Comments from customer

vios

please write your comments about Radiostar Alarm System. <_<

Hi vios,

Thanks for the initiative. I'm also in the midst of setting up a testimonial page. It will be up soon :)

Cheers!

Hi guys, generally this products works like various other 2 way alarm system in the market. Only thing lacking is that it doesn't have the programmable auto start function and the ability to fine tune the sensitivity settings ( came with 3 preset settings ) unlike those above RM1000 2 way system.

Also the range is variable..depending on the environment. If u park in basement level car park, the signal range might be shorten or even not available. I guess this is the same with other brands as low power radio waves have their limitations.

I do like the Remote Start and the Trunk Release function. Very useful and it has come in handy in a few situations for me.

i have got one installed, finally.
very good, especially the remote starter, dam cool. noname is veyr helpful and responsible seller. feel free to buy from him. ;)

i got the alarm from noname a few months ago
about 2 months ago to be more exact larrr
what can i say about the seller
very fast response, and responsible

what can i say about the product arrr

well, communication range between the car and the remote is truely weird lorrr
there are instances where the car warns me of an impact on the car
but i cannot re-check the status from the remote
to be more clear would be
the car was knocked
the module sends a warning to the remote
remote beeps
i press the query button
remote tells me i am out of communication distance

good things about the remote would be
the sensitivity on the impact sensor when set to high is amazing
rain drops also can trigger the thing
now i use it at medium only
cause all ah beng cars pass by also the remote make noise

too bad the remote starter does not have the function to be disabled when engaged in gears for manual cars
if it does i would really love it

so noname, any way to disable the remote start if the gears are engaged for manual cars?

Hi Darkaccoon,

The remote start function for manual cars are the same for all brands of alarms. I've raised this issue to the manufacturer and they are looking into it now.

As for the range of communication, the signal sent out from the alarm when triggered is stronger than when we press the query button. The reason for this is that when triggered, the radio frequency that the alarm is sending out is constant and non stop. Furthermore, it is sent from the CAR to the REMOTE. The alarm modules in the car have higher capabilities when sending out such signal. Therefore, it has far better penetration and range.

Compare to query mode, signal is sent from the REMOTE to the CAR. The signal from the remote is only for short burst and once off. Therefore its penetration and range might be shorter compared to from the car.

Hope I've answered your question :)

I guess the battery power from the Remote is not as powerful compared to the Car to Remote since the Car's battery is more powerful.

I agree about the Highest sensitivity settings..even rain drops it will trigger the alarm.

I did an experiment once.. I did a remote start, then went into the car and then try to drive off without putting in the key...guess wat.... the engine got cut-off. Cool! :rolleyes:

About the signal range.. I noticed something weird too. For example, a month ago I parked me car in an open car park. Then there was a power generator house ( 1 storey high ) nearby. As I walked behind the generator house, I tried to query the status, no signal came back...but as soon as I walked to the side of that generator house so that I had line of sight, I could query the alarm.

So I guess line of sight plays an important role too.
I wonder if the other brands have the same type of problems or not?

I agree that line of sight does play an important role in determining the range of the remote. Besides, surrounding structures are also important factor in determining the range :)
Take the generator house example, if there's another building in front or behind your car to 'bounce' or 'deflect' the signal even if your car is out of sight the signal might still reach your remote :)

Regarding the remote start, yes if you did not insert your key and drive off once you step on the brake it will trigger the alarm and cut off the engine :) :)

Now try this :) Remote start your car, don't disarm it and use the key to unlock the car and open the door. Guess what will happen???? :)

Once the door is opened, the alarm will be triggered. Siren sound and engine will cut off and die :)

This is another safety feature :) :) :) Cool? :)

Hi NoName, thanks for the cool tip.. anymore?

Anyway.. I wanna give a word of precaution to those using it now. Don't make the same mistake as me. One fine day, I parked my car outside my fren's house. I forgot that I had engaged into 1st gear.

So when I remote start the car, the car launched forward. But here is the weird part..I thot the engine will die off but it sort of rolled off by itself... lucky for me a big tree root managed to slow it down b4 my lower front skirting hit the bottom of the tree trunk.... thank god nobody was standing in front of my car at that time.

So remember to think b4 hand if you plan to remote start your car so that you won't engage into gear upon leaving your car.

Kudos to Tan and Adrian for a good alarm system which is feature rich, yet affordable. Not forgetting Meng, the technician and his team who installed it. Meng knows his stuff and is a nice guy to chat with. Just watch your step in his shop. You might trip over the stuff lying around!

The range is pretty good. I can even perform a remote systems check on the car in the basement from more than 12 floors in my apt building. But need to be near a window.

Most importantly, now I need to test the Car => Remote transmission range. Just using the remote to check the range isn't very accurate. You need someone to activate the alarm (or more accurately, whack the car) while you're in different locations in a building.

Agreed with Prozac. Features are rich and fun (auto start and trunk release etc).
What i like especially is when you stop the car to drop a pasenger or to park, once the door is open (either with the engine still running or when the engine has been disengaged) the alarm will automatically engage the hazard light. The hazard light will blink for 2-3 times to notify other cars that your car has stopped and passengers are about the dismount.

Great features I tell ya.... :rolleyes: B)

Thanks a lot prozac and handsome_lala.

At radiostar we strive to achieve highest customer satisfaction in the industry through our customer service and products offering yet keeping our cost down/affordable.

We feel very honoured to be given the opportunity to protect Proton Satria R3. :)
Here's the list of other cars that we are protecting

Cheers!

so noname,
any news on the remote engine start being disabled when gears are engaged for manual cars?

Hi darkaccoon,

The alarm is not able to disable remote start if the gear is engaged. This is the car's default setup. The driver shall make sure the gear is not engaged before remote starting. This is the same for all types of car alarm with remote start.

Thanks.

i've just got radiostar-ED today

i find it quite impressive. It has the keylock function which used to worry me. I mean like, if u were in the movies and accidently release ur trunk.. die la rite? ok anyway, very satisfied with it + NoName a.k.a Tan ( sales Rep ) is very helpful and friendly, not to mention, Ah Meng ( Technician+Installer ) is also very helpful and friendly. For the price u pay, i would say its worth it.
Overall i give radiostar's service + function a rating of 8/10!

:lol:

Originally posted by arrowhead@Dec 30 2004, 12:07
i've just got radiostar-ED today

i find it quite impressive. It has the keylock function which used to worry me. I mean like, if u were in the movies and accidently release ur trunk.. die la rite? ok anyway, very satisfied with it + NoName a.k.a Tan ( sales Rep ) is very helpful and friendly, not to mention, Ah Meng ( Technician+Installer ) is also very helpful and friendly. For the price u pay, i would say its worth it.
Overall i give radiostar's service + function a rating of 8/10!

:lol:
aiks......8/10 oni ar
pundek you arrowhead :P

chill la.. just got today
havent tested it in any areas yet wor... maybe will be 10/10 soon leh!??!

i just got it for like 2 hrs oni already give 8/10 wor.. :ph34r:

Hi arrowhead,

Thanks for your support. I'll do all my best to make it 10/10 :)

Cheers

wah arrowhead..you also put in radiostar alarm arr...heheheh... i also have install it already 2 days ago... :D ...

lol don't worry about accidentally pressing the button cause you can lock the key-pad like hp funtion lar...!! :P i just notice it yesterday while reading the whole manual...hehehhe....

2 thumbs for radiostar alarm and noname and integramania ...
still affordable alarm yet with pretty good arm on the alarm.