Differentiate on E8 Mr and E8 turbine

slj

Guys,

wht is the special bout this evo8 MR turbine....can anyone give the spec bout this evo8 MR and Evo 8 turbine in term of the size, trim, housing, and in/exducer size...etc...wht i know is only the wastegate gate is bigger and the shape is different..LOL.....

Jst curious why ppl always said that evo8 MR is so great on the power even is stock.....and even can reache hi horse without chnaging the turbo kit..... ???????? Anyone got anysite information bout this 2 turbine....

Any infomation related is highly appreciated.......!tQ

slj,

E8 MR is using titanium turbine fins, which is lighter thus responsiveness wil b mch better. Jus similar to de 1 in E6 TME turbo. Oso it can stand higher boost pressure... As for the housing wise, i think its de same as E8 turbo...

Read Option Fans from HK, JUN able to tune a E7 GTA with E8 MR turbo + JUN 2.2L stroker + JUN tuned F-ConV Pro up to 420hp on engine... As for de GTA gearbox, JUN added an oil cooler for it in order for de gearbox to stand such high power output...

Tried to Google de spec, but cant find yet... Wil share u once i got it...

:_:

Hi S9/slj,
sorry to twisted the subject a bit , then what's the diff between E8MR and E9 , I mean in terms of size oso same??

No prob bro aziz....

yeah bro s9...
i heard ppl saying that e9 turbine is so fragile...WHY ?

means only the fin is different...and the housing , everything at the same ..izzit bro S9???Is the fin bigger and lighter ???

E9 is using titanium-magnisium turbo fins... Housing wise E9 r different from E8 MR (see attachment)... De different design of fins angle n shape are de main different btw E8, E8 MR n E9 besides its material n housing...

E9 turbo is fragile due to its spike boost from de Mivec engine... De spike can b as high as 1.8 bar where normal setting from de manufacturer is at 1.38bar for E9... Any after mkt turbos wil hv de same problem if its over boosting... Its de Mivec thingy tht caused this... If put this E9 turbo in any version of Evos, it wil perform very well n responsive too!!!

Hi S9,
from ur point of view , which one better ?? E8MR or E9 ?? in terms of responsiveness . also d u mean that E9 turbine is not fragile , just need BC to control the boost spike ? Max 1.5 is it ok for long term. Sorry too many question. Just to understand better. If E9 turbine is better maybe we can suggest slj to look for E9 turbine ( a lot of people sell it bcoz maybe they don't understand )

As for responsiveness, am sure E9's turbo is better in someway compare to E8 MR's as this is what Mitsu claimed as thier improvement in turbo development... But they might b using de 'wrong' combination of meterial in manufacturing de turbo where during high boosting pressure, de turbine fins tends to give ways... Not all E9 turbo hv tht... I myself got few E9 frens stil riding well n good on their ori E9 turbo no problem...

Tht's y from Titanium- Megnesium in E9 change to Aluminium-Titanium or Aluminium-Megnisium (i cant re-call which 1 was it liao...)for de fins in E9 MR... This is to make sure de turbo can stand high boost pressure... Besides, Mitsu Japan oso re-design on de fins too... Not to say tht de E9 turbo is bad, its jus tht many owners got de turbine failure problmes thus ppl straight thought de E9 turbo is not good... With de right setting n tuning, this turbo can go up to as high as 400-430hp on engine too... :_:

My reseaches on de Mivec engine + E9 turbo: Full exhuast system, air intake system, ECU, a ext cams 280, fuel regulator + fuel pump = 380hp... Source from a japan mag... :_:

sigh....prob over here is so far not dat i know of anybody with stock turbo able to pump out more than 320 WHP .......sigh....

thank bro s9 for ur information......

but i think the price of these used mr turbine is actually similar or equally to those aftermarket ball bearing turbo rite.....

bro s9...is the e9 manifold same as the e8 one????

yes mr turbo has been cooked up to a very high exp price macam those ball bearings big turbo......

doesnt make sense....depends on wat u wan lor....but long term wise mr turbo is not going to deliver consistent n steady big WHP :D

E8, E8 MR, E9 n E9 MR manifold r de same!!! No worry for tht!!!

