DIY Cheap Extractor Thermal Wrap

true true...very UnWISE to laugh other with some ideas.pardon me but i think dorks doing that kind of stuff.beside donz is not the first guy i knew did that with the xtractor and aluminium foil.

it is not easy for other to share experience and knowledge gained didnt come by pluck it from air.please respect others ideas and opinion.i'm saying this not because i'm fren of don or what but it is nice to have constructive environment than offending others and god forbid...sparking enemousity

yea. i also did this and it really works. plus some additional material that is asbestos powder that i cincang the siling u know...
yea u rocks

really? i didnt know. how come our ceiling can be carcinogenic (can cause cancer). mmm whatever. as long as i didnt inhale it rite? even the petrol can cause cancer.

dude, u know about the ceramic coating? must be expensive rite?

my first experience bout the temperature going max makes me diy the coating. i dont want to pay 4 the what the exactly name huh the tape like stuff maybe the termal wrap kot...

so i choose to diy only. work what. i think the thermal wrap also composed of asbestos rite?

tell u what!, hehehhe... ive got a thermal wrap at Rm66.00 at acs. shop in Puchong Utama. funny thing is, even the acs. shop guy doesnt know what is thermal wrap for. heheheh..the scenario is theres no manual & its all written in japanese at the box. do i just wrap my extractor like that or i need to coat my extractor with somekinda hi temp. paint ?? or just wrap it with an aluminium foil & then wrap the thermal wrapper on the second layer, what do u guys think..?? any bright idea?

betul la.. thermal using fibre glass cloth lah.. that's why you feel itchy2 when come contact.. I've problem with thermal wrap.. you extractor have shorter life span.. happened to me.. my hotbits extractor bocor.. have to change to cap ayam.. no money la..

my advice is: don't wrap your extractor.

All materials need a certain amount of breathing space to accomodate the expansion and contraction of hot and cold. Without ample breathing space (cause its wrapped too tight and all over), the extractor will not have proper cooling properties as it did before when it was unwrapped, thus the metal will expand beyond its threshold and crack.

Coating the extractor and adding a heatsheild is a much more viable solution to the heat problem compared to the thermal wrap.

Thermal wrap is used in nascar, touring and other forms of auto racing because they always have new parts ready to replace the beaten up ones.

huh.. u know what... 1 day, when i was go shopping with my family, suddenly the temperature going max then we all cabut lari as takut the engine will blown. same as we take precautions in petrol pump. but this is very dangerous as the extreme heat from extractor can cause damage maybe

just like to shoot my opinion here,
this technique is not the same as using a normal heatshield
the ALUMINIUM absorbs heat doesnt it ?
main purpose of heatshield is not to let the heat get out of the manifold
heat of the manifold will also affect the intake cos the temperature of the
engine bay is high.
so wht the purpose here ?
guys , i would say, DIY heatshield, buy fibre cloth for 20-30 from hardware shop n use la bro.

and one more thing.
just saying , gaining 2-3hp from this kind of mod wouldnt make it feel diffrence when u drive the car. its only the trick of ur mind, cos u worked so hard for a DIY , so u expect it to work. 2-3hp is also overated for this kind of mod, so please, so i dont tink increase fc or reduce fc will be noticed to as ur AFR is not even affected i guess. if it does, maybe few cents, dont tink thts noticeable :)

just saying, not to fire, lets discuss

jinkl. i think u didnt read all of the posts.. i tired to reply already.

:)

i have very IMPORTANT info here. Actually can improve hp quite big. U know the resistant of electric conductivity' graph berkadar songsang to temperature. for example, the more hot ur wiring, i mean all about cable lah, the less electric supply. So we need a cool wire here as electric i mean voltage is important in power rite? so, the cool engine bay, the efficiency ur system.

I'm saying all these because u know... our car is standard factory is tuned to daily usage and stock setting. Some modification will make the system unbalance. so do the THROTTLE BODY also. if u coat it with anti heat material such as ceramic coating, it will helps the intake system working properly and maybe gain a bit hp as the cool air temperature not heated with the intake system. so conclusion heat shield is a must.

mmm i'm not discussing about the material because i already read the hypertune magazine this month issue (the mrs cover story) and i already got what i want. u guys chek them out... even u wanna heatshield ur bumbung also can lah. haha

actually aluminium foil also can... bcoz when we wrap it, it will be a space between the matal and the aluminium foil. the middle is air. so, just like a house ceiling, even though the home is still hot, at least the heat is not easily absorb to other part quickly. and i more thing, when the aluminium foil got karat, it is not a metal anymore. it is oxidised metal and the conductor of heat decrease. just like a rusty extractor... it is not too heat as new one rite?

i more thing.... u can save many parts by cooling up ur engine bay. In example battery. The acid in battery sensitive to heat as it can vaporised if temperature rising. Even my service free bocor after 1 year 1 month used. Warranty late 1 month only so sad lah. Ur starter also works well as many of my fren said that their starter disfunction when temperature high.

JL Ceramic Coating

:shades_smile:

Hery bro.

Try our Ceramic Coating.

cheers...

Header's life reduces because it can't "breath".

In the US there exist some service of people electric coated the header with some chemical that do some heat insulation, while letting the header "breath" normally. as far as i know the heat insulation is only 60-70% as effective as a fiberglass heatwrap, but it didn't affect the header's life in anyway, so i guess its a good thing. but never seen any in malaysia.

JL Ceramic Coating

:shades_smile:

U r correct sir.

I'm saying all these because u know... our car is standard factory is tuned to daily usage and stock setting. Some modification will make the system unbalance. so do the THROTTLE BODY also. if u coat it with anti heat material such as ceramic coating, it will helps the intake system working properly and maybe gain a bit hp as the cool air temperature not heated with the intake system. so conclusion heat shield is a must.

i have very IMPORTANT info here. Actually can improve hp quite big. U know the resistant of electric conductivity' graph berkadar songsang to temperature. for example, the more hot ur wiring, i mean all about cable lah, the less electric supply. So we need a cool wire here as electric i mean voltage is important in power rite? so, the cool engine bay, the efficiency ur system.

would agree its a nice diy at a cheap price
but the :) please , its doesnt improve the hp a big level
2-3hp :)