Climbing Mount Kinabalu

CcL

ello all
planning to go there in june. don't wanna follow those damn packages. wanna plan on my own. anyone has experience in going on their own?

1. how do i get to kinabalu park from kk town? what time need to be there?
2. wat time start climb up? stop at which lodge? mesilau or laban rata?
3. nxt day 3am start journey to summit?
4. how to come down from summit?
5. how to get back to kk town?

also, any xtra info i should know? how bout the guides etc etc? this is a veli budgeted trip leh.... student poor... no money :(

been there don that
bro i have don't the planning myself with the help of the local.

1. From KK you will need to take a bus ride from KK bus/van station. Ask the local for location. If you want a specific driver I know one his name is Abel Ng(van). 0138792881/ house 088-438424. Very good guy and he can take you from KK park back to KK(just need to tell him properly)

2. You can start climb up anytime you want. morning is the best choice because you can get all the rest after you reach laban rata. Lastime i start 2pm reached laban rata at 9pm, the restaurant is closed, so tired and hungry. I stay in Laban rata in the cheap rest house(no heating) so cold....
Since i stay in laban rata before, i would choose Laban Rata, BTW Mesilau trek is 1km longer but have great view.

3. Next day u need to wake up around 1am and must start climb to the summit at 2am if you want to enjoy the great view of the sunrise. So breathtaking. B)
4. come down from summit is easy, if you know the way the guide will let go first. Bare in mind that u should never leave the pathway or you might lost. NEVER. ;)

5. back to KK use the same bus. but must tell the driver. They also have bus there. If you have fren in KK is also great. BTW where are you from, studying where?

To climb mount K you need:
1. warm cloth.(important)
2. energy bar(you'll need it, trust me)
3. a few packet of maggi(emergency)
4. A bottle of water( one is enough since you can refill it with cold mountain water along the path. :)
5. a guide (must have one) charge RM80-90 each (cannot remember exact preice) 1 guide = 8 person. meaning if u have 9 person in a group, you'll need 2 guide. advisable to go in a group more cheap because can share the price for guide and permit fee.
6. Wear a very comfortable sport shoes.
7. cut your toe nails short or they will break when you come down.
8.you must be fit. physicaly and mentally.

Very important: You must book in advance and pay in advance so that you will get the day that you want to climb. From what i know, last march my frens kenot climb because the reservation is full for 3 month..

i will try to get you more contacts that i know in KK park.
ask anything.

last time my budget is RM300 more than enough. dunno now, maybe more.
cheers.

i went mount everest

the airport stick a lot of missing in action photo on the wall ....

dead

most important b4 the climb...PRACTICE CLIMBING STAIRS!!!! make sure u do that alot..if can..practice wif a load..mebbe a bag wif about 5 kgs..

if u stay condo..damn chun..climb the bloody condo all the way up and down at least 3 times a day for 2 -3 months... then u will be fit to climb right to the top...

:)

hope this helps...

plz bring superb gripping shoes...dun be like the singaporean in front of me (the last time i climb) she kept on slipping and falling on her arse... her bf oso dunno what to do.

power bars/ chocolates will definately ease ur climb...give u the extra boost.( 1.5 bar)

heheh

wif all this in mind, make sure u are feeling all well and pysched up to climb...

all the best bro...hehe ...but once u come back, ur feet sure ache like mad....so all this must prepare one... oh summore, no matter what religion u are... try to say a prayer when u get down...banyak orang halus....believe me...i kena

last time i climb i use the el cheapo Power shoe RM29.90, my frens use Adidas original one, the guide use Adidas kebun RM4.00 onli. Avoid shoes with smooth suface and thin padding.

After climb and come down, kaki is aching everywhere, even cannot climb up stairs for 2 days. :lol:

Yeah dude. I climbed it when I was 12/13yrs old. Form 1 if i rember. The higher you go, the thinner the air, the harder to breathe. Make sure you're fit. The scenery is just beautiful. You'll see crazy size animals man. The rats there are huge! As big as a cat. And the ants are like almost cockroach size. I suggest you start fairly early, reach the rest point in the evening, about 4/5pm. Get some sleep and rest. Get up and leave about 1am as bezet said. You'll want to see the sun rise. It's simply fantastic. Make sure you bring your camera.

