Hello Guest! Log in or Sign up for a full experience & ad-free!

cold air intake or short ram intake??

Rons

Cold air intake (eg: pipercross)is better or short ram intake??

DIY better... can save money... hehe...

of coz quality wont be as good as aftermarkets one la... but safe money ma, acceptable lo...

there are many DIY cold air intake at DIY thread.... check it out urself... reliability??... buy better hose and connect it properly lo, should be reliable... if not u can alwiz tie it back together ma...

PS: DIY improves the bond between u and ur car...

cold air feed with effective heat shields= colder air=more horsepower

short ram air?short induction piping?=more horsepower,but maybe heat from engine will affecting your performance.

the longer you induction piping,the more torque you gain,but you will loose some horsepower.

Rons said:
Cold air intake (eg: pipercross)is better or short ram intake??

i guess CAI n RAM PIPE r two different things....

Ram pipe is from air filter to TB

CAI. from front bumper to engine bay...provide cool air for air filter to suck

longer induction piping/ram air=more torque but you sacrife some horsepower

u just need medium induction piping with decent CAI,you get both torque and hp

short ram pipe, less torque, but better response....hypertune does have lots of influence ahahahahahha

the main reason for short ram pipe is to prevent hot air from getting hotter....but somehow it can be prevented why wrapping superlon

ahaha, i think we have a big superlon fan here :P kekkekeke, ive yet to try that product out yet :P

i think an enclosed CAI system (Pipercross Venom or RaceCraft CF Intake for example) will be better than a Short Ram + CAI? since air travels direct from the CAI to the TB and its insulated from the engine bay heat?

is there any way that i can increase torque and horsepower together??..if so, which one shuld i use?? but what i see from hypertune(issue august) is quite confuse..
can anyone explain??

Rons said:
is there any way that i can increase torque and horsepower together??..if so, which one shuld i use?? but what i see from hypertune(issue august) is quite confuse..
can anyone explain??

i tried a kenari with long ram pipe with open port filter....u can feel d pulling effect...n the sound is very nice when u revv it....

after that i changed to short ram pipe with the same air filter.....less sound when u revv it....n u cant feel the pulling effect but i guess more power...car go faster....

stock engine oso can go 150 km/h easily

then diy airbox with possible straight big CAI hose plus short ram pipe & cover all wif superlon will be better la... + side gapping & indexing spark plug.. :rock:

i prefer short air ram. Better engine response at lower and mid rpm range.. if can get 15secs@170kmh is better than a 30.00s@170kmh....

short ram + cold air intake = best of both world...

SkYwAlKeR said:
short ram + cold air intake = best of both world...

still need airbox...to prevent hot air from cabin being sucked thru ur airfilter & short ram... ie. there should be no gap between CAI hose & ur airfilter to ensure air ur engine breathing wif is cold enuf :cool:

so, short ram + airbox + CAI??...

short ram + insulate short ram + CAI = my prefered choice. anyways can readup at hypertune ba. they got a nice writeup on air filters and rams.

Featured thread