Cant boost up

jinkl

had some problem with the car recently
placed a wire mesh as air filter and it got sucked into a turbo , my stupidity for not clamping it properly

tuner was about to tune the car and faced boost problems , cant boost more than 1bar
so i went home and dismantled the turbo system of the manifold , acording to tuner the o2 housing actuator might have crack so better i reweld (im using wastegate). did a reweld , cleaned the engine all up.
managed to get nearly 2bar boost just for a test drive.

but today finally went back to tuner to get a fine tune , car got screwed again , dint manage to boost more than 1bar to get it tuned, wht could be screwed if boost doesnt go up ? i do not have any whistling sounds from the turbine , intercooler hoses and clamps are super tight. anyone can let me know the posibilities for boost not going up ?

wat abt ur wastegate? is it still in good condition? check for leaking of the wastegate.

Are you using EBC? if yes, what is your boost set during test drive when your boost nearly 2 bars spiking?? :embaressed_smile:

what other symptom did you aware? If your boost is not going up ,and your wastegate is working well ,then you will hear your wastegate screaming like hell.:_: This is when you set your boost is low and your EBC hose connection is right.

Pls do story a little bit your car history and your EBC setup using wastegate.
what is your EBC type? What model? Wastegate Model? :_:

Sounds like a similar problem as before?
Im no person with knowledge deep enough to sort that out, but I'd check the rewelded spots again...

Sorry to hear your problem.

By the way, the A/F reading is correct right? That would conclude that the fault is with the exhaust part of the system?

hehe no lerr 2bar not spike, memang want to boost around tht to drive
im using sisik ikan only for now , i figured out that the sisik ikan is doing its job , but then the boost just doesnt want to climb , dunno leak at

1. o2 housing
2. intercooler
3. blow off

i will be checking on this soon, any other things you all recommend me to check ?

Boost at 2 bars.. :O

But ah. I just realised that if youre running on a standalone (since your turbo sucked in the wire mesh, you must not have a MAF...) a boost leak wont affect your A/F ratio. My boost leak at the BOV was detected that way previously - when the boost was set above 0.7 the AF went crazy : P

Good luck I guess.

hummmm, this ones tough. a buddies s14 had a similar problem. on his car the vaccum line from the turbo compressor to the wastegate was clogged, we changed it and it ran fine. i dont know, try it. it doesnt cost much and can be done very quicky. good luck!

supra_jay : thanks , i will try that

zeroed : yeah if its using MAF then the a/f will go crazy cos the volume was already calculated by the a/f , bt standalone using map sensor yeah ? :)

Hehe yeah I was thinking since you didnt mention any AF problems the fault would be at the exhaust part of the turbo, releasing the pressure too early... which is easy to diagnose...

But now the scope is much wider la so I'll just walk away. :biggrin:

jinkl,

could be ur sisik ikan clogged....if u dare then try to remove sisik ikan and let
the hose open and go test ur car. Pls carefull when press ur throttle. If everthing ok,then ur boost can go beyond 2 bars...:regular_smile: above target maa..
i guess 2 bars is normal boost for you....:) :X-:

Supra_jay...
My friens also face the same problem as your friend. SR20 DET and cannot boosting more than 0.5bars. Troubleshoot and found out the wastegate standard actuator is too soft...wastegate full open even at low pressure.
Change to other actuator and after than normal boost is 0.7bar. Installed sisik ikan after that and boosting around 0.9bar now...:_:

but if the sisik ikan is clogged it will only cause the wastegate to shut forever... and boost 3 bars instead of his current measily 1 bar...

Yet 1 bar is my maximum boost. XD

clogged to release the pressure to atmosphere only. presssure to wastegate
still ok....so boost will become standard factory....

Jinkl....what ur boost now?????

Oh okay.. noob la me... heheh.

JinKL said he's using an external wastegate though if im not mistaken.

wild_boost : no laa crazy ah 2 bar , just for tuning want to boost high maybe 1.7bar oni lor

zeroed : ok education time hehehe , there are several ways u can connect the hoses to the wastegate , one way is to connect the top nipple and the side nipple with boost pressure. the sisik ikan will be placed on the top nipple , it will work opposite than normal , the more u open the lower the boost , if u shut all the sisik ikan u will get MAX boost , another way is to just pasang one hose to side nipple and a sisik ikan placed there , this way the more sisik u open , higher boost

i am confused now man ,
i took my wastegate and bov our and washed it clean with wd40 and water ,
i got into the car , did my hose for boost meter properly
i am getting 1.5bar once again and thts a smile

please bank in rm50 consultation fee to me since your problem somewhat solved. Thanks.

MUAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHAHA JIN NOW BETUL BETUL JIN ALREADY...tonight sure someone bakar the car kow kow since can up boost back...ngek ngek ngek...LOL~!

hehehehe cenot laaa bai :P
solved bt the car pop pop misfiring, sure got leak somewhere ler

Hmm thanks for the explanation. I never knew that external wastegates have 2 and opposite ways of controlling them...

But I'll leave the mechanics to the mechanics. :biggrin: