convert into 4G93

boyzone

Hi, wanna to ask for advice; I'm plan to upgrade my 4G91 into 93 version, the problem is , which engine should I look for ?? putra yrs 97' engine ?? or Mitsubishi etena engine ?? which one can provide more power ?? pls advice... thanks :unsure:

there's ppl selling 4G93s around here, i have found a couple of postings myself, you got to be a bit patient sometimes.

GTi, Putras are good choices.

Try to avoid the Eterna. I have just done my conversion with an Eterna. Not exactly a headache, I traded in my 4G15 and got the engine for RM1000. I think its really cheap.

The conversion cost was RM800, what i didn't know was they had to charge me extra for the wiring mod and others. So watch out for this when negotiating on the job at workshops. I got a relatively new Eterna which did only 38k KM. sometimes during the conversion, they would tell u they need to change this and that, altho RM800, ur bill could end up being RM1800.

They charged me separately RM500 for the wiring. It's sad, as I previously have had conversions done there and RM800 meant RM800. I later had to bring it else where to have it tuned, basically a job not done well.

I believe he is famous for being fast, I have collected my car within 24hrs. But just got to be careful. They are located near DHL at Puchong, I think those who knows will know who i am talking about.

Avoid them, my advice.

Thanks monmon... my plan will be just plug in 93 Engine and ecu , other of those all will remain with 91 parts. more economy right ?? furthermore my poman said that wiring is same, so no need to worry about this.
now is : which engine should I go for ?? because I hear that proton's engine at yrs 97 are come with 260 cam profile , is it correct ?? if take with eterna engine ; is cam profile still same with proton ?? anyone can help ??? thanks ......

to be specific, it's not mun lee, munlee is a chop shop.

i cannot remember the name myself but there's the word EVO somewhere.

Originally posted by tatatititututoto@Apr 4 2005, 17:35
mun lee arr???
[snapback]867357[/snapback]​

i couldn't tell if it's as simply as plug and play... might be might not be, do ur research, dun be shocked when he tells u later u need to do this to start ur car. i have a feeling its different.

eterna apparent runs very low compression, the car has NO power for a 1.8. a real let down, i am going to change my pistons soon to give it a bit more grunt.

as for the cams, i believe they are all the same. unless u r driving a satria R3.

Originally posted by boyzone@Apr 4 2005, 18:53
Thanks monmon... my plan will be just plug in 93 Engine and ecu , other of those all will remain with 91 parts. more economy right ?? furthermore my poman said that wiring is same, so no need to worry about this.
now is : which engine should I go for ?? because I hear that proton's engine at yrs 97 are come with 260 cam profile , is it correct ?? if take with eterna engine ; is cam profile still same with proton ?? anyone can help ??? thanks ......
[snapback]867652[/snapback]​

different. i am in the midst of changing to 4G92 pistons. mivec's are very high. that's why u see this common mod done, but when u r ready to do a piston change, u should be doing everything else since the engine's going to be pretty much completely removed. u'll be looking at balancing it, lightening it, port and polish it, overhaul it hahahaha everything.

Originally posted by boyzone@Apr 5 2005, 09:29
both of engine are same compression ratio right ??
[snapback]869291[/snapback]​

proton engine more high compression ratio ??
if changing piston , how much will cost ??

alopz monmon ur 4G93 izzit from the galant family?
whereas the ecu code is MD316123?
izit like this?
can elaborate to me ur experiences wit this engine?

ecuboxside.jpg

what I mean is local proton 93p engine is same compression ration with eterna 93 engine ?? pls advice ... Thanks

ehmm sry but i thought jpj doesnt approve us to convert an engine capacity which more than 250cc?

4g91 - 4g93p izint already 300cc?

just go for special request, should be no problem... furthermore just a NA engine only ...

my suggestion, go for 4g93t straight, the price is about the same if u buy the engine kosong alone

Originally posted by boyzone@Apr 7 2005, 09:31
just go for special request, should be no problem... furthermore just a NA engine only ...
[snapback]875798[/snapback]​

sure no problem? if really no problem then i would like to transplant my 4g15 to 4g93 as well... how if later i install the engine and go for register and they reject me then how... take out again and wasted few k to buy the halfcut? =.= need more info, thx.

stop ... 4G91 is 1.5 , if upgrade to 1.8 should be no problem ..maa, still with in 25% right ??