DIY Voltage Stabilizer

YES U WILL HAVE TO DRILL LIKE CRAZY BUT NOT TOOOOO CRAZY. AFTER THAT
THE SOLDERING IS MUCH MORE EASIER. U DONT HAVE TO MAKE LINES SOLDERING ANYMORE. IT MUCH MORE EASIER TO MAKE HOLE COMPARE TO MAKING LINE CONNECTING THE SOLDERING JOINTS

guys.. this is my DIY VS..... just completed.. but havent install on my car yet... need to make de mountings.... i do it slowly ler...

this VS comes with a LED indicator to let u know whether de fuse is blown or not.. now i'm testing it with 10A fuse.. it it blows.. then i'll try with higher rating until i get de rite wan...

another wan... i used 15pcs of 4700uF 16V 85C caps.. well i'm planning to add some mica caps later.. but now duno wat values to use yet....

this is de soldering part.... i soldered de PCB kau kau in order to increase de current flow...

yah.. another thing... notice dat my casing got stick with superlon on top n bottom so dat de components wun move inside de casing... n at de same time got some heat proofing.. :)

look carefully at de 3rd pic... de power cable is soldered to below of de PCB n another one to de fuse.. :)

i've installed it onto my car yesterday... well.. at 1st when u touch de wire at de batt terminal... got a little spark... means dat current from de batt is charging de caps.. then later no more sparks(caps fully charged)

actually we need to use a lamp bulb connect it in series to charge de caps slowly until de bulb no light.. then only install the VS..

well.. after installing de VS.. i feel my ICE have heavier bass.. even with my grounding kit installed few days earlier.... still make some diff.. then car power did improve a little.. not much ler...

u must use different range of cap to filter and charge for different freq..

then how much the cost? what type of cap u used?

Originally posted by khguan@Jan 23 2005, 21:25
actually we need to use a lamp bulb connect it in series to charge de caps slowly until de bulb no light.. then only install the VS..

khguan,

really appreciate ur guide and advice. i finish building my VS last week but didnt have the time to install it properly. i tested with a bulb connected serial .. it lit about a second only .. does this mean the caps is fully charge ? and it it normal the bulb behave that way ? btw i tested the bulb, it didnt blow.

and what do u mean by "conect the bulb in series first then install only install the VS" ? are u saying do not connect the VS to the battery first ?

khguan, bcareful of ur vs cos the casing tat u use is not water proof. water may went in when u wash ur car or rain also! cos i'm using the same casing as well! ^_^

Originally posted by gogsard+Jan 23 2005, 23:08 -->
QUOTE (gogsard @ Jan 23 2005, 23:08 )
--QuoteBegin-khguan
@Jan 23 2005, 21:25

khguan,

really appreciate ur guide and advice. i finish building my VS last week but didnt have the time to install it properly. i tested with a bulb connected serial .. it lit about a second only .. does this mean the caps is fully charge ? and it it normal the bulb behave that way ? btw i tested the bulb, it didnt blow.

and what do u mean by "conect the bulb in series first then install only install the VS" ? are u saying do not connect the VS to the battery first ? [/b][/quote]
yes... u got it rite liao.. when de bulb light up... means dat there is current flowing tru de bulb.. means dat its charging de caps... then when de bulb no more light.. means dat.. there is no more current flowing tru it.. so de caps are fully charged..

in other words.. wat i mean is.. u actually need to charge up de caps slowly(proper way) b4 u actually connect it directly to ur batt.

steps:
1. connect de -ve of ur VS to de -ve of ur batt. then connect de +ve wire of ur VS to a bulb then to ur +ve of de batt.. let de bulb dim until no light...
(this step is to charge up de caps)

2. remove de bulb n connect de +ve of ur VS to de +ve of ur batt..

B)

Originally posted by blackgenius007@Jan 23 2005, 22:16
u must use different range of cap to filter and charge for different freq..

then how much the cost? what type of cap u used?
well.. yep.. i will add in other types of caps later.... cos now i duno wat values to use....

well.. de caps cost me rm1.80 per pc... the whole thing cost bout rm40 plus mounting...

Originally posted by taufux@Jan 24 2005, 09:35
khguan, bcareful of ur vs cos the casing tat u use is not water proof. water may went in when u wash ur car or rain also! cos i'm using the same casing as well! ^_^
well yeah.. i know bout dat too... but i dun think it will get short circuit ler.. cos de voltage running inside is low ler...

well.. just use it for some time 1st, then c how... B)

Hi guys!
I'm doing one myself... It's actually one of my first mod for my car... :)
You guys have really inspired me into doing this..

Here's where I'm at...
http://messhall.n305er.com/pics/voltage_stabalizer/DSCF0027.jpg

Will this soldering be enough?
http://messhall.n305er.com/pics/voltage_stabalizer/DSCF0028.jpg

BTW, Can I use normal Cables to connect instead of these?
http://messhall.n305er.com/pics/voltage_stabalizer/4126532a.jpg

Thanks you...

After 2 months of searching of suitable caps. finally completed my very own VS.

All using hi-quality ELNA 16V 105c caps at diffirent Farad.
http://www.zerotohundred.com/forums/uploads/post-15-1106711206.jpg

http://www.zerotohundred.com/forums/uploads/post-15-1106711259.jpg

http://www.zerotohundred.com/forums/uploads/post-15-1106711312.jpg

hi everyone, sifu-sifu....

i got something to ask.....

i saw many of u using a lot a lot a lot of capacitors....
i thinking...
what if the time when those caps with smaller Farad discharge finish
then some caps with bigger Farad value still got electrict..
instead of supplying voltage to our appliance which need it
those remaining caps will also need to supply voltage to charge up those caps that are completely discharge....

right?

plz correct me if i wrong

;) good job...

can are wat value and budget ??
how the performance of ur VS?