Anti Lag Function

madmax

I know that some Ecu's such as motec and other advance ECU's have this function to reduce turbo lag when shifting and launching..how does it work..

ahh long writing again..but then i'll try to shorten a bit kekekeke

basically the idea in this so call anti-lag-system or bang-bang-system is opening the throttle plate (butterfly) by a little degree (maybe 10-20deg..can't remember) and make sure air still entering the engine and exhaust still flowing through turbine blades BUT to keep rpm lower when u off-paddle, it have to retard the ignition timing and getting low rpm RICHER.
then, when exhaust valve open...unburn exhaust going out though the exhaust valve and the ignition so late that will explode the a/f mixture that rich. this explosion causes the turbin blades spin faster and fire comes out of exhaust tip/muffler

Originally posted by Revo@Feb 15 2005, 10:32
This mean higher fuel consumption? :blink:
yes. fuel consumption a bit high lah.but for street car..dun ever install this thing la. might crack ur extractor turbo muffler..bla bla, risky

not going to add more power but u get instant power

No wonder the track car exhaust come out from the front wheel... :)
Shorter the better....