as a mirage.it cost at rm160 if i'm not mistaken.

tell me if you'd found it.mind sharing with the forum.

another cheap action: nomally, the driveshaft koyak rootcause is from the damage rubber boot.what you have to do is replace the rubber boot and fill in the heavy grease in.put it tightly.this will make less clerance between the ball shaft and CV housing.
my friends SEg done it and it still can last till now..almost 2 years.

Yup, its goin to cost u rm160. I done it yesterday. But that cost is not including re -allignment.

Erm now im done wit my driveshaft. Engine oil done. One more to go... My air cond prob.Try to settle it within this month.

160? :confused_smile:

so cheap compared to the others... what was changed?

yen187 said:
160? :confused_smile:

so cheap compared to the others... what was changed?

1. What my mecs told me, there is a different price for the drive shaft. The left side is cheaper than the right side. Im so lucky coz my drive shaft problem is from the left side.

2. Certain place, they will ask u to replace a full set of drive shaft. Yup, i already done some surveying job. Most of the mech said that u got to replace the whole set of drive shaft.It because there is not much profit to change the outer part. Drive shaft had outer part (behind ur disc brake) and inner part (that connect to engine). Mine actually had a prob with the outer part.So what they do is replace the head/outer parts only!! No need to replace a whole set.!! It solve my prob.And summore the price is not a second hand price.!! It just took about 1 hours only to fix it. :)

Yup bro samurai. For the next tt u can see me.Ahehehe. Im thinkin bout photo session at the curve / tesco area. That place seems so nice to the session. Cozzy lighting. n there also we can see others sports car just lepak lepak there.How bout this sunday, 4.00pm at burgerking mutiara damansara. There have a large parking lot. So can do the photo session also. :P

You rite bro, hyundai owners is always bz.Like me.Hehe

eastbay said:
1. What my mecs told me, there is a different price for the drive shaft. The left side is cheaper than the right side. Im so lucky coz my drive shaft problem is from the left side.

2. Certain place, they will ask u to replace a full set of drive shaft. Yup, i already done some surveying job. Most of the mech said that u got to replace the whole set of drive shaft.It because there is not much profit to change the outer part. Drive shaft had outer part (behind ur disc brake) and inner part (that connect to engine). Mine actually had a prob with the outer part.So what they do is replace the head/outer parts only!! No need to replace a whole set.!! It solve my prob.And summore the price is not a second hand price.!! It just took about 1 hours only to fix it. :)

Yup bro samurai. For the next tt u can see me.Ahehehe. Im thinkin bout photo session at the curve / tesco area. That place seems so nice to the session. Cozzy lighting. n there also we can see others sports car just lepak lepak there.How bout this sunday, 4.00pm at burgerking mutiara damansara. There have a large parking lot. So can do the photo session also. :P

You rite bro, hyundai owners is always bz.Like me.Hehe

Yeah, what eastbay said is true!!! Normally those mechanic will tell you to change the whole set and once I ask a workshop, the mechanic there told me that to change both side of the drive shafts will cost RM1K plus and maybe will touch RM2K!!!
Really blood suckers!!!
Luckily I can get it done at my regular workshop!!!
Just change both outer sides of the drive shafts, then problem solve!!!

eastbay, normally how much you pay to service your car and what brand and type of lubricant your car used???
If you don't mind and wanna save up a bit, I can change the lubricant and oil filter for you!!!
I normally service my Coupe myself!!!
Save me about RM35, I'm using quality lubri ( Shell Helix )!!!

Daniel, im using Hi Rev engie oil. Cant remember that engine oil grade coz at that day im rushing. Engine oil + oil filter cost me bout rm65 bucks. Waa... can change by ur self huh? Thats great.! I just change my engine oil last week. For the next one, will ask u to do it :P

Gear oil cost me about rm20. Using petronas gear oil. Thank god my car now is almost complete.

wah piang.... one of the places i went for a quote was charging 2k+ for the drive shaft man.... really killer...

die man like that....:cry_smile: :baring_teeth:

eastbay said:
Daniel, im using Hi Rev engie oil. Cant remember that engine oil grade coz at that day im rushing. Engine oil + oil filter cost me bout rm65 bucks. Waa... can change by ur self huh? Thats great.! I just change my engine oil last week. For the next one, will ask u to do it :P

Gear oil cost me about rm20. Using petronas gear oil. Thank god my car now is almost complete.

You're welcome bro!!!
Now your car is complete, can join the next gathering lol...
Hahaha...

yen187 said:
wah piang.... one of the places i went for a quote was charging 2k+ for the drive shaft man.... really killer...

die man like that....:cry_smile: :baring_teeth:

Is it? Erm what items that cost u like that? can list it here? Want to know also coz its extremely 'eat' u bucks!! Or somethin serious happen to ur wheels?

And also,i just know there is a workshop can do "recond".Its just cost u bout rm80-rm100 only for both side of drive shaft. But i choose to replace the drive shaft head. Drill told me bout this. Will got more details n tell to u all.

Yup daniel. If the gathering held on rite time, for sure u i will attend. I saw ur pics and ur ride oredi.Nice colour one!!! Shining also. Yup, cant wait to see ya all guys. :_: