DIY Carbon Fiber look Bonnet

R3l3orN

To all DIY expert or Sticker expert,

Recently, i had found the Carbon Fiber look's sticker, so i had think bout this idea!! Izzit possible for us to stick this kind of sticker to our whole bonnet, then spray several layer of Clearcoat paint on it?? So, the carbon fiber sticker won't be fade although we park under the hot sun, because it been protected by the clearcoat paint!!

But how can we stick the sticker to our bonnet perfectly?? Which means, no bubbles and all that?? So, the sticker expert pls help........Pls show me the correct steps to stick this kind of big sized sticker!!!

Don't mean to burst your bubble dude... but I think there're a few problems for this DIY.

i) I don't think you can find a piece of CF sticker the size of your bonnet from normal shops; unless you custom order it.

ii) Vinyl stickers are durable, but they're still affected by heat. It'll fade dramatically over time. Worst still, they might melt. Bonnets and headlamps aren't the best places to use these stickers.

iii) You're gonna have a hell of a time sticking that BIG single piece of sticker on the bonnet. Too big a surface area with loads of curves and indentations. It's not easy to manipulate such a big piece of sticky material without creating creases and bubbles all over the bonnet.

Juz my two cents. Pls feel free to correct/shoot me if I'm wrong :unsure:

i) I had the this big size sticker, it's custom made!!

ii) Mayb we can use superlon two layer w/ 10mm under the bonnet 1st, to reduce heat.

iii) Some1 told me that, we can use foam water or shampoo+water apply to the whole sticker and apply to the bonnet, so the sticker won't stick immediate on the bonnet, the sticker will only sticky when the foam water had dry!!! So, we had enough time to adjust the sticker, cut the shape and all that........

well... i think dat even if u use de foam water n u can adjust slowly...

but i think de sticker wun fit perfectly to ur bonnet bcos there are round parts n those are de most difficult place for stickers to stick properly... unless ur bonnet has mostly flat surface then i think should be ok..

de color fade is due to de sun UV rays.... so i think if we use clear coat also not much help.. it just give u shine... mayb if u can find a UV protection clear coat paint.. then its useful...

I m using the MIVEC bonnet, most part are flat if compare w/ original satria bonnet..... :lol:

Edit: Really got UV protection clear coat paint ah?? I think i might go ACE hardware to hv a look......hahaha

aiyo.

Joeker has said it: the UV rays from the sun will make your beautiful sticker fade.
the clearcoats you get from Diy stores, it'll turn yellow.

so, happy DiYing :)

i suggest u just buy 2 cans of FLAT BLACK paints n spray ur bonnet to look like carbon fibre(from far :P )...

save all de hassel n mess :lol:

actually

i've done mine in flat black. looks horrid.

best: gloss black :)

call Unistore Sticker Shop,
located on the same floor and area as the video-game arcades in Sungai Wang Plaza.

Chong
012-398-2727

just tell him Stanley from TiTAN sent you :)

Originally posted by ninja_iga@Jan 20 2005, 21:33
located on the same floor and area as the video-game arcades in Sungai Wang Plaza.

Chong
012-398-2727

i think better u come with me, because... i failed area KL...that much better... beside, me a shy person.. huhu.. can ar?? :unsure:

i met a guy at DMT with a green kancil with TEIN suspension decals all over and a kelisa engine transplant when he was installing his safc some time back. his bonet had the closest to real CF look. it was sprayed glossy metallic dark grey. close to black. my friends saw it on the road and thought it was really CF. the metallic green really made the shiny bonet stand out. when i saw it, i thought it was CF too. until i stood really close to look.

Originally posted by wufi+Jan 20 2005, 23:07 -->
QUOTE (wufi @ Jan 20 2005, 23:07 )
--QuoteBegin-ninja_iga
@Jan 20 2005, 21:33

Chong
012-398-2727

i think better u come with me, because... i failed area KL...that much better... beside, me a shy person.. huhu.. can ar?? :unsure: [/b][/quote]
sure, i suppose

call me, see how
my number on my signature :)

That's the same shop that I went to do my Initial D sticker too.