car cant start! help!

bambino

guy ytd my car had some problems starting.. it starts thn dies... as it dies it will choke.. i thought it might the a flood and deflooded and changed the plugs... same prob. today i tried starting the car same thing... i tapped on the accelerator the rpm revs up but but chokes and thn dies... wad is the prob guys??

Howdy bambino. Check your boost sensor. Thats a common culprit. If it looks like its still hooked on check the 1 way valve. Good luck.

Morning phat, thanks for the heads up! I will when I reach home tonight!

bro, i just checked... the valve and wiring is in order...

edit: i just realised that there is a strong smell of petrol..but i cant find the cause..

Check to see your injectors are fine and not leaking. You have fuel but no spark. Its probably flooded now i guess. Check your ignition related parts (spark plug, plug cables) i would suggest you un-flood it first then try to restart. I am still thinking its got to do with your boost sensor.

Maybe pull the fuel pump relay off and crank for few seconds. Then put it back and start again. Watch out for the battery, don't crank till it die off.

hi bro... latest update... now my car cant even start..... uurrghh...
i tried unflooding already... the tactic i used is unplug all the connectors to my ecu and crank 3 times x 10secs.

---------- Post added at 11:47 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 11:44 PM ----------

hi csl bro, i tried that just now but it seems that its stuck! damn... by the looks of it i gotta get it towed to a workshop... now tt is the most scary part!! donno if they really know what they are doing... sigh....

Get the workshop to un-flood it. Then go looking for the source of problem.

Don't know if it is caused by carbon lock on apex seals and lost the compression. Workshop like H&M and ST Wangan can help. I'm sorry because not really pro in 7 but did saw Ah Choy fix some problems by unflooding then put some oil into the rotor housing via inlet manifold to cure difficult start problem.

Actually like what CSL has said. You can use brake/clutch fluid by only 5-10cc ( i use a syringe coz its easier to pour into the upper intake manifold holes) these are the same inlets you use for your boost meters. It will work but make sure you do this in a open space with lots of ventilation coz its going to smoke. Also good idea to have someone rev it.

bro mind if u show me a pic of exactly which hole i shld add oil to? i just want to be extra sure... ian if ur reading this..... u better ans my calls! lol

---------- Post added at 05:56 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 05:54 PM ----------

Don't know if it is caused by carbon lock on apex seals and lost the compression. Workshop like H&M and ST Wangan can help. I'm sorry because not really pro in 7 but did saw Ah Choy fix some problems by unflooding then put some oil into the rotor housing via inlet manifold to cure difficult start problem.

thanks for the heads up bro.
btw i cant bring my car to h&m or st wagan bro :)

hmmmmmm tow to DKC lah ,this one can settle within short time,tried starting myself last time, instead makes the damage worst

wad was the prob bro? dkc ar? woa lao i scared they anyhow tell me price again like last time leh... u remember the gearbox incident?

---------- Post added at 11:41 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 10:59 PM ----------

holy shit!!! u guys are geniuses! my 7 started to a ball of smoke!
but i only reved it for afew secs... is that enuff?

thanks bro csl and bro phat7!!

btw what is the cause of this problem? is it because i drive it rarely? carbon build up in engine?

congrats for getting the car started. Normally will rev for few times to prevent engine shut down then let it warm up then bring it for a drive (some red line of cause). I think Phat7 and other experienced member can tell how to prevent carbon lock on rx7. I only know rx8 need to red line quiet often to flush the sht and clean the MAF sensor once a while to prevent fault signal that will make the fuel trim too rich.

Congrats!

What CSL says is very true. Now you have to figure out what was the source of your problem. I personally feel carbon build up is not your problem but a quick compression test will tell you this. Look closer. What are your mods?

Congratttsss , bro .Better go do some proper check up .Maintaining a rotary properly , and i mean proper maintaining is never cheap hehehe , my piston mini GP easier alot :)

I dunno lah why you guys always got problem with them.I saw your clutch that day , you didnt buy the stock flywheel ?

But anyways find a good mech lah bro.

Congrats!

What CSL says is very true. Now you have to figure out what was the source of your problem. I personally feel carbon build up is not your problem but a quick compression test will tell you this. Look closer. What are your mods?

thanks!
i am running a small port with a to4r boosting 1.3bar

---------- Post added at 05:18 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 05:13 PM ----------

Congratttsss , bro .Better go do some proper check up .Maintaining a rotary properly , and i mean proper maintaining is never cheap hehehe , my piston mini GP easier alot :)

I dunno lah why you guys always got problem with them.I saw your clutch that day , you didnt buy the stock flywheel ?

But anyways find a good mech lah bro.

my car is currently mantained by my frd in jb la so if car cant start i m goning to have problems..
i agree that rotary isnt cheap to own esp when its old and been thru many owners... but i disagree when the price agreed on is always changing...

i changed my whole gb bro... everything was in good condition so a rebuild wasnt done.. :)

Yeah i understand , for 5 years also i went JB for all my rotary problems, but when i had problems here, no one can solve it lah , in the end , have to tow also lah .

Well , what i ve learnt is that , when doing rotary you need prepare that extra moolah , coz its not as straightforward as pistons.

I agree with you totally that price quoted always change because change this change that and other add ons plus the parts we bought cant use , adds on the frustration.

But these 3 years have been the best time of owning the rotary throughout 8 yrs of ownership lah because i dont need to tow or drive the car to JB for repair .Been there done that , very tiring brooo

Moral of the story : Hahaha find a local workshop who can maintain your rotary and lower down the boost if you dont want any happenings here and there

Yeah i understand , for 5 years also i went JB for all my rotary problems, but when i had problems here, no one can solve it lah , in the end , have to tow also lah .

Well , what i ve learnt is that , when doing rotary you need prepare that extra moolah , coz its not as straightforward as pistons.

I agree with you totally that price quoted always change because change this change that and other add ons plus the parts we bought cant use , adds on the frustration.

But these 3 years have been the best time of owning the rotary throughout 8 yrs of ownership lah because i dont need to tow or drive the car to JB for repair .Been there done that , very tiring brooo

Moral of the story : Hahaha find a local workshop who can maintain your rotary and lower down the boost if you dont want any happenings here and there

my choice was them... but after tt incident i am reconsidering la bro... i hope u dont take it the wrong way....its not that they are no good but they really gotta tweak on their price quotes... if its this price and its not owners mistake... then the owner shld not bear extra cost... i will go back to them la..just not now... since i never had any problems till recently...

boost wise when i just go cruzin... i switch off my avcr and let the wastegate take control... its abt .7bar bro

Write your reply...