corolla ke30....wad can be done !!!

bro sbirdz..yup, i think it was quite expensive..coz i got my set (in the pic) for rm1.2k only + tires..that's way back in the 98..and still using it till now.but i am curious bout the ae86 half cut..does it really cost rm8k-9k..if yes we here at the north got cheaper price..just rm4k+ (depend on the package)..and one more thing..got rear wheel drive 4agze? i didnt know bout that..

wow...u guys are so cool...thanx for all the info so far....now that i am done wif engines...i need to noe bout spareparts...where to get any ke owners wana share...im from kl by da way !!!

bro sbirdz..yup, i think it was quite expensive..coz i got my set (in the pic) for rm1.2k only + tires..that's way back in the 98..and still using it till now.but i am curious bout the ae86 half cut..does it really cost rm8k-9k..if yes we here at the north got cheaper price..just rm4k+ (depend on the package)..and one more thing..got rear wheel drive 4agze? i didnt know bout that..

^_^ hi turbo10... that is the price last time i get back... with whole complete baka set of AE86 halfcut... it cost like err... dunno la.. i actualy also forgotten.. but i know if i wanna complete revive my KE20... it will be rm12k... that why now still saving money.. but my AE101 is poisoning my stupid brain... hahhaa!!!

and 4agze got one set is rear levin version.. haha!! i dunno how to say this but it is sort of rare item also... i am not sure which model it belongs too.. definetily not those new levin spec i believes.. maybe belongs to some AE9+ series...

and as for ravingill... u just reminded me that i need to go and take back that RM300 steering kit back from a chop shop later.. coz my ke20 can't rev anymore in straight line due to the kit is all 100% lose... now corner also can easily buang ones.. to dangerous if speeding time.. ac

i know one chop shop at Batu caves, i can email u the name card.. it was an indian fella chopshop, i got this from a friend of mine but i never been to this place yet.. goin to go with my this friend soon... but dunno which day coz now busy with workload...

and there is another damn hidden inside chopshop at ulu yam.. also this blardy friend of mine told me.. what is so special about this.. ^_^ any car belongs from 80's below... all is allocated there... whereby... ^_^ and which... i am taking about serious weber kits... haha.. this chop shop is bigger and larger compare to the batu caves one... this is the only 2 ancient extincted shop i know...

and err... 4-5k engine r... i think this one is very cheap only... actually u can go for t-series... coz i remember some senior mentions before about this engine... on a TE something rolla... it is just alright and unable to overtake AE86 16-20v spec.. but that TE is carburator categories.. so u change to twin weber... that will be unlimited rev... so if u got this thing, then u can overtake any car +200cc more than u... :) believes me... proven from sarawakian AE101 with 20v twin weber... haha!! rival is the ONDA 18 thingy...

ok la.. i stop here first.. ^_^ happy hunting alright.. i try to give u the address later at home tonite.. need to selongkar thru my namecard book... 0_o

Congrats on you KE30 purchase. As far as transplant go, should skip it because of budget constraints. Realistically RM10K is just enough for transplant and some issues to iron out. Are you willing to spend so much on a 20 plus year old car? Are you going to keep it forever? You should ask these questions first before doing transplant.

If you do intend to keep the car on tight budget then you could go the simpler way.

A fast improvement would be weber carburetors for your engine. If you swap a 5K from KE70 1.6 could be a good choice. First its quite easily available, penty of stock replacement parts for it. Should be a single carb 5 speed manual tranny. I'm not sure how much it cost. But i presume in the region of a T series engine also. The benefit is you could retain many of the K series engine bay stuff to upgrade to this engine. Like crossmember and mounting points. Though changing them would be better because of higher power.

You don't need to whack any body parts to fit it in too. I recon RM5000 to work on the engine which might cover, port and polish, webers, and total overhaul. But would probably cost slightly more. But thik about it, the engine is just like new! And i remember some guy at DCM using this for drifting, and engine revolutions at 9000rpm!

For a T engine transplant. I would also say NO. And i'm damn well sure. First off, you could have to get a better T series engine from ST and GT series 1975-1980 celicas, Truenos. Or even go about getting one from old TT series coronas. 2T is 1.6cc and 3T is 1.8cc. You need to do some bodywork to mount the engine. Usually some comes with busted gearboxes. As you know T50 is not cheap! No thanks to 4AGE using the same gearbox.

But with 3T series engines you could use old W series Supra gearboxes. Which is also rare and expensive. The only EFI variants from 2T series is 2T-G. If you intend to run weber, you could use 2T-B and 2T-G. When you run high rpm on 2T engines, one thing would fail very often. The distributor arm. I have changed it 3 times in the last 8 months. And that too is some Taiwan made stuff. You would have a hard time finding quality Japan made parts for it. Especially if you intend to look for DENSO ones. You could change it to coil packs or DLI. Which is more work and headache. And not many mechanic does it. The engine is basically a tough nut to crack. But its the little things that are not made for performance driving that is a let down. In the end i'm sure its gonna cost you about RM10K for the job.

As for chassis, you should change all the bushings no matter how nice they look. Suspension mounts, spring mounts, steering mounts, blah blah. See you car corner flatter! Later you might want to invest a little on sway bars and front suspension strut bars.

Don't forget you KE30 should be less than 1 ton in stock from. If your engine is pushing 120hp you would still give problems to modern cars. If i'm not mistaken, your car also doens't have sound proofing tar like mine.

For wheels, i suggest you get something 14x6 or 14x7 where tires can still fit nicely, and you could still drive without worries. You could get 15 inchers. But that would slow you donw a little. And don't forget tire width affects front steering input. Bigger is not always better. If you want to try how a 14" feels like compared to a 13", then i suggest you get a set of 14" steel wheels from toyota Unser. Cheap and you could upgrade to better alloys later on.

For me the checklist would be this,

- Bodywork & paint
- 5K engine and gearbox
- weber
- 5K overhaul
- All rubber mounts
- 14" wheels
- Then start with interior

You would still be paying more than 10K for everything. But the time used to debug problems is shortened. And also there is no side attractions from better ECU, cams, gaskets, more electronic add ons to spoil the plan. hahaha. Which is why i say 5K is the way to go.

Oh i forgot, T series engine and K series engine are almost similar in reliability. So it makes sense to use K series which is newer than T series.

ok thanx bro... bro netmatrix ur info really helped my decission abt the engine swap...well frankly speaking i am nt into making this car a speeding bullet...i will be using this car mainly to drive to college and mayb go to mamak shop and all..u noe just the normal things...so i will keep the original 3k engine and as u said get webber carbs for it....and i saw one 13 inch deep dish rims...well still looking might get 14's too...he he

well all i really need to noe now is a good place where i can obtain parts for this ke30...as i might need them in the near future...if something gives way...

help me on this bro....and wad u think if i keep the 3k engine and put webber carbs...will it be enough to just drive around to college and all....thx again really appreciate ur time !!!

• eve-hybrid1.jpg
    eve-hybrid1.jpg
    30.5 KB · Views: 748
  • eve-hybrid2.jpg
    eve-hybrid2.jpg
    37.4 KB · Views: 742
even if you put webers...you cant do much with such an old technology engine. I had a KE30 before way babk in 1990 .Damn good car! of course the sound proofing is terrible...it's not a new car. You can hear 3 to 5 times the wind sound louder compared to new cars today.

