DC5 Advice

2 months ago, i inspected that shop opposite the uptown (shop named SG Auto) , while my friend martin was searching for a DC5 ............... all the 3 dc5 "type-r" there were actually converted type-iS. I talked to the owner of the shop, he gave some really lame excuses :biggrin: must have thought i was some noob or something to believe his bullsh*t!

There's also another one on Old Klang Road, which I visited.... also a Type-iS
I cant remember the name of the shop.

yes BB1-MAN did mention SG Auto at Damansara!

How many people ler have been duped of buying not original type R?

true true.... the feeling of being "con" not that nice. hope future owners visit ZTH before buying.

subcon- when tracking u got use any specific coolant or water is more than enough?:idea:

For me janji ada coolant + water is good enough already! no need to specify to certain brands of coolant. We are only going to do 4 to 5 laps max before returning to pit to cool down!

as dcloo mentioned earlier...your brakepad and tyres must be in good working condition, your engine not leaking any oil, and of a coz crash helmet is a must. for you and your passenger!

Changing your brake hose to steel braided is also a good idea.

haksuyo - by the way, nice meeting up with you yesterday.........

bb1-man , i'm still in KL, but leaving @ 5AM wednesday morning :)

by the way, beware of the shop opposite side of uptown-damansara (accross the LDP) , all the DC5's there are TYPE-S !!!

also, please don't confuse with the Acura RSX Type-S , as north american terminology is slightly different from JDM.

USDM RSX Type-S is a little bit equivalent to the JDM Type-R
and the
USDM RSX Base Unit is quite similar to the JDM Type-S

confusing, huh ?

Nice to meet u too tim!
Hope can join u guys on next tt session :driver:

For me janji ada coolant + water is good enough already! no need to specify to certain brands of coolant. We are only going to do 4 to 5 laps max before returning to pit to cool down!

as dcloo mentioned earlier...your brakepad and tyres must be in good working condition, your engine not leaking any oil, and of a coz crash helmet is a must. for you and your passenger!

Changing your brake hose to steel braided is also a good idea.

just hope that my ride can stand the 5 lap pure abuse. :bawling:

haksuyo - by the way, nice meeting up with you yesterday.........

bb1-man , i'm still in KL, but leaving @ 5AM wednesday morning :)

by the way, beware of the shop opposite side of uptown-damansara (accross the LDP) , all the DC5's there are TYPE-S !!!

also, please don't confuse with the Acura RSX Type-S , as north american terminology is slightly different from JDM.

USDM RSX Type-S is a little bit equivalent to the JDM Type-R
and the
USDM RSX Base Unit is quite similar to the JDM Type-S

confusing, huh ?

hello... all the sifus...

how do we find out whether that is a Type-r or Type-is? I went to SG to see their DC5 before.. but i find their salesman not good.. and also they are selling the old facelift. so i went to old klang road cheong foo and they have a facelift dc5... but now i am confuss whether that car is a type-r or type-is... both the car also with red top engine... but i believe they can change the top cover right... hm...

look at the VIN plate and chk it against the engine number on the engine block.

take a pic of the enginebay, clearly showing the IM area,... post it here,... sifu dc5R will comment.

i think the type-s and type-R have some difference at the IM area,... TB etc,...

the link i pasted here is the specification for DC5 Type R. Hopefully it will guide you in buying the real deal!

http://www.itr-dc5.co.uk/spec/index.php

look at the VIN plate and chk it against the engine number on the engine block.

take a pic of the enginebay, clearly showing the IM area,... post it here,... sifu dc5R will comment.

i think the type-s and type-R have some difference at the IM area,... TB etc,...

oh... ok ok.. thank sifu.... i should go back to old klang road to take some pictures... hehe...

Phew.

I have a type R. i bought my car from SG also and i was panicky the whole day yesterday. got my first verification today. phewwwwwwwwww

Tim,
wouldnt mind if you could double check my sources for me. :)

Phew.

I have a type R. i bought my car from SG also and i was panicky the whole day yesterday. got my first verification today. phewwwwwwwwww

Tim,
wouldnt mind if you could double check my sources for me. :)

good for you!

i got an vin here, u can see there got mark down wat type was it.
my.php

some info here, the cupholder oso different between type s n type R
for type-r = http://www.honda.co.jp/auto-lineup/integra/2007/interior/typer-shiftknob/index.html

tis is for type-s = http://www.honda.co.jp/auto-lineup/integra/2007/interior/types-shiftkob/index.html

and tis is the honda japan dc5 link http://translate.google.com/translate?u=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.honda.co.jp%2Fauto-lineup%2Fintegra%2F2007%2F&hl=en&ie=UTF-8&sl=ja&tl=enhttp://translate.google.com/translate?u=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.honda.co.jp%2Fauto-lineup%2Fintegra%2F2007%2Fmechanism%2Findex.html&hl=en&ie=UTF-8&sl=ja&tl=en
oh yeah, DC5 type-r dun have sunroof 1...but type-S did.

woo post #555

Fobs:

the car sellers in KL are pros.

it's FULLY converted. FULLY.

but somehow i dont get the logic behind such massive conversion jobs.....

i mean, if they have a type-S, and they wanna make it a type-R,......wouldnt the process of converting, buying type-R engine parts, labor, all amount to MORE than a type-R price already? plus we're not talking brand new cars here....all cars are of a certain age and already used in japan......

unless of course, its minor minor tipu job like rolling down the mileage. that one i believe the salesmen can do.....