changing the size of rims

baby_jap_wawa

hi. i was wondering, wat effect if lets say a 15inch rims on the old perdana sei convert to a 17inch rims? overall size is still the same as the 15 inch rim tyres are thicker while 17 inch rims tyre are thinner.

whats the effect from chaging from 15 inch to 17 inch? and whats the effect of the thicker and thin tyres? thx. :)

assuming the total size/diameter is the same.
if u install a 17" light rim then u will feel that ur wheel is light comparing to ur stock 15" thinner tyre give u lighter wheel and better handling but not too thin.

this means that 15inch thick tyre will have more fc but more comfortable compared to 17inch thin tyre right? do correct me if i'm wrong. thx. :)

pros with 17",u can install wider tyre for grip.ur car will look nicer.
con with 17",ur ride will be bumpier as the tyre side wall is thinner.
u will feel ur car accelerate slower due to the weight of 17" wheel.
just my 2 cent.

bro,
u wrong lerr.
it depends on from what type of wheel to what type of wheel.
like mine,
14" steel rim upgrade to 15" alloy rim and wider tyre give me better FC cozs my alloy rim is lighter than steel rim. if maintaining the overall diameter, ur FC will depends on the weight of the rim. pressurised air in tyre weigh a lot also, it can weight heavier than the rim(light weight alloy rim). the theory is simple the lighter the better but the outer diameter of the tyre must = the outer diameter of previous/default tyre or else ur car might not have the power to move ur big rim. wider for stability wont affect your FC.
u weigh both rim with tyre with air inside then u see which one lighter.

bro,
u wrong lerr.
like mine,
14" steel rim upgrade to 15" alloy rim and wider tyre give me better FC cozs my alloy rim is lighter than steel rim. if maintaining the overall diameter, ur FC will depends on the weight of the rim. pressurised air in tyre weigh a lot also, it can weight heavier than the rim(light weight alloy rim). the theory is simple the lighter the better but the outer diameter of the tyre must = the outer diameter of previous/default tyre or else ur car might not have the power to move ur big rim. wider for stability wont affect your FC.

Actually u are correct for all except for having "wider tyre won't affect your FC". Well wider tyre=more friction=more power needed to have the same pick up and while driving (maintaining speed and accelerating) therefore more FC and more tear and wear to suspension and brake as well...

There is always something behind the concept of stock tyres for all cars...

Do correct me if i'm wrong...:driver:

this means that 17inch rims can put wider tyres than 15inch rims? if cornering, will the wider tyres affect the fender?

also, if a 15 inch alloy rims with thick tyres compared to 17 inch alloy rims with thin tyres, which is heavier and which is lighter?

bro,
u wrong lerr.
like mine,

ur stock steel wheel is lighter then ur alloy rim meh bro?wider tyre wont affect
ur fc meh?do u know that wider tyre create more friction then narrow tyre bro
thus making ur car heavier to move.

this means that 17inch rims can put wider tyres than 15inch rims? if cornering, will the wider tyres affect the fender?

also, if a 15 inch alloy rims with thick tyres compared to 17 inch alloy rims with thin tyres, which is heavier and which is lighter?

then wider tyres gives more fricton right? is wider tyres stablity a reali big difference and worth the increase in fuel consumption?

1) u might need 2 check the fender clearance with the tire shop. it all depends on the width of the rim ure choosing n the offset of the rim.

2) it depends on the material used for the rims. but most likely the 17 inch rims 2gether with low-profile tires will come out heavier than the 15th inch rims with high-profile tires. unless the 15 in is made of steel n the 17 in is made of light alloy (this would cost a bomb!, e.g. VOLK RACING).

3)actually, from the science i've learned, wider contact patch doesn't contribute 2 higher friction. it doesn't result in higher fc, at least not in that way. but it carries more weight, n that ladies n gentlemen, would the be the cost of the teeny-weeny hike in FC. wider contact patch provides better stability when cornering (unlike friction, stabilty of a body depends on area of contact).

if u're looking for handling performance, go with the 17 in + low-profile tires. low-profile tires give u better responsee, tho it can be annoying 2 avoid every pot-hole for ur comfort.

gt_auto,
i said my alloy rim lighter than my steel rim larr.............
my current tyre is 10mm wider than my stock tyre. but still i get better FC.
if u comparing the difference of 20mm sider than i think it wont give u better fc.

Write your reply...