Corolla Absorbers Advice?

Veloc

Dear Sifus...

I need to replace my corolla AE111 absorbers. I found a place selling RM2++ per piece. That is quite expensive but monroe brand. Then another place, they quoted RM125. The brand is APM. I can't afford the Monroe ones even though I know it is good. Any experience on this brand "APM"? How good, reliable, comfortable and how lasting are they?

My area is in kk, sabah. If there is any other brand that you can suggest, please advise me? Thank you!

Is it normal APM or APM PERFORMAX? As far as i know apm performax has bigger shaft. I've been using APM PERFORMAX lowering spring for quite some time. And satisfy with the spring. Not really sure about absorber

APM is basically tokico(made in malaysia), thats wat i ve heard...u can try japan tokico OEM. I ve just bought mine. Firm n comfortable but is about rm200 per piece, i ve got it at towering penampang. The shop is at the same row with bintang ramai, facing main road.

Or u can try grebber, i ve heard good review as the shaft is made in germany. Tried asking from the tayar shop at bandaran berjaya(just opposite cathy cinema) there. The tauke quote me whole set around rm750 incl installation n alignment. Almost wanted to installed, then i bump into this tokico OEM. So i prefer tokico and got it.

Personally, i think either two that i ve mentioned shud be okie. Dun try malaysian made KYB, very lousy, lasted only 2 weeks on last set. Somemore the shaft was small, wont last on the challenging roads in KK.

Hope u find it useful.

RM125/pair can consider a good price..
at my place, spare part shop quoted RM130 for both brand APM & KYB...

Last time i bought pair of KYB front abs and it last for nearly 2yrs until left side kong..
feeling.....so so only.....

my fren bought APM abs for his front ae101...he said feeling is good.....

my ride's now are on a used KYB New SR + APM Performax sport spring and i satisfied with this combination.....my suggestion : try find this abs...u won't regret....... :proud:

some frens oso said japan tokico abs are a good choice.......

Thanks sifus for your input ya... Really helped.

---------- Post added at 01:34 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 01:30 AM ----------

Is it normal APM or APM PERFORMAX? As far as i know apm performax has bigger shaft. I've been using APM PERFORMAX lowering spring for quite some time. And satisfy with the spring. Not really sure about absorber

It's normal APM I think. Standard one ma...

APM is basically tokico(made in malaysia), thats wat i ve heard...u can try japan tokico OEM. I ve just bought mine. Firm n comfortable but is about rm200 per piece, i ve got it at towering penampang. The shop is at the same row with bintang ramai, facing main road.

Or u can try grebber, i ve heard good review as the shaft is made in germany. Tried asking from the tayar shop at bandaran berjaya(just opposite cathy cinema) there. The tauke quote me whole set around rm750 incl installation n alignment. Almost wanted to installed, then i bump into this tokico OEM. So i prefer tokico and got it.

Personally, i think either two that i ve mentioned shud be okie. Dun try malaysian made KYB, very lousy, lasted only 2 weeks on last set. Somemore the shaft was small, wont last on the challenging roads in KK.

Hope u find it useful.

Hmm... I don't have budget for the Tokico lerr... If not, I already taken the Monroe. I have to stop spending so much on car... Really, have to start planning. Haha... So I guess Most probably I'll take the APM.

And yes... I have very bad experience with Msian KYB when using my wira last time. People keep tell me it's good brand. Got used in racing and all... I didn't believe. Only now I realise got KYB japan and KYB msia. Msia boleh.

RM125/pair can consider a good price..
at my place, spare part shop quoted RM130 for both brand APM & KYB...

Last time i bought pair of KYB front abs and it last for nearly 2yrs until left side kong..
feeling.....so so only.....

my fren bought APM abs for his front ae101...he said feeling is good.....

my ride's now are on a used KYB New SR + APM Performax sport spring and i satisfied with this combination.....my suggestion : try find this abs...u won't regret....... :proud:

some frens oso said japan tokico abs are a good choice.......

Thank you bro... I'll go for APM I think as I have budget constraint...

---------- Post added at 01:39 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 01:34 AM ----------

Sifus... Actually now I got 2 choice...

APM - RM 125/piece (absorber only)
Chop shop - RM 80/piece (absorber and spring)

For you guys, which one you will get? Which ones seem a better choice? Chop shop is so much more cheaper. But anybody experience in terms or reliability? Because there's a risk. If buy from chop shop, if it is no good, no warranty.

2. And, what is the difference change springs and absorber? How come my mech ask to change absorber only but not spring? How he know the spring still ok? I send car to check because the rear right side is lower. The car sink down already. I thought its spring but the mech said absorber.

Thank you...

change the abs.........

agreed. change the abs. the reason why your ride is lower/uneven at one side, is because the abs can no longer hold up the weight of your car, and it is relying onto the spring at this moment. when you are driving, especially when it comes to taking corners, it feels like you car wants to skid off the road. I had this problem once, but it went for rear's both sides. once the abs changed, problem gone :proud:

mr veloc.can u share with us urfeelin with the apm absober

My front sets are not here yet. But the rear ones are very well. 6 months now. A good balance between stiffness and comfort I would say. But many people say that it kongs fast. Not sure about that. Still using it...

absorbers not so easy to kong one. Last time i used my apm performax, it lasted for more than 5 years, then baru i change. it's not too bad la, just tat between apm and kyb and price to performance ratio, i would go for kyb..

tq mr veloc 4 uranswer.

---------- Post added at 05:12 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 04:59 PM ----------

is grebber absorber too stiff?can anyone help?grebber made in malaysia (german tech)