DIY Cheap Extractor Thermal Wrap

Yes. FC will HIGHER.
As combustion chamber will be more free of exhaust gases..
so more a/f will go in... explosion bigger -> more power.

i would say you wan to try out whether it got more power then you'll tekan tekan abit more = petrol finish faster.

so another way is to wrap it but dun wrap 100%? around 70% of the total extractor?

thats not the idea. imagine you have a piece of grassland, you cover them all up with wooden planks, all the grass will die cuz cannot get sunlight. now you use some window tint film to cover them, still got sunlight going through but not as much, but they will survivie. now you cover only half of them up with wooden planks, those that is under the planks will still die.

but thats just grass lar.. can't resist saying "grass" now cuz rudy and JJ's "cow eat grass" thing. i guess it might be debatable in exhaust.

fletcheru,

ceramic heat shield (ThermoWrap) is best... but like i said, its a bit expensive.. RM80 for a few feet. using alum foil cost <RM4.50. this is purpose of a DIY right? get cheap as possible. hehe.

well...

as cheap as possible, yes. without compromising quality.

depends on individual i suppose.

if you're driving a BMW, or Merc, you won't wanna be seen with foil wrapped around your manifold now would you?

no offences ya...

I think this is kinda silly. I wonder if it works in the first place!!!

Silver = reflective. In a sense you look inside thermal flask, it is made to reflect heat and retain it there in water. So your alum film should do that. But another problem crops up.

Aluminum is a good conductor of heat. By right it sould be sucking the heat right out from the manifold. But the reflective material keeps in heat. Are we getting anywhere with this?

And you maintained a gap between the metal and the alum film. Heat is trapped between alum film and metal surface. Where does it go?

A proper thermal wrap moves back heat back in the exhaust duct so it could be pushed out. In your case it is retained between the film and manifold.

I still can't see we are getting anywhere?

Oh well.....

the heat is kept at the extractor pipe instead of being blown by high speed wind.
this more applicable when u r high speed. the fast wind will blow the extractor directly without the foil and will ultimately cool down the extractor temperature = lower pressure.. power loss at high speed. i could feel that at high speed, my car power does improve after puting the foil.

oh well.. if u skeptical about it and many doubts, dont do it la..im not forcing u or anyone. just providing cheap solution and ideas for those who want to try. after u try, u feel not improve anything, u can simply take it out and just loss a few bucks.

from my own testing, it does work.
1. before put foil, at idling i put hand above extractor can feel heat very hot.
after put foil, the heat feels much less and my hand can leave above for longer
time.

2. before put foil, at high speed acceleration is a bit lagging even at same rpm
when at lower speed. after put foil, acceleration at same rpm at different speed
are almost same.

up to u ma...

Sometimes quite hard to tell la, these butt-dyno stuffs .. Gotta go dyno only can say if it really helped power-wise .. Unless the DIY is proven.

donCityZ,

Don't get me wrong. it's really nice of you to share this information. whether it works or not... is a different story.

No u are not forcing me. I don't want to do it. Not on my stainless steel headers anyway. hehehe. But then again i'm looking at a science view. And ask why.

If it is good i assume the reflective material far outweights the aluminum content. Hence it reflects heat back to exhaust manifold. Could it mean there isn't any or only less than 50% alum in the foil? Anyway what brand you use? Diamond foil? I could look the composition for the foil if you give me the brand.

I also notice i have some Jap brand of foil. But it isn't as shiny as what you used.

o.k, i have did it using aluminium foil but with some modification... i use the left over fiber cloth (look more like fiber cotton, damn itchy after handle it) to wrap the extractor 1st, then use some thin metal wire to tighten it, then use aluminium foil to wrap over again so that my fiber cloth wont fly all over... then use the thin metal wire to tighten the alluminium foil again...

The result? I didnt do dyno test, my butt dyno cant feel anything, maybe the increamental of power is too small... but due to some installation problem after installing, i was suprise that i can actually take out the extractor with bare hand... usually after started the car for even 1~2 mins, the extractor will be damn hot, the skin can stick on the extractor... but with 2 layers of wrapping... i can hold it on my hand and feel warm only, that shows that the heat insulation is working...

However, the engine warm up much faster, I'm driving vios and in the morning, i used to take quite some time to wait for the blue light indicator (cold engine) to go off b4 i drive, now, it took less than 1/2 of the time to warm up...

then when i stop the car, and park for 1~2 hrs in multistorey carpark, then go back and drive again... the car engine still warm, the blue light doesnt turn up like usual... and i dun need to re-warm up the car again and straight away drive off...

so with all these indication, it shows that the wrapping works, at least i know that it is containing the heat in the extractor.... however, i should measure the engine bay tempbefore and after this mod...now install liao too lazy to take out again...

tigershark... nicely done. but i think the heat insulation works very good is due to the fibre glass.. not entirely due to aluminium foil. maybe total 80% is by fibre glass? not sure... but fibre glass is the key. if u hv some lying around, its a good addition to the diy.

i wan to but cannot liao.... if u see my extractor, u'll laught like hell.... it doesnt look like an extractor... wrap until too thick ...like 1 ball.... have problem even to squess into my engine bay, somemore vios extractor is located just at the front of the firewall unlike normal car behind the radiator... i have problem even to tighten the screw cos all the gap was so small (covered by foil and fibercloth) :confused_smile: :confused_smile: :confused_smile:

I must say it is not an easy DIY.... take in and out... especially for those peope like me who is too greedy... put many many layer... until the extractor shape also out... then have problem install back... so for those who wanna do this DIY, take it as an advise, dun do till too thick...

did tis few years back to my iswara, was skeptical abt my own idea but its cheap anyway, for me, my engine actually sounded nicer...hahaha, duno y, pickup abit better too, juz abit ligther.

i put 2 layer since its pretty big piece