DD,

Haha... But slowly i'll do tht la... But step by step... No $$$ now... Budget budget 1st... But wil kinda reach there... 380hp, here i COMEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE.... :_:

DD,

Y say long term wise MR turbo cant perform consistently??? Guess u jus need to upgrade de Ori. Actuator to a HKS Actuator wil do... It can stablise de boost n performance nicely no problem... Normally its de ori Actuator spring tht fail to hold on to de boost due to ageing... Or straight away chance to a wastegate lo... lagi tahan!!! :_:

wat i mean is big WHP......easy come easy go......have any of u ever wonder...Mr turbo spools faster n ends faster too....even if u stroker up your engine.....high end power but turbo just over spinning only :)) hehehe anyways....still depends on the tunnig though........well.......max max yeah maybe liek the magazine......but then ....as compare to another car with a Gt28 kit n above.....habis liao lor .....

HKS actuator.....bro....it is still an actuator la :D LOL

hahaha....thank bro dd and s9....

bro s9,
is the evo8mr turbine flange same as the evo8 one???
by the way..i found an gt3037 kit selling for 6k plus...izzit worth???

currently i just thinking to get some more horse for my ride....i just have myself a complete hks head modded(cam,valve,retainer...etc..) ....now thinking to get a better stock turbine(such as evo8mr) to spin on it only...don wan to custom those manifold or piping first...wait till enough bullet then one time get turbo kit ...

slj,

Bro, if HKS 3037 kit (including manifold, wastegate n etc) at rm6k+ n condition stil good, then its a super deal man... Hahaha... I wanna hv tht too... May i ask what evo u r riding? U hv de cams (what is de spec for ur cams - 264, 272 or 280?) thingy liao? So what ecu u r using? With Cams + 3037 kit = 500hp above man!!! :_: Make sure jaga ur brake system too... Better upgraded it too!!!

DD,

Oh... of cause la... Since E8 MR turbine is ori evo turbo n meant for responsive, so it kicks in earlier is normal... If u wanna to hv better end power too, pair it with after mkt cams... U wil get longer n better power output curve on dyno!!!! Guarantee!!! Tht's what am hoping to do oso...

Cannot compare with other turbos with different target!!! Hehee...

bro s9,

i not sure bout the condition of the kit....i saw it in motor tarder....selling for 6.5k ah..u can have a lot.. ...even i wan to see also hard coz i'm not in kl.. :( ...maybe u can try approach the fellow....or i can get u the contatc as well....so that next time i go kl...u can allow me to hoop into ur monster...LOL...

i running on 272 cam...... ecu as first i bought the e6x.....then find very trouble some for the installation coz of the check light and the acd thing.... not even install in..damn.... now running on ultimate which taken out from my vios .... just trying to get the max horse with the stock turbo....see can approach up 320 - 350 or not lo...the rest of thing had complete modded such fuel system....exhaust system......i'm drivin e8...

for the brake ah....thinking to change now...maybe go for grippen lo....but now i going to change the brake pad first...see how it's go first lo...save save money ....

slj,

Am planning to do all basic thingy 1st, then next up is cams n ECU... aiming to maximise my ori turbo too... Yeah, everything evo uses oso damn chat expensive... LoLzzzzz... Must budget budget then do...

But when change bigger turbo such as 3037, u need to upgrade almost everything man... Intercooler kit, racing radiator, sparks, cables, fuel system, brake system, all kinda pipings n etc... Wah... lotsa $$$ need to spend man... Haha... :_:

yeah man.... damn damn damn chat expensive ...Bloody sucker man...hahah...

tat hwy..if i going to the turbo kit..then even more $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$ have to dumb inside ....now already halfly dead man...that hwy thinking to get a mr turbine and spin on it...at less i think is much more better than the evo8 turbine...by the way bro s9....i'm looking for i/c kit....any suggestion..??

i was thinkign to get the hks type s ....but it;s don comes with the piping...and so far i only know n1 is selling it where the piping as well if for evo9....so..izzit possible that i install in my e8 ?? any mod on the piping ?? don know available for e8 or not....

Write your reply...