CPS (Cam Profile Switching) vs VVTI vs DVVT

I believe that the CPS is capable of reaching >200km/h but the question is, how much time it takes to reach that speed?... sometimes, we need to test its durability by driving for a long distance with high speed ... Else, you won't know it within a short distance... I hv tested mine..driving fr PJ to Ipoh, all the way at 170km/h at least :biggrin: ... engine is still intact though.

Bump: I believe that the CPS is capable of reaching >200km/h but the question is, how much time it takes to reach that speed?... sometimes, we need to test its durability by driving for a long distance with high speed ... Else, you won't know it within a short distance... I hv tested mine..driving fr PJ to Ipoh, all the way at 170km/h at least :biggrin: ... engine is still intact though.

I don't think can get 210 unless its a really long road and down hill... as you can see from the video, once shift to 5th gear the rpm drop to 5.2k and not really moving up even when the throttle are floored down.

erm.... does gear/final drive ratio have anything to do with it? :hmmmm:

Hi Sphiroth, papagoines,
Yeah, I believe it all depends on the gear ratio as well as the ECU. Reason I said this is because I have experience with my GTI... no matter what I modified, the top speed didn't appear to improve.

When in 5th gear, the engine seems to die off i.e. speed will be coming slower instead of becoming faster...maybe, this is the weakness in proton's design...I am not sure others' experience but mine, the final drive didn't seem to help to increase the top end. Auto transmission will be even worst off though.

What I did to my car previously:
1) Chg extractor
2) chg plug and cable
3) K&N Filter
4) Chg exhaust fr fron till the end --2.5"
5) Chg ECU IC
6) Metal gasket
7) Port and Polish

With all the above modifications, can't even 'tapau' a std Mivec... **sigh**

AFAIK, GTi 2nd batch (the one with Siemen ECU) cannot unleash it full potential even with mod, unless piggyback installed, or better still a standalone.

I've been tapau by vios before because of the top speed.

How about changing to a bigger throttle body and longer valves opening? I think it cold benefit the top end as bigger TB you can have larger amount of air going into the engine and longer valve opening give more time for the air to enter the CB.

Don't think I'll go that far just for higher top speed as the pick up is good enough for me.

Vios is fast man... if you wanted good acceleration, go for Turbo...

I don't have problem (yet) in pick up compared to vios. Just the top speed...

It's the ecu definitely~ the sales man said that it's limited to 200km/h ish~

I'm thinking to add piggy back unit. Not for top speed, just to smoothen out the torque curve (refer to my dyno chart).

yeah, if you wanna have a smooth torque curve, the piggy back unit might do the trick..there are many brands out there now. What engine oil are you using now?..and the spark plug?

I remember the 1st batch of GTI, the top end could reach 240km/h though but the subsequent batch can't do it, even struggling even to reach 200km/h. I am not sure about Campro CPS....?..who knows the 1st batch of CPS is better... unless someone could share more on this info with us.

yeah, if you wanna have a smooth torque curve, the piggy back unit might do the trick..there are many brands out there now. What engine oil are you using now?..and the spark plug?

I remember the 1st batch of GTI, the top end could reach 240km/h though but the subsequent batch can't do it, even struggling even to reach 200km/h. I am not sure about Campro CPS....?..who knows the 1st batch of CPS is better... unless someone could share more on this info with us.

I'm still cannot decide between Apexi Neo or unichip.

Spark plug is standard and I'm using fully synthetic oil.

All CPS got the same problem, even the one in Gen2, but don't know about the one in neo. Only the nonCPS campro can get past the 200 marks.

That is kinda hard to tell...since the CPS engine is in 3 type of cars with different body types. Also the Neo CPS has been reconfigured to activate at slightly higher engine speeds as compared to the rest.

Only non Campro CPS could go above 200km/h mark? If that is true, then maybe the ECU is different already? So far, I haven't heard any Campro CPS who could really give a hardtime to Mivec, DVVT or VVTI... How about using the Shell V Power to give more power?

Of course lar the ECU setting is different, different engine ler...

yeah that is obvious....but the question is why cap the speed limit? Takut polis tak bleh kejar ka? Polis now got Volvo S80 and EvoX whut~ dun tell me can't catch proton cars~ or they are just that stupid drivers?:rofl: