cold air intake or short ram intake??

Rons

Jul 20, 2005
sg
Cold air intake (eg: pipercross)is better or short ram intake??

SkYwAlKeR

Mar 12, 2005
ePoh ~ malacca
of coz quality wont be as good as aftermarkets one la... but safe money ma, acceptable lo...

there are many DIY cold air intake at DIY thread.... check it out urself... reliability??... buy better hose and connect it properly lo, should be reliable... if not u can alwiz tie it back together ma...

PS: DIY improves the bond between u and ur car...

squall_leonheart

Aug 5, 2005
Japan
cold air feed with effective heat shields= colder air=more horsepower

short ram air?short induction piping?=more horsepower,but maybe heat from engine will affecting your performance.

the longer you induction piping,the more torque you gain,but you will loose some horsepower.

squall_leonheart

Aug 5, 2005
Japan
longer induction piping/ram air=more torque but you sacrife some horsepower

u just need medium induction piping with decent CAI,you get both torque and hp

thteh86

Sep 6, 2004
Subang Jaya, Ma
short ram pipe, less torque, but better response....hypertune does have lots of influence ahahahahahha

the main reason for short ram pipe is to prevent hot air from getting hotter....but somehow it can be prevented why wrapping superlon

i think an enclosed CAI system (Pipercross Venom or RaceCraft CF Intake for example) will be better than a Short Ram + CAI? since air travels direct from the CAI to the TB and its insulated from the engine bay heat?

Rons

Jul 20, 2005
sg
is there any way that i can increase torque and horsepower together??..if so, which one shuld i use?? but what i see from hypertune(issue august) is quite confuse..
can anyone explain??

huakenny

LB Performance
Feb 24, 2005
Kota Kinabalu
Rons said:
is there any way that i can increase torque and horsepower together??..if so, which one shuld i use?? but what i see from hypertune(issue august) is quite confuse..
can anyone explain??
i tried a kenari with long ram pipe with open port filter....u can feel d pulling effect...n the sound is very nice when u revv it....

after that i changed to short ram pipe with the same air filter.....less sound when u revv it....n u cant feel the pulling effect but i guess more power...car go faster....

stock engine oso can go 150 km/h easily

k0m3n9

Aug 17, 2005
ulu klang
then diy airbox with possible straight big CAI hose plus short ram pipe & cover all wif superlon will be better la... + side gapping & indexing spark plug.. :rock:

Kopi

May 18, 2004
Cheras
i prefer short air ram. Better engine response at lower and mid rpm range.. if can get 15secs@170kmh is better than a 30.00s@170kmh....

i'm in this dilemma bfore. Nissan x-gear or suzuki sx4. 2012. test both.
becos my size, i can fit easier in x-gear. Steering just nice above my knee. Got space too.
Interior feels, sx4. But it can't fit me. :listen:
if i not comfort, i can't drive.
About performance, sifu's here will help you.