CPS (Cam Profile Switching) vs VVTI vs DVVT

So, what is the current modification trend for CPS in Sunway?... usually, extreme modifications will take place first in KL or maybe Penang....also, no takers on the NGV fuel?...

when going up the hill, what is the performance then...?... will it be struggling or piece of cake?:confused:

Bump: So, what is the current modification trend for CPS in Sunway?... usually, extreme modifications will take place first in KL or maybe Penang....also, no takers on the NGV fuel?...

when going up the hill, what is the performance then...?... will it be struggling or piece of cake?:confused:

Not much news on CPS mods.. maybe due to recession.

Uphill usually in 2nd gear, but going up the carpark ramp I usually use 1st gear because need to go up slowly due to my lowered ride. But the 1st gear is actually quite long, can go up to 50km/h.

Yes (according to JC Racing and N1) but no (according to RS Impressive, they recommend unichip, maybe because they sell unichip). AFAIK, piggyback can only work in WOT fro campro.

Yes. EMS700 if I'm not mistaken.

1st-60
2nd-95
3rd-140
4th=180
5th=180++???

Any CPS owner with aftermarket ecu? Appreciate if can share more :adore:

Agree, economy is bad now and most of the people are holding on to their mods. Not sure if anyone had tried to supercharge the CPS...supercharger has no lag if compared to turbocharger.

Like what boyzone said, appreciate if anyone could share more with the aftermarket ECU?:listen:

Anyone knows the MSD ignition is still a popular thing to play with?...with the very thick spark cable to begin with.

Agree, economy is bad now and most of the people are holding on to their mods. Not sure if anyone had tried to supercharge the CPS...supercharger has no lag if compared to turbocharger.

Like what boyzone said, appreciate if anyone could share more with the aftermarket ECU?:listen:

Anyone knows the MSD ignition is still a popular thing to play with?...with the very thick spark cable to begin with.

IMHO, if really wanno go to force induction, using engine with no vvti, vtec, cps, mivec is still the best. Less tuning problem and theoritically should be more reliable.

I've already wanted to install Neo, but with the sudden price increase, it got cancelled off.

Extracted from Paul.Org's website. To see more click below,
http://paultan.org/archives/2008/02/06/proton-waja-campro-16-premium-cps-details/

-------------------

This is how the new Proton Campro CPS works. The CPS system integrated both cam profile switching (CPS) and a variable intake manifold (VIM). VIM switches between a long intake manifold at low RPMs and a short intake manifold at higher RPMs. According to Proton, a longer intake manifold is used at low RPMs to achieve slower air flow; this promotes better mixing with fuel. The short intake manifold allows more air in faster. This is beneficial at high RPMs. This seems to be slightly different compared to the usual VIM system where intake manifold width is also varied to control air velocity, and velocity tries to be maximised, but the idea behind the CPS VIM seems to be not wanting the air to go in as fast as possible at low revs to promote air-fuel mixture? Whatever it is, it seems to work, as the VIM does not stand alone but works with all the other engine systems together over different RPMs.

The CPS system uses a switching tappet and a trilobe camshaft to switch between two different cam profiles. One cam profile provides low valve lift, while the other cam profile has a high valve lift. The low valve lift cam profile is used at engine speeds of under 3,800rpm to maintain idling smoothness and ensure lower emissions, while the high lift cam profile is used when the engine is spinning more than 3,800rpm to improve peak horsepower and torque.

Using this two performance-improving systems, Campro CPS engine basically runs in three modes at any one time:

Engine Speed CPS VIM
0 to 3,800rpm Low Lift Long Runner
3,800rpm to 4,800rpm High Lift Long Runner
Above 4,800rpm High Lift Short Runner

The result is 125 horsepower (93kW) at 6,500rpm and 150Nm of torque at 4,500rpm compared to the non-CPS Campro’s 110 horsepower (82kW) at 6,000rpm and 148Nm of torque at 4,000rpm. Engine displacement is 1,597cc, bore and stroke is 76mm x 88mm and the compression ratio is 10.0:1. To handle the higher power and torque output, the Campro CPS engine has an additional oil cooler.

