Compressor Jammed!

ocean

Yesterday my wife told me the car air-cond no cold .. She sent it to checking .. Got the answer that air-cond compressor is jammed. Actually the compressor bearing make noise quite sometimes already. But i didn't go to fix it. So .. Now i suspect the JAM is caused by the bearing .. Now i have no idea should i change the whole unit compressor or just take out the compressor and ask the foreman change the new bearing. What do you all think .. Does it possible ?? Will compressor jammed will damage other things?

Now when turn on the air-cond .. seem like the compressor didn't work althought the plate is running ... So . .the question here is .. the compressor still can use or not ? I want to know the answer because don't wish to cheat by those shop foremans .. Who had this experience please share a bit ...

my ride is wira ..

Thanks ..

is there a loud grinding sound coming from the bearing?

if so ..i suggest u change the compressor bearing first...100++

or they foreman will only charge labour fees and give u the free old bearing....

if still cannot fix..then change the whole compresor

TypicalGuy said:
is there a loud grinding sound coming from the bearing?

if so ..i suggest u change the compressor bearing first...100++
or they foreman will only charge labour fees and give u the free old bearing....
if still cannot fix..then change the whole compresor

Thanks for reply ...
Yesterday nite i took out the air-cond belt and try to spin the compressor plate .. yes .. there a loud grinding sound when spinning ... The shop foreman told my wife if change a compressor need RM 400 ++ (not know what cap ayam brand)... er .... The compressor i can get from half cut shop with RM 150 (Mitsubishi brand some more ) ....

Actually current compressor very good (Mitsubishi from half cut shop) .. when compressor running it won't consume my car engine power .. and air-cond very cold .. that why i don't wish to change it .. What i afraid it will cause the other components inside the compressor spoilt .. Or if the bearing jammed it won't affect other things ... That one i need to make clear ....

wat's the sound like???

is it ek ek ek ek ek

my car when after raining and start will have very loud belt sound but after one minute the sound gone
will come back sometime

so is it my bearing kong alsi??

badguy said:
wat's the sound like???

is it ek ek ek ek ek

my car when after raining and start will have very loud belt sound but after one minute the sound gone
will come back sometime

so is it my bearing kong alsi??

no la... bearing kong actually sound like metal rolling on metal surface lo .... Sssshhhh .. like that .. Belt has sound is quite normal issue ... bearing got sound if no fix then .. ho ho ho .. like me the compressor jammed ... when your turn on the air-cond .. the compressor won't run .. it jammed .. Althought the belt still pulling to spin the compressor plate ... but compressor not running ...

When compressor is running .. you will heard a sound "TEIK" ... and your engine become running heavy because it consume more power to spin the compressor ... when until sometime .. the compressor will free .. and your engine become normal ......

if the bearings gone and u still switch it on, later u will smell something like like burning from the compressor.it is advisable if u have low budget, get a recond set from aircond shop. buy it from chop shop although got warranty 1 week but only can know either ok or not AFTER install it.not easy job i must say.

ya..i had the same problem with my car..it used to make a lound noise...and then one day while driving..it was gone...there was so much erosion of the metal that it had reached the filter..and u could see the metal..i had to replace my compressor..it was a recond one..i drive a Mit Galant..full cost including labour,filter ,valve,gas,cleaning was 530...

ehaab said:
ya..i had the same problem with my car..it used to make a lound noise...and then one day while driving..it was gone...there was so much erosion of the metal that it had reached the filter..and u could see the metal..i had to replace my compressor..it was a recond one..i drive a Mit Galant..full cost including labour,filter ,valve,gas,cleaning was 530...

Wah .. That cost a bomb .... Was thinking to buy a compressor from half cut shop and DIY ..

EG8 said:
if the bearings gone and u still switch it on, later u will smell something like like burning from the compressor.it is advisable if u have low budget, get a recond set from aircond shop. buy it from chop shop although got warranty 1 week but only can know either ok or not AFTER install it.not easy job i must say.

Em.. My wife switch it on for around 15 minutes .. She told me didn't smell anything .. anywhere .. was thinking to replace the compressor .. Will goto half cut shop hunting for good compressor ...

update ... bought a mitsubishi compressor (quite new) from halfcut shop RM 120 and send to trusted shop to do the installation change filter and valve. plus servicing brake's piston change rubbers .. Ho ho .. Brake's piston very dirty ....

Now car's air-cond very cold liao ... ke ke ke ... Cheer!

Write your reply...