Drift?

haha... perhaps so... coz initial d said fastest way of attacking corners is by drifting... this is not perfectly true... if not JGTC and F1 will be drifting all the way... haha...

Drifting originated from off road rallying.

Off road condition such as snow or gravel is difficult to corner with grip method, so drifting through such corners is faster.

SkYwAlKeR said:
haha... perhaps so... coz initial d said fastest way of attacking corners is by drifting... this is not perfectly true... if not JGTC and F1 will be drifting all the way... haha...

i dont think initial d everr said anything like that la... But if you really wanna see real stuff... watch WRC!!! or GRoup B Rally... hehe. Initial D is most of the time just theoractical... and the Movie was total bull...

Joeker said:
Drifting originated from off road rallying.

Off road condition such as snow or gravel is difficult to corner with grip method, so drifting through such corners is faster.
depend on the road surface...

but i think drift sports originally 'ORiginated'
when the 'drift king' tsuchiya looses on a race
and he drift through every corner in the last lap
then many ppl think it is cool and start drifting
then there comes D1GP

(correct me if i wrong.. i read it from somewhere one)

Someone once asked T Djan Ley about drifting, and he said it's simply Rallystyle driving i.e sideways entry/ exit. Watch a WRC round , be it gravel/tarmac/snow. The cars may be sideways but the forward motion is more important

However when you get to D1 standards its more so, more entry angle and apex clipping and such.

It's a faster way if you're driving a RWD that's just want to understeer. :tongue:

F1 & JGTC didnt drift in corners cause dont wanna waste their tyres.
heck, if they drift every corner, for sure they hve to change tyres every 5 - 10 laps.
correct me if im wrong.

si|verfish said:
Do you see Formula 1 cars drifting into corners?
i belive in some condition they do let the rear slide abit because it would help their overall lap time, but they do not go "side-ways" like D1 and smoke-happy, thats why they don't seem like drifting. note that i'm not talking about under or over from an imperfect setup car.

just my 2 cent

ha...bro & sifu.....
just ask.... if wira 1.5 also can drift ka?
can any body teach a basic how to drift, its pull the e/brake and turn or turn first and the same time pull the e/brake......

Price of tyres already increase, my friends. hehehe Better not drift so much. hehehe
Just drift when the road is wet. hahaha

i read that most road tyres have an optimum slip angle...does this mean they need to slide a little to acheive max cornering speed?
most road cars are set up to understeer anyway

speeddemon3500 said:
i read that most road tyres have an optimum slip angle...does this mean they need to slide a little to acheive max cornering speed?
most road cars are set up to understeer anyway
Tyre slip angle is the grip available from the tyres in relation to the direction of travel.

When the slip angle is exceeded the tyres will lose traction. The better the tyre the wider the slip angle.

I wish I could explain more but I need a picture or explain it in person.

Most road cars are FF, so they understeer anyway.

If u see F1 car's right.. they steer angle is very small... I think it would be difficult to drift with a F1 car... as u can see most of the time where the car oversteers sligthly the drivers will already be figthing with the car...

Pulling Handbrakes!

Dude , if just pull handbrakes without any training . you will book urself a one way ticket to hell!
Train urself to be a good driver then drift to be a king!
Good Luck !

Write your reply...