Crankcase Filter Modification..

Originally posted by gavan@Nov 25 2004, 14:10
so do not be confused about this DIY, its not for MC, the hose he is reffering to is the hose connected to the original filter box hose, not the PCV hose..

hope you guys can understant what the heck i was talking tho... :blink:
yes, i'm understand........:D
my MC is connected to the correct hose alreadady.....

dont care lah....as long as i know my MC is connected correctly lah.... and next week i will buy a mini air filter for the crankase ven. also.... currently is not connected with anything... since i change 2 using ram pipe....

Absolutely, that's where people connect their oil catch tank. In my opinion (don't shoot me ah, my opinion only), putting a filter there will not help due to the pressure / air comes from inside out. So inside the filter will be covered up with motor oil...the proper way to get rid of the crankcase pressure should be the oil catch tank setup because the intake manifold will suck the pressure out from the engine while leaving the oil in the tank.

Again, this is my opinion. Don't shoot me if I'm wrong. :D

we wont shoot u.... but u r wrong lah.... so no point shoot u,,,,

Originally posted by 1298@Nov 26 2004, 00:29
Absolutely, that's where people connect their oil catch tank. In my opinion (don't shoot me ah, my opinion only), putting a filter there will not help due to the pressure / air comes from inside out. So inside the filter will be covered up with motor oil...the proper way to get rid of the crankcase pressure should be the oil catch tank setup because the intake manifold will suck the pressure out from the engine while leaving the oil in the tank.

Again, this is my opinion. Don't shoot me if I'm wrong. :D
I am not shooting... ;)

The crankcase ventilation hose actually sucks-in air from the intake hose --> this one you got it wrong. However, when the engine is underload, sometimes, the blow-by will be forced back to the hose, bringing some oils and this and that.

That's why you see oil in the small filter after some hard revving.

Yes, and oil-catch tank is the best setting, not just a simple filter --> this one you get it correct.

Maybe different engine works different way? :unsure: :) Coz for mine, it actually blows out (or am i just getting the wrong issue here?) :) ...and due to maybe weak piston ring or whatever, damn, my bonnet underneath is "painted" with motor oil, where the hose was pointing to, after some hard driving. :lol: While idling, air is blowing out from the tiny outlet on the valve cover like a small air pump, rev it up, it blow harder, whereas the tiny inlet at the intake manifold side is sucking air in...errr...that's what I get on my engine lah. :)

Are we talking the same topic or lain? :unsure: :D

Originally posted by 1298@Nov 26 2004, 18:55
Maybe different engine works different way? :unsure: :) Coz for mine, it actually blows out (or am i just getting the wrong issue here?) :) ...and due to maybe weak piston ring or whatever, damn, my bonnet underneath is "painted" with motor oil, where the hose was pointing to, after some hard driving. :lol: While idling, air is blowing out from the tiny outlet on the valve cover like a small air pump, rev it up, it blow harder, whereas the tiny inlet at the intake manifold side is sucking air in...errr...that's what I get on my engine lah. :)

Are we talking the same topic or lain? :unsure: :D
izzit whn ur car idling, the hose will blow some smoke ??i mean little bit only.....the more u rev the more it's come out ??if yes, then it's same with my l200 turbo....hehehe

i just put small filter then......after few week, d filter full of oil liao so i change to another one......rm10 only ma...........hehehe

drexchan: yup, a 1978 toyota cressida. i'm an old man who drives an old school mobile... :D

kschu: from my experience, if there is smoke coming out from that hose, doesn't matter whether is idling or during revving, that means your piston ring MIGHT be weak liao...coz that's what happen to me last time, it's like lighting up freakin' 10 batang of Marlboro at the same time. :lol: So after overhaul the engine, everything is fine, no more smoke...until now. :( So, if your engine is healthy, then no smoke should come out from there. :)

The filter full of oil coz the pressure is coming out from that hose. That's when the oil catch tank comes to work. ;)

Just my experience. :P