DIY cold air intake

tonite will go order one loh mai kai and steal the mangkuk :lol:

i did my CAI last weekend :D thanks to Seanlee for his help B)
cost for the air scoop also RM2 only.

immedite effect can feel enigne is able to breath more easily.
b4 CAI car like blocked nose... flu :(
after CAI can breath effotlessly, car very eager to go faster :)

that night after fixing went fot TT with ZTH Satria gang. on the way back after some accelerating, RPM shoot up to 3-4k while idling at trffic lights. after a few days till now idling still high at 2k RPM. really no need to step also can go, just like auto cruise on all the time. a bit scary :o have to get ready to brake more often. :blink: .. the cause of high idling was DIY air twister stuck to trottle body,TB could not fully close... b]

BTW iam using KNN drop-in too

side view of perfect design air scoop.. :) actually is a mini flower pot :lol: :lol:

used soldering iron to melt the base. the one on the left also can use for another car :rolleyes:

the flexible hose fits snuggly into the "air scoop" walla.. :rolleyes: :D :)

wah....no wonder my washing machine hose is missing......:lol:

where u install it?? can share?

Originally posted by ksgoh@Nov 15 2004, 13:49
wah....no wonder my washing machine hose is missing......:lol:

where u install it?? can share?

DIY at home ma... :lol:

its actually much bigger in diameter than washing machine hose :blink:

did anyone here experiencing hgih rpm afteer CAI project? :unsure: :unsure:

Cool... new project for me. Waiting for the rain to stop 1st.

Originally posted by arrowhead@Nov 15 2004, 17:25
canken : wat diff does it make? RPM climb faster?
:lol:

sounds interesting~
cold air will improve pick up. B)
RPM climb faster? yes! :P

the high RPM i am talking about now is during idling. i don't tekan much because no need to tekan also can go. it may take a few days for ECU to adjust to increased amount of air coming in.

furthermore, most service centers still closed need to wait until Wednesday if want to do tunning <_<

for CAI hose,

i sell the PVC flexible hose, comes in several diameter sizes :)

and i sell per ft :) so can customise :)

RM10 per ft for the 2.5" hose (common size for the Proton cars)

Originally posted by canken2@Nov 15 2004, 12:42
that night after fixing went fot TT with ZTH Satria gang. on the way back after some accelerating, RPM shoot up to 3-4k while idling at trffic lights. after a few days till now idling still high at 2k RPM. really no need to step also can go, just like auto cruise on all the time. a bit scary :o have to get ready to brake more often. :blink:
idling at 2krpm ??? very high man....petrol not cheap le