Buying advice for Evo and Impreza

loose_end

loose_end

Jul 29, 2009
Evo 3
- Many ori evo 3 owners bring their ori geran along while driving ( JPJ )

6UE5t

6UE5t

Oct 8, 2010
The reason why I put these 2 on comparison is
#1 They both appear under my radar at the same time.
#2 Like what you said I do hope I can have a Evo 8 or 9 to compare as well but I'm not really good at this and I often surf on mudah.my and I have a bad luck on encounter nice Evo 8 or 9 I used to encounter few of them but the cars in either Sabah or Sarawak. Do you have any recommend social media platform that I can try my luck with?

Wow if you didn't mentioned I won't recognise it's a convert Evo 3 thank you��

At first I actually considered buy a EK hatchback body then half cut a B18C from DC2 integra type r but now the price is so expensive, I don't have any workshop that I can trust with the skills and not get scam by buying the parts and I do heard they famous as theft magnet so that's why I lose my confidence on this idea.

I've driven several times with one of my friend's Evo X in Sepang before but the car is just light tune on exhaust, ECU, suspension, brake pads and the car is around 350-380hp.
There a few Evo FB groups in Malaysia, I think you've joined some already as you've noticed that Evo 3.
https://www.facebook.com/groups/286778211483265/
https://www.facebook.com/groups/234394563293214/
https://www.facebook.com/groups/271935139506614/
https://www.facebook.com/groups/226031557410414/
https://www.facebook.com/groups/883423328356049/
https://www.facebook.com/groups/4g63tmalaysia/
But yeah Evo 8 & 9 are getting more rare now especially the 9 and is still damn expensive!

I noticed the seller of that Evo 3 stated in his post that it's ori Lancer CB. When others asking if it's ori CE9A he has not yet responded too.

Or just buy a Satria GTI then put a 4G63T in it, should be damn fast and much more affordable too.

350-380HP is damn poweful already leh!

RENESIS VIII

Jun 13, 2012
Seems like the Evo 3 is not a real Evo 3. If that is the case, you are better off choosing the WRX STI S204 for a few reasons.

- Less high on theft list compared to Lancer
- Better chassis rigidity
- Exclusivity due to limited production
- Newer (better aftermarket support in future probably)
- Able to fit larger wheels and wider tyres (I think Lancer can only go up to 17 inch, 235mm width)
- Boxer engine sound :biggrin:
- 6 speed manual

Seems like the Evo 3 is not a real Evo 3. If that is the case, you are better off choosing the WRX STI S204 for a few reasons.

- Able to fit larger wheels and wider tyres (I think Lancer can only go up to 17 inch, 235mm width)
- 6 speed manual
Not really. I think the seats in the S204 is higher on the thief list than the whole Evo 3 car.

Since he's gonna track it, just remove the seats and put a full bucket in.

Calvin Leong

Dec 21, 2016
There a few Evo FB groups in Malaysia, I think you've joined some already as you've noticed that Evo 3.
https://www.facebook.com/groups/286778211483265/
https://www.facebook.com/groups/234394563293214/
https://www.facebook.com/groups/271935139506614/
https://www.facebook.com/groups/226031557410414/
https://www.facebook.com/groups/883423328356049/
https://www.facebook.com/groups/4g63tmalaysia/
But yeah Evo 8 & 9 are getting more rare now especially the 9 and is still damn expensive!

I noticed the seller of that Evo 3 stated in his post that it's ori Lancer CB. When others asking if it's ori CE9A he has not yet responded too.

Or just buy a Satria GTI then put a 4G63T in it, should be damn fast and much more affordable too.

350-380HP is damn poweful already leh!
Wow thank you for the tips.

Yeah I love the Evo 9 for the MIVEC variable valve timing which helps a lot in future engine tuning. The only 2 things I felt a bit sad from my experience of that Evo X is the gearbox is SST not a 6 speed manual and he didn't do any lightweight work on the body then it'll become a serious weapon on track.