Originally posted by bezet@Apr 18 2005, 22:53
last time i climb i use the el cheapo Power shoe RM29.90, my frens use Adidas original one, the guide use Adidas kebun RM4.00 onli. Avoid shoes with smooth suface and thin padding.

After climb and come down, kaki is aching everywhere, even cannot climb up stairs for 2 days. https://www.zerotohundred.com/forums/style_emoticons/default/laugh.gif alt='laugh.gif' />
[snapback]908328[/snapback]​

yela bezet....my legs cannot even move...cant even climb up staircases la...

when u come down no prob...only like 2/3 days later it hits u so bad, that u bcom like orang tua..cannot bend down, cannot move/shuffle ur legs at all..walk oso kangkang like kena somthing up ur arse...damn painful feeling..but what a WONDERFUL experience...

dun 4get say the prayer thingy ar...hahaha..that one is a must...

hmmm
thank u all
i guess i get the rough picture already... now to do the necessary bookings
and then....

TRAIN TRAIN TRAIN!
lol climbing stairs? i guess gotto do the steppers in gym... carrying my 110kg body up m. kinabalu will kill me :huh: :unsure:

bro ccl, don't take the training lightly. If you are not fit, you'll face trouble climbing mouhe K. Last time the guide ask me to stop and go down becoz i was so slow and tired. But finally reach the top. :lol:

oo.. and also put face mask(:ph34r: the one that the tukang kebun use to cover his face) to your shopping list. Without it, your face will be as cold as ice. then become dry.

fit, doesn't mean u'll make it...

determination is more appropriate. :D

i made it to Laban Rata.... pity that nite heavy thunderstorm... so can't continue to low's peak...

but PORING was damn syiok! hehehe

try to pace yourself... don't need to go fast just because everyone else is going fast.

most important thing.. LISTEN TO YOUR GUIDE!!

p/s: i'm not fit... nor am i thin... hehehe... go up sooooo slow.. but it was fun once reach the rest stop. :D :D

ccl,

arranging it urself can be very tedious. i use to engage an agent from KK to do the bookings of climb dates, park stay and laban rata resthouse stay, together w guides. Porter fee is not include. all this is abt rm380. if u want the contact let me know. i am going for my 3rd climb this coming aug on th emesilau trail.

as our friends advise, train hard and walk up the stairs, and this will carry you thru but nothing beats mentally fit and strong to reach the summit

Originally posted by CcL@Apr 19 2005, 02:27
hmmm
thank u all
i guess i get the rough picture already... now to do the necessary bookings
and then....

TRAIN TRAIN TRAIN!
lol climbing stairs? i guess gotto do the steppers in gym... carrying my 110kg body up m. kinabalu will kill me https://www.zerotohundred.com/forums/style_emoticons/default/huh.gif alt='huh.gif' /> https://www.zerotohundred.com/forums/style_emoticons/default/unsure.gif alt='unsure.gif' />
[snapback]908951[/snapback]​

bro dun worry bout the weight factor.. when i climbed iwas about 100kgs back then..

still can manage to climb..its not about weight and training after some times, its more about determination as well as how psyched u are on climbing it...

alrite!!!! 9 days and couting......i'll be taking off to KK sabah there
hurray !!!!! :lol:
this whole trip spend me bout Rm1.2k but i think its gonna worth

wah bro..why so much wan?? :)

lucky i not need to spend so much..got gf from sabah lagi senang..hahaha at least her parents 9tim for me...become driver / tour guide / got lodgings/ got makan provided.....hahaha :lol:

greenjacket,
good luck to you and most important thing, enjoy ur climb, no need to rush bcos this is not a race.

tombstone,
u damn lucky, got gf parents to manage it 4 u, what else provided arhhhh!!!

cheers......

yala bro..considered damn lucky..anyway sabah's boooootifool...

recently went there again...superb...eat freeeeesshhh big fat juicy prawns.. and seafood all damn cheap...

go enjoy ur self bro...

have fun k...