CLutch Discussion

Alchemis

Guys,

i'm here to start a discussion about clutches on our RE powered ladies...

okay... i tried before only 2 clutches,
1) exedy oem clutch - the feeling is like stock but it engages earlier than stock.. lift half way and it's engaged in... and the car starts to go front...in term of gripping power... still not too bad.. probably that time i didn't have that much power....smooth uphill, no juggering, no sound...

2) stock Mazda clutch - drives like god.. very easy on foot and light as well... but somehow they are not strong enough to hold the power to my gearbox... some slippage happening when doing some crazy shit...can smell the clutch burning when the 2nd turbo kicks in...smooth drive, no sound ,no juggering:driver:

i've driven before Raj's car with a 4 puck racing clutch...

3) 4 pug racing clutch - haven't drive it hard before... but the grip feels strong... but when driving it slow.. like when you lift your padel up slowly... alot of noise... sounds like someone fucking inside the gearbox...the meshing is really bad....:stupid:

i wanna know other folks that used those hyper single, super single, or even twin plate clutches... share your experience here....

'sounds like someone fucking inside the gearbox'...hahahaha...lol...that was funny

Did anybody try Carbon clutch?? Japanese tuner recommend them becos of more durable and less noise (The carbon plate is freakingly light), more friendly too..

boony loh !!!!! good day... haven't seen u around in this forum :)

oh yeah. .carbon clutch.. i heard wee liang had it on his silvia... it needs warming up....like a little clutch grinding and minor burnt out before it's warmed up to go...

any super single or hyper single experience around here ?

found this thread when i searching for more info about clutches.. This should be a good thread and extra info can be feed to new owners and others. So guys pls dont let this thread falls.. Let me start it first.

How would u guys comment about HKS twin plate with Ogura twin plate for FD? Any pros and cons?

i have ogura twins in my car.... as usual... the twins are hard on stand still starts.... because it's not forgiving... new drivers tend to stall... as for the pedal strength...yes.. it's high...because i have the push pull conversion...it's not that bad as the exedy twin plate... that's really bad...

changing higher rating clutches u have to keep in mind that your clutch pump prone to fail due to age... and it's not meant for such high pressure usage... so... be prepared.. when my clutch oil is hot... it tend comes back up slower than usual... that happens on very long traffic jam....

Had a 3 puck dono wat brand racing clutch when i just got the car. Car stalled or 'jumped' all the time. Partly coz it took me 2 weeks to learn to how drive it and engage properly. Dumped it and now happily driving with a std clutch from Alchemis :)

IMO, for normal daily drive, stick to the std or slightly better like Exedy. Only go racing if HP increased or ure track-ing it.

yipee ! will drop in one of these days to pick it up. Thanks a bunch CB

---------- Post added at 03:27 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 03:21 PM ----------

While on the topic of clutch, I noticed on my FD, the other day I was teaching my mum how to drive it. She pressed the clutch pedal IN for longer then usual (ard 10-15 seconds maybe) as I was explaining to her... she engaged the gear, then released the clutch, but the pedal didnt kick back to its original position! I had to release the gear, pull the clutch pedal back manually, pump it several times then it sorta had the spring effect again.

Is the clutch pump faulty / going to die soon? or is it something else? I had a look at the clutch pump and it appears to be connected to the main pump, instead of having its own reservoir. Is this normal ?

could be the clutch spring, i read somewhere from USA thread they replaced it with pen spring. .ha ha

another question i have; using stock clutch needs to change disc every one or two years,, using upgraded like twinplate can last like forever,, any comments from sifu?? which one more economic if already has both in hands (no need to purchase another one)?
yipee ! will drop in one of these days to pick it up. Thanks a bunch CB

---------- Post added at 03:27 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 03:21 PM ----------

While on the topic of clutch, I noticed on my FD, the other day I was teaching my mum how to drive it. She pressed the clutch pedal IN for longer then usual (ard 10-15 seconds maybe) as I was explaining to her... she engaged the gear, then released the clutch, but the pedal didnt kick back to its original position! I had to release the gear, pull the clutch pedal back manually, pump it several times then it sorta had the spring effect again.

Is the clutch pump faulty / going to die soon? or is it something else? I had a look at the clutch pump and it appears to be connected to the main pump, instead of having its own reservoir. Is this normal ?

i have sum que on clutch which i am confuse..
1. how to feel it slips?
2. riding a 1.3 proton, if change to 1.6 clutch kit, will afffect much or not?