Double clutching

I heel 'n toe but I don't double declutch since there's no real need for it with modern synchro'ed boxes.

cannonfodder....since like u r a avid evo driver.........have u been to outr meetups ?

Nope, haven't had the opportunity to meet with you guys. Haven't had the EVO for very long either.

hey ....so when free .....wan to go on some convoys ...hehehehe some F&F actions :))

Haha! Actually, I'm very wary about convoy driving. Seen too many times what happens when:

a) Egos collide and convoys become impromptu races,
b) Faster driver starts to pressure a slower driver,
c) Slower driver tries to keep up with a faster driver.

Results have been cars taking one another out (the worst, how la when you hit your friend's car?), cars parking into trees, and cars ending up in ditches.

So in a convoy, I am always the last and slowest car.

cannonfodder,

What happened to your car ?? Big project ah ?

As for your concern, be rest assure that all MLOC convoy or speedruns are STRICTLY supervised with rules with the leadership. Tailgaiting and 'pressuring' is definately not allowed.

And the best part, there isn't ego race within us..maybe we are all simply trying to enjoy at our own pace. Just imagine we go convoy n enjoy our speedruns in Evo together with our non-turbo Lancers brothers..now that's what I call ego at rest ! hehe..

B18C-R,

Haha! No la, nothing has been done to my car since I got it. Have been very busy with work so I hardly even get to drive it.

DOH! Must get it into my head that this is the LANCER club and not the EVO club! :D

It's good to hear that you guys lay the ground rules out, cos it really helps to reduce the risk of those silly accidents I've witnessed before.

Cannonfodder,

Yeah, v oso very takut got accidents le... So for us de very 1st ruling in our Speed Runs is no 'overtake', even de front driver might b slow or what... V jus enjoy ourself n drive at our own pace la... V hv a lead, middle lead n a last man during all our convoys with walkies... This is to reduce any 'missing' n keep communicating each other all de time!!! :_:

Aiyah.. speedrun, no speed runs makes no darn difference to me!! Sigh!! Anyway, its good to know that you guys treat these things as a means to enjoy the car rather than letting the ego do the talking. Its also a good way to exchange driving techniques.

I certainly will heel-toe when going into a corner fast. I was told that that is equivalent to double clutching... slight difference but with the same effect..

Double declutch downshift (assuming simultaneous braking):
1. Brake
2. Clutch in, select neutral, clutch out
3. Still on the brakes, blip throttle to rev match
4. Clutch in, select gear, blip throttle to rev match
5. Clutch out
6. Repeat Steps 2-5 as necessary

Standard heel 'n toe
1. Brake
2. Still on brakes, clutch in, select gear, and blip throttle simulatenously
3. Clutch out
4. Repeat 2 and 3 as necessary

Double declutching is a lot more work, it takes more time (not faster despite what Vin Diesel says!), but it will probably be a lot gentler on your synchos in the long run.

if i'm not mistaken at a corner should double cluth once then heel and toe and then carry on the track.. till reach the next corner...hehe

walau eh...you all so pro ah..... So many techniques to take a corner.

I also dunno the properway with double clutching. I just whack until the car go ! haha..

Double braking I know la.

Haha! No la, all this stuff helps to make the rally driver fantasy seem more real.

Double declutch is like a heel n' toe, except there's more rev matching to do. Heel 'n toe is just the modern interpretation of double declutching, since synchos now did the first part for you.

In old school cars, you had to double declutch for ALL shifts.

Oh yeah, for all you guys who plan to go and try out this stuff, remember two things!

Don't watch your feet.

Don't forget to turn.

The last one is especially important!

Cannonfodder said:
Oh yeah, for all you guys who plan to go and try out this stuff, remember two things!

Don't watch your feet.

Don't forget to turn.

The last one is especially important!

*i'll add one more- please test first on track!!! not on the road!!!! or a full empty road..hehehehe

Cannonfodder - sounds right to me.. Thanks to the newer synchro-ed boxes, we need not double clutch no more.. saves time going into corners.. cannon - sounds like you make would be able to make full use of track sessions..

Golfer,

I still see people who double declutch even in modern cars, but they're the old school driving pros. They do it so fast you don't even realise they're doing it at all.

Nah, not really. I drive like a girl when I drive my own car :)