Suspension recommendation for AE111?

I'm driving ae111 96' (ae110), im using GAB SA series absorber for 2 yrs already, it's still good condition I guess. It's cost me rm8xx 2 yrs ago. My gab is on stock spring & 205/45/16, it's still can handle up to 170km/h.

My opinion, if you're not planing to change to spring with low budget(within 1k), and want to improve the car handling, you can choose any local sport absorber like Gab, kyb, improve & ... Sport absorber doesn't very stiff without lowered spring. Stiff it's really depend on the owner.

But original corolla suspension setup, the gap between wheel & chasis, front side is higher than rear, it's doesn't sporty look, I really dun like it. For me, I will go on high/low & soft/hard adjustable kit. Titan shock is good but it's in KL, it's recommended by local racer/drifter. The only choice for me is HWL or Titan at the moment. Forget about Tein or CUSCO since it's expensive, you wouldn't need it if you're not a hardcore driver.

My fren just changed HWL high/low & soft/hard on his EG with B18C few months ago, it cost below rm2.5k, so far not complain and satisfied him.

Whether your car feels good at 180kmh also depends on your chassis condition, if its not properly reinforced what suspension you choose also useless. I am using stock Tokico and I also can handle 180kmh quite stably. I even do 180kmh on Segamat - Kuantan road.

I have something to say, I went from adjustable to stock suspensions. If you are not going to track, stock suspension is more than enough. I still manage to go Karak highway at up to 160kmh, and JB to Terengganu road, I can drive at 180kmh with the car feeling stable. If you don't strengthen your chassis, all suspensions also won't give you good feeling

Whether your car feels good at 180kmh also depends on your chassis condition, if its not properly reinforced what suspension you choose also useless. I am using stock Tokico and I also can handle 180kmh quite stably. I even do 180kmh on Segamat - Kuantan road.

Bro my usage is more of curved roads and not so much of highways. Of course if it is straight roads, normal sports absorbers are okay already. No need for adjustables.

I wana sell off my buddy club junior spec fully adjustables. That is if u want it.. hahahahha

Yep, chasis condition is very important.

I wana sell off my buddy club junior spec fully adjustables. That is if u want it.. hahahahha

Haha... I hope I can afford that man. thanks for the offer. That is quite a luxurious item you got there. I've seen recon units of bC junior for RM 3k and BS racing for RM 2k. :adore:

Yep, chasis condition is very important.

My chassis is fine. I will do more enhancements but that will be after my suspension.

---------- Post added at 01:37 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 01:28 AM ----------

By the way guys... Just to let you guys know my decision. And maybe this will help in your decision too in the future. I have decided to use sport shock and sport springs instead of adjustables. The reason for this is that i figured out that I won't be adjusting the height and stiffness for a daily drive. And there's no track here.

As for the brand, first choice would be APM performax and second is HWL. Why APM? Because it is cheap. Sadly, cost is a factor for me :bawling:

For APM performax, the absorbers are stiffer than standard absorbers but still considered standard. But the springs are true sport springs. To the effect is is stiffer than standard but not as rock hard as pure sports systems.

The sitffness of APM performax I estimate is about 5 - 10% less than HWL, but the price difference is 50% less!!!

I'm gonna get myself a sport spring too..
Manufactured by dr spring.
Any1 heard about it?

I have tried out a set of GAB lowered sport spring on SA GAB absorber on stock rim 185/65/r14.
The spring is 2nd and got it from fren, im not sure its still stock condition or not.
This combination is damn stiff, i just used for 1 day, and changed it back to stock spring.
Wasting my money for installation and alignment ... :(

Please check the sport spring how much lowered compare to stock spring.

From what I heard, APM absorbers don't last.

Yes I heard that before too. Thanks for reminding I overlooked that. Then maybe I will sue Monroe abs. Better because it's even stiffer than APM. Monroe abs and APM sport springs should be quite a decent combo I guess. We'll see...

Used Monroe before..Sensatrac and GT Gas..mate with lowering spring..
Good progressive handling and better it come with 1 year individual warranty..meaning 4 abs..4 warranty cards :)

Used Monroe before..Sensatrac and GT Gas..mate with lowering spring..
Good progressive handling and better it come with 1 year individual warranty..meaning 4 abs..4 warranty cards :)

Monroe got sensatrac series for AE111 meh? The last time I ask the shop, they said don't have sensatrac for AE111. they said Monroe only got produce normal ones for this model. But it is already considerably stiffer than stock kayaba.

yup..bought last 8 yrs ago..but when want to buy for a friend a few years later...its already no stock..so settled for Monroe GT Gas..still comes with the same progressive setup/warranty combo

@kayy : the set up u mention, does it kill ur arm bushing?