Corroded Battery Terminals

JohnIsler

guys, need help on this prob.. i'd always determine that my car's battery terminal have a cruddy substances on them. need to clean quite often in 2-3 months. can u guys tell me why this happend, n how to prevent it from happen again. my 2nd car doesnt have this problem anyway. tq

maybe the battery going to kong. either u can change the battery or try to greese the terminal.

thanx evan for reply.. but i dont think it gonna faulty so fast.. just used it for 7 months. anyway will try to put greese on it.. :D gud idea.. how can i never tot abt it :P

Is it white or green? If so its the acid leakign out.

Wash it off with hot water and then spray soem light oil (WD-40) or grease it.

mine is greenish in color....

what is exactly wrong ??

i only wash it off with hot water...and then the problem comes back

Originally posted by JohnIsler@Feb 6 2004, 10:55 AM
how to prevent it from happen again.
- Pour the terminal with Hot Water
- Spray the terminal with WD40
- To add more protection. Apply grease on the terminal

It will not happen again.

There may nto be adequate power going back into yhour battery and power ma not be drawn from the battery adequately.

Originally posted by Pyscoseow@Feb 10 2004, 12:40 AM
loose battery terminal sound serious..

if leave it unattended..anything wrong ??
Quite serious if too loose bcoz the positive terminal might touch the bonnet and sparking will happen..

Originally posted by Bert@Feb 12 2004, 12:35 PM
There may nto be adequate power going back into yhour battery and power ma not be drawn from the battery adequately.
err....izzit possible...that i will xperience difficulty in starting up the car...

;) no problem...'cept u have to top up the battery fluids often...use the Shell and Petronas Battery fluids....dunt get the cheap Rm1.00

my experience, even if the battery is totally out of battery with headlights left on...i could still start after using these battery 'water'...bit more expensive at rm2.00

also check your bonnet...clean it coz it may corrode the bonnet.. :)

Originally posted by johnsonlam+Feb 9 2004, 01:29 PM-->
QUOTE (johnsonlam @ Feb 9 2004, 01:29 PM)
--QuoteBegin-JohnIsler
@Feb 6 2004, 10:55 AM
how to prevent it from happen again.

- Pour the terminal with Hot Water
- Spray the terminal with WD40
- To add more protection. Apply grease on the terminal

It will not happen again. [/b][/quote]
If this still don't work, prepare to change the battery liao. :D

Originally posted by toyota03+Feb 12 2004, 10:31 PM-->
QUOTE (toyota03 @ Feb 12 2004, 10:31 PM)
--QuoteBegin-Pyscoseow
@Feb 10 2004, 12:40 AM
loose battery terminal sound serious..

if leave it unattended..anything wrong ??

Quite serious if too loose bcoz the positive terminal might touch the bonnet and sparking will happen..[/b][/quote]
this one looks scary :ph34r: