CAI

Riezal-R

I'm sure some of you NA junkies here have used or are using CAI system. Either a ready made one or a DIY one. I'm curious, is there a significant difference in using this? I know that for turbo cars there is not much difference, although it does help a bit. But how is it for NA?

Logically, it should make some difference. Like how you can feel your car to be slighlty lighter when dragging at night, compared to doing it during the day. The air is cooler. But does it really make a significant difference using CAI systems on NA cars? Cost:power ratio.

Sharing is caring :lol:

if u hav Air box or CAI, the temp will b dfren btw 5-10 celcius more cooler, so, u will get more power compare to hot air. this is some sample: at 35celcius got 151ps while at 30celcius will got 158ps.....

Ok. Good example. So lets just take the Mugen Airbox for example. It costs about RM2000... is that much money worth the performance gain we get?

What i mean by 'significant difference' is that, you can feel the change in performance and power. Not the fact that you think your car is faster because you know you've installed something to make it perform better.

Just like open pod air filters. After install, many think they are going faster. The fact is that the air filters does help gain some power, but you don't actually feel the car going faster. It is too little to be considered a significant increase in power. The same applies for heat shields.

rm2000 for Mugen air box is a little bit pricey lah........coz i'm poor.....
but if u like it, juz go for it.....
for me, i'll will consider BMC's CDA :) juz my 2 kupang.

Originally posted by Riezal-R@Feb 16 2005, 16:13
What is that? Where can I get that item? Can you recommend?
u can get at Sunway, but i forgot the shop name liao.....i think is boyt rm12xx++ kua.....
CDA is stand for :
CARBON DYNAMIC AIRBOX
CDA filtering system is composed of a cylindrical carbon air box containing a washable filtering element. Substituting the original air box with our CDA, cold air is directly channelled through an internal airflow deflector to the filter and drawn into the engine with a very small pressure drop (patented system). The CDA system also includes a black alloy ducting (60 cm length) for connecting the system to an air intake on the front of the car. The system is available in two different dimensions: we advise Type 1 for engines up to 1,600 cc; Type 2 for bigger displacements. Every type is also available in different diameters on engine side for connections. Dyno and Datron Laser tests demonstrate the great performance of CDA filtering system.

http://www.bmcairfilters.com/immagini/infoCDA1.jpg
http://www.bmcairfilters.com/immagini/infoCDA2.jpg
http://www.bmcairfilters.com/immagini/DisTeccda2.jpg

Wah.. looks good. This one no need to cut hole in front bumper one? Some of the ones that I see... have the funnel running from the front bumper, direct to the intake. Optimum cold air coming in, filtered then straight into the intake. Syok.

Originally posted by Riezal-R@Feb 16 2005, 16:57
Wah.. looks good. This one no need to cut hole in front bumper one? Some of the ones that I see... have the funnel running from the front bumper, direct to the intake. Optimum cold air coming in, filtered then straight into the intake. Syok.
if ur EK is 99spec, sure u dun need to open a hole lah....coz oredi got 1 hole lia....juz dun put sport light nia lah..ehehhehee
i plan to change this after i complete my exterior 1st...ehehhehee :lol:

Originally posted by Riezal-R@Feb 16 2005, 15:59
Ok. Good example. So lets just take the Mugen Airbox for example. It costs about RM2000... is that much money worth the performance gain we get?

What i mean by 'significant difference' is that, you can feel the change in performance and power. Not the fact that you think your car is faster because you know you've installed something to make it perform better.

Just like open pod air filters. After install, many think they are going faster. The fact is that the air filters does help gain some power, but you don't actually feel the car going faster. It is too little to be considered a significant increase in power. The same applies for heat shields.
i agree with you on this matter. i removed my cat-con and fitted a new extractor but the difference is very subtle. was thinking of fitting a new air filter but really if the difference is little or negligible, i mights well spend the money on other mods that i will feel an instant difference ie. springs, absorbers, tyres or save up more for engine transplant which definitely has a difference.

Originally posted by prodigy+Feb 16 2005, 17:14 -->
QUOTE (prodigy @ Feb 16 2005, 17:14 )
--QuoteBegin-Riezal-R
@Feb 16 2005, 15:59

i agree with you on this matter. i removed my cat-con and fitted a new extractor but the difference is very subtle. was thinking of fitting a new air filter but really if the difference is little or negligible, i mights well spend the money on other mods that i will feel an instant difference ie. springs, absorbers, tyres or save up more for engine transplant which definitely has a difference. [/b][/quote]
no matter wat enjin u swap, u oso need to get an air filter oso.......
this is the most basic thing u need to change....