oh ok....but for just normal driving lets say at 100km/h to college and back home and mayb around my house to go mamak and all...is it a reliable car bro

for your situation above, the engine might be an issue if u dont rebuild it..netmatrix covered it all..if u use twin sidedrafts FC might be an issue..using ur stock carb might be a better solution and change the igniton to electronic, no more contact point..better power, mileage and reliability..me also searching replacement engine for my dads ra60..found 18rg with 4-1 long fork header..but need to find webbers to replace the faulty carbs..or i should find 22r 2.4L from the landcruiser..original was damaged, a 21r 2.0L..wanna sell it la..around rm3k

hi bro, i own a 1979 KE30 too.... its quite a rere wan and was the last batch of KE30 b4 KE70 rolled out
i live in kajang now but my hometown is in ipoh...
back in ipoh i could get most of the stuff 4 my KE30.. few months back i just got my tail lite replaced but couldt get the same model as we have...
so had to take the old model tail lite but it looks ok also.. both the lite cost me RM130 + RM 20 wmanship to modify the wiring of the lite...minor modification

my point is if u have the time just drop by ipoh to jln bendahara or jln lahat (near menglembu) to get the spare parts for ur ROLLA KE30

Old Skool Rocks!!!!

wohh.... hahah!! never taught T series is older than K series... Netmatrix... thanks for the info btw.. and also for ravingil, sorry bro.. keeping u so long for the replies on that chop shop...

i can't find my personal namecard book, usually i store in all those paint, body, fiber and chopshop card there.. blardy hell.. where did that book slot'd into.. i will try to get a new namecard from my friend since i will be meeting up with him on a tt this friday also.. so either i scan it or i will write the address down here..

btw... Net, K engine roars... like metal ramming sound... what about T? and T series is usually located on TE series car? i really have no idea man!~~ i think it was u somewhere in the past about a thread which u mention about one TE series car which is something relevant as another choice of AE86... right?

and as for me.. i definitely will plant something big which cost me rm10k for my KE20 there... although it is not 2 door version, but still, i just love the shape of this little baby car.. haha!~~ this is what i meant.. but too bad i have to froze it's current condition now until i have enough cash to totally rebuild it back up...

:)
ke20front.jpg
ke20tyre.jpg
the head is much more fiercer compare to my Corolla AE101... while the old steel rim itself has already an offset .... which makes my tyre :P hahah!! rare item... 195/75 R12 ^_^

ryte bro..by da way where is ur tt this friday...

and to

turbo10
srdn
sbirdz

thx a lot on all ur help so far......and wad else u guys can add 4 me would also bre usefull as its a rare car..and parts are hard to get so all choshops u all noe could be usefull bro..thx a lot guys

hmn... dun think it is a good timing for u to join out this friday tt... coz they are all planning to goto kajang to have a satay session, and i bet it will be like a bunch of madcows starlet and rollas rolling from cheras connaught Projet till kajang satay station... :)

not stepping on our beloved KE baby alright.. but they really can max out their darn meter ones(shss.. me also de :P )...and one exit wrong.. haha!! we can be drifting or making one big donuts already there... :P coz can't stop fast enough...

maybe next week, as i think we might be staying in normal stuff... which is usually at Len Sen Brj's mamak

ok...my car is nt tht level yet...lol

prepare for juniors la bro...he he

anyway where is Len Sen Brj's mamak

exact location bro...if gat time will come 4 sure...by da way wad u rollin in

the locations.. err... hang on r..

maptmnconnaughtconverted.jpg

that is the location we will wait form 9pm till 10pm on every friday nights... somehow from gathering it has becomes a common dinner nowadays hahah!!

the len seng is just nearby with a mountain road then exit towards another medium sized highway... I usually drive my seg goes there.. coz if i drive KE20... the steering is already way too loose... if it is not any emergency, i won't drag my KE20 out ones... and another thing.. hahha!! further more my Ke20 swallows fuel like woW!~~ ... hahah!! really dunno when only i will go the time match with my friend so i can go grab that steering rack back.... gezz...

ok ok cool....well once my car done up a bit more presentive i will start to join yall bro...anyways wad engine u gt under ur ke20...why fc so high...lol

ok thx bro

Yo! Ravingil, so what have u done with ur KE30?

i think my turn to revive my KE20 is up... :D sorry bout never chat with u on msn r... coz tthat time i was focusing on my AE101... ^-^ wanan find ur KE30 parts...

I go lubang... KAKAkAKAKAK!!!:biggrin::biggrin:

-Reviving and SUPER old thread-