Bump: Extracted from Paul.Org's website. To see more click below,
http://paultan.org/archives/2008/02/06/proton-waja-campro-16-premium-cps-details/

-------------------

This is how the new Proton Campro CPS works. The CPS system integrated both cam profile switching (CPS) and a variable intake manifold (VIM). VIM switches between a long intake manifold at low RPMs and a short intake manifold at higher RPMs. According to Proton, a longer intake manifold is used at low RPMs to achieve slower air flow; this promotes better mixing with fuel. The short intake manifold allows more air in faster. This is beneficial at high RPMs. This seems to be slightly different compared to the usual VIM system where intake manifold width is also varied to control air velocity, and velocity tries to be maximised, but the idea behind the CPS VIM seems to be not wanting the air to go in as fast as possible at low revs to promote air-fuel mixture? Whatever it is, it seems to work, as the VIM does not stand alone but works with all the other engine systems together over different RPMs.

The CPS system uses a switching tappet and a trilobe camshaft to switch between two different cam profiles. One cam profile provides low valve lift, while the other cam profile has a high valve lift. The low valve lift cam profile is used at engine speeds of under 3,800rpm to maintain idling smoothness and ensure lower emissions, while the high lift cam profile is used when the engine is spinning more than 3,800rpm to improve peak horsepower and torque.

Using this two performance-improving systems, Campro CPS engine basically runs in three modes at any one time:

Engine Speed CPS VIM
0 to 3,800rpm Low Lift Long Runner
3,800rpm to 4,800rpm High Lift Long Runner
Above 4,800rpm High Lift Short Runner

The result is 125 horsepower (93kW) at 6,500rpm and 150Nm of torque at 4,500rpm compared to the non-CPS Campro’s 110 horsepower (82kW) at 6,000rpm and 148Nm of torque at 4,000rpm. Engine displacement is 1,597cc, bore and stroke is 76mm x 88mm and the compression ratio is 10.0:1. To handle the higher power and torque output, the Campro CPS engine has an additional oil cooler.

• CPS_Power_Curve.jpg
    CPS_Power_Curve.jpg
    25.5 KB · Views: 165
  • CPS_Torque_Curve.jpg
    CPS_Torque_Curve.jpg
    22.9 KB · Views: 154
Why why...why no more discussion on this topic. Getting bored huh :biggrin:

Come one, we could do better than this right ! I am sure there are many Campro CPS owners out there... can share good and bad experiences with us here at ZTH..

Bump: Why why...why no more discussion on this topic. Getting bored huh :biggrin:

Come one, we could do better than this right ! I am sure there are many Campro CPS owners out there... can share good and bad experiences with us here at ZTH..

Bump: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Campro_engine#Turbocharged_Campro_engine

Turbocharged Campro engine
On 13 December 2008, Proton Managing Director Datuk Syed Zainal Abidin revealed that Proton is developing a turbocharged version of the 1.6 L Campro engine to be introduced within 2010-2011.[15][16] The engine is developed as a response to the new market trend of having small displacement engine but forced-aspirated to produce the power output equivalent to a larger motor, a similar concept as the TSI twincharger technology in the Volkswagen Golf Mk5. There were no details on whether the turbocharged Campro engine will be equipped with the CPS variable valve lift technology or not, but the output of the engine is estimated to be about 150 bhp (112 kW; 152 PS) and 240 N·m (180 ft·lbf) of torque.

Future plans
Currently, Proton is planning to develop the higher displacement engine options (1.8L and 2.0L) to complement the existing Campro engines which are limited to 1.3L and 1.6L engine options only[17] and is currently in talks with foreign parties to help with the development. In addition, Proton is also planning to produce the diesel version of the Campro engines.

Comment:
Turbocharged Campro is only 150hp...do they plan to use small turbine like TD025?...maybe, running at 0.4bar boost kuah... what say you?

Why why...why no more discussion on this topic. Getting bored huh :biggrin:

Bump: Why why...why no more discussion on this topic. Getting bored huh :biggrin:

Bump: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Campro_engine#Turbocharged_Campro_engine

Turbocharged Campro engine
On 13 December 2008, Proton Managing Director Datuk Syed Zainal Abidin revealed that Proton is developing a turbocharged version of the 1.6 L Campro engine to be introduced within 2010-2011.[15][16] The engine is developed as a response to the new market trend of having small displacement engine but forced-aspirated to produce the power output equivalent to a larger motor, a similar concept as the TSI twincharger technology in the Volkswagen Golf Mk5. There were no details on whether the turbocharged Campro engine will be equipped with the CPS variable valve lift technology or not, but the output of the engine is estimated to be about 150 bhp (112 kW; 152 PS) and 240 N·m (180 ft·lbf) of torque.

Future plans
Currently, Proton is planning to develop the higher displacement engine options (1.8L and 2.0L) to complement the existing Campro engines which are limited to 1.3L and 1.6L engine options only[17] and is currently in talks with foreign parties to help with the development. In addition, Proton is also planning to produce the diesel version of the Campro engines.

Comment:
Turbocharged Campro is only 150hp...do they plan to use small turbine like TD025?...maybe, running at 0.4bar boost kuah... what say you?

I rarely posted here because the response from others are so slow. Most of the time I hang out at lowyat.net.

IMHO, turbocharger for campro should be sold as standard accessory and can be bolt on. Not everyone needs it as the CPS already give adequte power for normal driving.

150 bhp (112 kW; 152 PS) and 240 N·m (180 ft·lbf) of torque.
This is good enough for daily use already.
If Proton have this version, sure I will get one :driver:

Bump: 150 bhp (112 kW; 152 PS) and 240 N·m (180 ft·lbf) of torque.
This is good enough for daily use already.
If Proton have this version, sure I will get one :driver:

Sounds pretty decent ... Have to see the power to weight ratio before judging its drivability and performance ... Handling is another issue ...

Sphiroth,
You don't go to the right forum and certainly, there are a lot of car sifu in ZTH...that is why, I tried to get more info. everyday.

Boyzone,
Yeah, I agree that for normal usage,150bhp is more than sufficient, Perdana with 2.0L Engine is only producing 147bhp?... For the torque of 240nm, I believe that it is good enough..can feel the car 'tarik' a bit huh.

Mitevo7,
What do you guys think of the Lotus tuned suspension? I agree that ultimately, power to weight ratio matters the most.

Sphiroth,
You don't go to the right forum and certainly, there are a lot of car sifu in ZTH...that is why, I tried to get more info. everyday.

Boyzone,
Yeah, I agree that for normal usage,150bhp is more than sufficient, Perdana with 2.0L Engine is only producing 147bhp?... For the torque of 240nm, I believe that it is good enough..can feel the car 'tarik' a bit huh.

Mitevo7,
What do you guys think of the Lotus tuned suspension? I agree that ultimately, power to weight ratio matters the most.

Regarding to the Lotus Tuned Suspension, so far ... I've driven Gen2 or Satria Neo, Not CPS ya ... I understand both of these protons has so called Lotus tuned suspension, Gen2 is kinda understeer to my liking, and Neo is way oversteer ... In my opinion, if they going to install a turbocharged motor, the suspension has to be revised again and again ...

NOT A CAR PRO SO JUST GIVING SOME PIECE OF OPINION ... Correct me if i am wrong about it ...

I hv tried Gen 2 and the suspension is normal lor.. but the Satria GTI is better...more responsive though.

If wanna used the turbo setup, then many things have to change...normal suspension might not take the supreme torque and certainly, the setup has to be changed... there are a lot more to it and many people would say, there are many problems with turbocharged engine but I don't fully agree lor..it depends on the driver actually and some people are using the turbocharged engine for many years without major issue ...

... we could share many things in this ZTH's forum, be it right or wrong, it doesn't matter. What matter is we learn what we wanna learn:biggrin: Hopefully, this forum will give us more knowledge on CPS's full potential and the future adds on capability.

Sphiroth,

Agrees, but the forum are less 'lively'. Just my opinion.

I hv tried Gen 2 and the suspension is normal lor.. but the Satria GTI is better...more responsive though.

If wanna used the turbo setup, then many things have to change...normal suspension might not take the supreme torque and certainly, the setup has to be changed... there are a lot more to it and many people would say, there are many problems with turbocharged engine but I don't fully agree lor..it depends on the driver actually and some people are using the turbocharged engine for many years without major issue ...

... we could share many things in this ZTH's forum, be it right or wrong, it doesn't matter. What matter is we learn what we wanna learn:biggrin: Hopefully, this forum will give us more knowledge on CPS's full potential and the future adds on capability.

Not to forget they need to upgrade the braking and redesign the bonnet to improve airflow. CPS is a hot engine, literally.

Durability of modern turbo has increased a lot, just people sometimes ignore the basic maintanance.

that issue is fixed in the neo cps model. forgot where i read that :biggrin:

If not mistaken by increasing the wheelbase.

according to the brochure, neo's wheelbase remains @ 2440mm. new wheelbase means new chassis. overall dimension is different a bit, but maybe becoz of different bumpers & spoiler etc.

IMO the main difference is its front/rear overhang.
825/640 fer the non cps vs 826/632 for the cps one. shud see a less oversteer wif that.

cps is also heavier, but that won't affect much, no?

if low boost turbocharge ( 0.4~0.6) , I think should be ok for daily drive.
Low boost is mainly to improve torque at low RPM but not power.
If look for high rev power engine, u should go for NA engine with 2 stages cam design.
CP ratio with 11:0 :1 is still ok for daily use, like Mivec 4G92.

if low boost turbocharge ( 0.4~0.6) , I think should be ok for daily drive.
Low boost is mainly to improve torque at low RPM but not power.
If look for high rev power engine, u should go for NA engine with 2 stages cam design.
CP ratio with 11:0 :1 is still ok for daily use, like Mivec 4G92.

From the dyno graph I post earlier, the torque curve at below 5k rpm is kinda OK (flat). Just it keep on dropping after 5k rpm. Maybe the turbo should be used at higher rpm to flatten the torque curve..hmm

Sphiroth,
erm...the CPS engine is hot, but if compared to turbocharged engine, guess who should be hotter? For the brake set, how much does it cost for an used Brembo set, maybe 4~6pistons?...from what I heard, a TRD 4-pot piston only cost about RM600 plus (maybe, without the disc kuah)....

Boyzone,
From what I know fr N1 racing, there are a lot of VTEC turbo in KL..how they play is from 3~5k rpm, turbo kicks in and 6k~9k, VTEC open... if wanna play 0~400m, really hard to beat them right. What do you think? Definitely, less boost will have less wear and tear though. If wanna go for no lag, then use supercharger with huge engine cc... I also heard many Vios and Myvi Turbo around Malaysia...should be fast huh:biggrin:

Sphiroth,
erm...the CPS engine is hot, but if compared to turbocharged engine, guess who should be hotter?

Thats why they need to revised the engine cooling system before they can turbocharge it. But I hope the R3 would come out with a higher lift cam for the CPS, I prefer NA btw..

Sphiroth,
erm...the CPS engine is hot, but if compared to turbocharged engine, guess who should be hotter? For the brake set, how much does it cost for an used Brembo set, maybe 4~6pistons?...from what I heard, a TRD 4-pot piston only cost about RM600 plus (maybe, without the disc kuah)....

Boyzone,
From what I know fr N1 racing, there are a lot of VTEC turbo in KL..how they play is from 3~5k rpm, turbo kicks in and 6k~9k, VTEC open... if wanna play 0~400m, really hard to beat them right. What do you think? Definitely, less boost will have less wear and tear though. If wanna go for no lag, then use supercharger with huge engine cc... I also heard many Vios and Myvi Turbo around Malaysia...should be fast huh:biggrin:

if u1..get brembo frm evos...2nd hand selling frm rm2k upwards with disc...if really new brembo with 6 pots cost like rm20k++ just for front sets...

no point for out car to get 4 pots...twin pots is enuf to stop our car nicely..just upgrade the pads and disc rotors..4 pots and 6 pots and nice la...but costly...

totally agree with vtec turbo is almost unbeatable....i sat on a vtec k20a..is good enuf...if slap with turbo...it would hv been nuts....

Write your reply...