Drift?

rollakid said:
i belive in some condition they do let the rear slide abit because it would help their overall lap time, but they do not go "side-ways" like D1 and smoke-happy, thats why they don't seem like drifting. note that i'm not talking about under or over from an imperfect setup car.

just my 2 cent
Sometimes they prefer a bit of oversteer but it is still far from being drifting.

Dino@Casper said:
If u see F1 car's right.. they steer angle is very small... I think it would be difficult to drift with a F1 car... as u can see most of the time where the car oversteers sligthly the drivers will already be figthing with the car...
F1 cars get most of their grip from their aerodynamics, ie wings, scoops and such. so to go TOTALLY sideways in an F1 car is not the fastest way. However sometimes a Driver like Raikkonen did get sideways / drifting on the last corner of Hockenheim during qualifying and did the fastest time.

Anytime a car is sideways they are drifting. Most sportscar racing/ rallying in the world you can see the cars drifting on Exit. Not Totally crossed up steering and massive angle but sideways nontheless. They've been drifting before D1 existed

It's just that in the sport of Drifting nowadays you can see massive entry and exit angle . Ask your fathers and uncles what kinda cars they were driving in their youth and most chances are, it was an FR and most probably at least once they've gone Sideways aka drifting

If I remember correctly, Raikkonnen prefers his car setup to be slightly oversteery.

MK84 said:
If I remember correctly, Raikkonnen prefers his car setup to be slightly oversteery.
That's coz he's Finnish. Hakkinnen, Rosberg et all.. especially the Rally dudes... Kankunnen ,Tommi Makinnen, Gronholm.

All these Finns grew up slip/sliding on the road. They drift in their sleep wei....

faisal said:
That's coz he's Finnish. Hakkinnen, Rosberg et all.. especially the Rally dudes... Kankunnen ,Tommi Makinnen, Gronholm.

All these Finns grew up slip/sliding on the road. They drift in their sleep wei....

All Hail YSKhong. Malaysia's Original Drifter, and Malaysian Rally Champion in his Factory Rally Toyota AE86. 4 Times in fact in 82, 84, 86 and 87, beating even WRC teams who came to compete in Malaysia during the those early days.

gary said:
All Hail YSKhong. Malaysia's Original Drifter, and Malaysian Rally Champion in his Factory Rally Toyota AE86. 4 Times in fact in 82, 84, 86 and 87, beating even WRC teams who came to compete in Malaysia during the those early days.
And a certain Proton CEO that drifted in a Nissan 240RS during the Heydays of Malaysian Rally in the 80's. :wink: and now the son is The Prince of Drift...

Oh yeah YS was the ori Bunta... sons are both Takumi wannabe.. hooligans.... hahahaha. Sorry ah Ivan & Ian :rofl:

hooligans... Come to think of it so is the Prince of Drift ...:rofl:

I wanna hear FJ24 4 turtle.
Such a pitty they dont make rally homologation specials...
Btw are there any 240RS still driving around in Malaysia or they are all locked up in some garage.

As for drifting, well so far the datalogging based from Karting and Formula BMW.... Drifting round a corner is still slower

MK84 said:
yeah i remember that too. and i remember rubens like car understeer abit...

silverfish,
yeah. so called oversteery in F1 doesn't mean they get the car sideways and countersteer all the way through the corners anyway. its more like you turn your steering like normal, but the tail will slide abit to help position the car better. you won't see it easily unless there's some super upclose slo-mo and you look at how much the wheel spin at the back and then how far they travel.

BabyGodzillaGTi-R said:
I wanna hear FJ24 4 turtle.
Such a pitty they dont make rally homologation specials...
Btw are there any 240RS still driving around in Malaysia or they are all locked up in some garage.

As for drifting, well so far the datalogging based from Karting and Formula BMW.... Drifting round a corner is still slower.

Ah A True Racer has spoken.

But Victor, when exiting a corner with a perfect four wheel drift ( steering wheel relatively straight, car in a sideways but forward trajectory) ala rally cars and most rwd saloon cars is the fastest way. It won't seem like drifting to the masses but sideways nontheless.

My guess is in karts and singkle seaters, the dynamics are different

I haven't seen a 240RS in ages.. last time I saw a really beat up one some 10 yrs ago.

U lah racer, x3.....
If not u wont be head of Race, Rally and Research...

Me i cant drive for nuts... Dunno how to drive in a straight line, let alone turn left or right.....
A 240RS would be one cool ugly duckling Datsun to collect as a homologation special....

BabyGodzillaGTi-R said:
U lah racer, x3.....
If not u wont be head of Race, Rally and Research...

Me i cant drive for nuts... Dunno how to drive in a straight line, let alone turn left or right.....
A 240RS would be one cool ugly duckling Datsun to collect as a homologation special....
Where got head?.. lowly exec onli..

So modest la you .."Dunno how to drive in a straight line"? sounds like drifting.

Yeah a 240RS in Nissan's trad red blue white colours... next to a TRD AE86 race car.. that'll look awesome in any garage.

How do you qualify a "drift" from simple oversteer or powerslides?

For example, if you are halfway through a corner and you put your foot down, as the car sets, the tail is going to step out as you exit the corner. This is quite normal, I reckon. Is that "drift"?