Corroded battery terminal

-lanz-

Recently my car(Toyota SE) were acting abnormal during start.Sometimes unable to start like no charge in battery.When i open the hood,can see some white powder surrounding battery positive terminal.So,i clean it and saw the terminal was corroded.So today bought a new battery terminal from spare part shop but the terminal looks so simple.I were unable to dismantle the fuse box screw from the old terminal.Those using AE92 might know a fuse box connected together with the terminal.So,is the fuse box sold in market and is there any other better terminal sold in the market?Any idea friends?

The picture taken from internet,just for illustration:
attachment.php

Fuse box-not similar to my car type.
attachment.php

• battery-terminal-before.jpg
    battery-terminal-before.jpg
    13.5 KB · Views: 1,665
  • images.jpg
    images.jpg
    9 KB · Views: 1,047
just try cleaning the old one with warm water mixed with baking soda, rinse it until the corrosion dissolve.
Some say, coca cola works too.

bro, you could buy those felt washer (in red and green), as to prevent corrosion (actually it is oxidation) of the battery terminal. Cost a few ringgit, obtainable from car battery shop.

It is acid corrosion, acid seeping out. Probably time to change battery already. Mine so far if get that, after a few more months the battery konks....:hmmmm:

Thanks for the replies guys.Appreciate that.
I can change the battery if need but the prob is the fuse box,i cant unscrew the nut joining the fuse box and the battery terminal :frown:

It is acid corrosion, acid seeping out. Probably time to change battery already. Mine so far if get that, after a few more months the battery konks....:hmmmm:

I have acids on the battery terminal even though it is a brand new car with brand new battery. Very annoying indeed. I guess only wet battery would cause this? Coz so far my two older cars which run on dry battery no longer have this problem. Last time acids built up when I was still using wet battery on the older cars.

Cleaning with warm or hot water work very well...I usually dip a toothbrush into the hot water, then brush it clean. Then spray protectant on it..bought from Home Fix.

I have acids on the battery terminal even though it is a brand new car with brand new battery. Very annoying indeed. I guess only wet battery would cause this? Coz so far my two older cars which run on dry battery no longer have this problem. Last time acids built up when I was still using wet battery on the older cars.

Cleaning with warm or hot water work very well...I usually dip a toothbrush into the hot water, then brush it clean. Then spray protectant on it..bought from Home Fix.

Do you mean maintenance free battery. Well, my maintenance free battery near the end of life also have this white powder build up, so I clean up and it builds up again even though I spray with protectant. Then I clean up and change battery then okay....

---------- Post added at 09:12 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:09 AM ----------

Thanks for the replies guys.Appreciate that.
I can change the battery if need but the prob is the fuse box,i cant unscrew the nut joining the fuse box and the battery terminal :frown:

Can take a picture of it?
Last time, my former car, the battery terminal became loose, so I just bought another terminal and link the old one to the new one. The old head was like molded together with the wire, so cutting it was difficult

Sorry for the delay guys.Not online for few days.Here is the picture:

attachment.php

Ahaw:Im not sure since i never change the battery as i just bought it second hand 2 years ago.

• IMG_0232.JPG
    IMG_0232.JPG
    110.1 KB · Views: 729
I see a nut there. When unscrew can the fuse terminal be detached? If can, then attached the new terminal to this....

attachment.php

Finally its been solved.I bought a new MF batt and terminal.
Ended up some slight cut on my finger after battling to open the corroded screw :(
But im not satisfied with the battery terminal which looks like a normal terminal.Need to buy a good terminal later.

• IMG_05394.jpg
    IMG_05394.jpg
    42.4 KB · Views: 293
  • IMG_05414.jpg
    IMG_05414.jpg
    78.1 KB · Views: 315
  • IMG_05404.jpg
    IMG_05404.jpg
    64.5 KB · Views: 299
Finally its been solved.I bought a new MF batt and terminal.
Ended up some slight cut on my finger after battling to open the corroded screw :(
But im not satisfied with the battery terminal which looks like a normal terminal.Need to buy a good terminal later.

What other type of terminal you want?

To avoid the corrosion, apply petroleum gel (eg: vaseline) on the terminals. This what i read from oversea forum. Never try myself since i never face this problem.

A better terminal that can last longer

The one you have will last forever too. It was the corrosion that damaged it. The one you posted is good looking but it the corrosion sets in it will be damaged also.

---------- Post added at 08:44 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 08:41 AM ----------

To avoid the corrosion, apply petroleum gel (eg: vaseline) on the terminals. This what i read from oversea forum. Never try myself since i never face this problem.

Don't use grease. In our weather and heat in the engine compartment, the grease melts and seeps in between the terminal. In the long run as this builds up, then one morning your car would not be able to start until you clean the terminals.
Just use some contact cleaners and spray on them for protection....