Is the process will be very expensive if I do that with a satria GTI? And how can I improve the cornering ability of that satria? Because I prefer cars with good cornering ability and what's your opinion for a 2nd hand Evo 7?

Calvin Leong

Dec 21, 2016

- 6 speed manual
Yeah I agree
That boxer will sounds good especially you pair it with a tomei expreme ti titanium exhaust

Calvin Leong

Dec 21, 2016
Not really. I think the seats in the S204 is higher on the thief list than the whole Evo 3 car.

Since he's gonna track it, just remove the seats and put a full bucket in.
If that's the case I do consider of putting a bride low max in there.

RENESIS VIII

Jun 13, 2012

Yeah I love the Evo 9 for the MIVEC variable valve timing which helps a lot in future engine tuning. The only 2 things I felt a bit sad from my experience of that Evo X is the gearbox is SST not a 6 speed manual and he didn't do any lightweight work on the body then it'll become a serious weapon on track.

Is the process will be very expensive if I do that with a satria GTI? And how can I improve the cornering ability of that satria? Because I prefer cars with good cornering ability and what's your opinion for a 2nd hand Evo 7?
There is a 5 speed manual unit for Evo X but those are quite hard to find over here.

Better leave the idea of transplanting a 4G63T into Satria GTi yourself. I think they can't be done legally anymore.

Yeah I agree����
That boxer will sounds good especially you pair it with a tomei expreme ti titanium exhaust��
Or Blitz Nur Spec exhaust. Try finding videos of WRX STI with that exhaust at youtube. Sounds really nice.

6UE5t

6UE5t

Oct 8, 2010

Yes, Evo X doesn't have in 6sp manual only 5sp manual and SST. The 5sp one also very rare here. Evo IX is the best, better than any X. IMHO any Evo is better than the X! :biggrin:

Hmm Bro Renesis mentioned above that maybe converting Satria GTI to use 4G63T cannot be legalized anymore. But maybe can just buy one already like that with already approved jpj papers before like below? :biggrin: very cheap so if you trash it then no big loss but if you are going to use it as daily then not so nice.

http://www.mudah.my/2000+Proton+Satria+GTI+1+8+M+4G63+VR4+TURBO-50696937.htm

Satria is a tossable light car, sure got many options to strengthen the chassis and suspension for track use. Then fitted with lightweight 15' rims and AD08R tires then it should be fun car to play with.

Evo 7 is an excellent car if you have the budget (around 55-70k now depending on condition and mods).It's the lightest of the CT9A Evos and equipped with the more robust 5sp gearbox but the AYC is not as advanced as the later versions. Price wise, I think the Evo 7 is like the best buy out of the CT9A now coz the price has become much cheaper relative to the 8 never mind the expensive 9! I'd rather take that than any Evo X! I'd also rather take the Evo 7 than S204 but that's just me coz I like Evo more than any Subaru Impreza (except the old 22B STI). :biggrin:

Calvin Leong

Dec 21, 2016
Yes, Evo X doesn't have in 6sp manual only 5sp manual and SST. The 5sp one also very rare here. Evo IX is the best, better than any X. IMHO any Evo is better than the X! :biggrin:

Hmm Bro Renesis mentioned above that maybe converting Satria GTI to use 4G63T cannot be legalized anymore. But maybe can just buy one already like that with already approved jpj papers before like below? :biggrin: very cheap so if you trash it then no big loss but if you are going to use it as daily then not so nice.

http://www.mudah.my/2000+Proton+Satria+GTI+1+8+M+4G63+VR4+TURBO-50696937.htm

Satria is a tossable light car, sure got many options to strengthen the chassis and suspension for track use. Then fitted with lightweight 15' rims and AD08R tires then it should be fun car to play with.

Evo 7 is an excellent car if you have the budget (around 55-70k now depending on condition and mods).It's the lightest of the CT9A Evos and equipped with the more robust 5sp gearbox but the AYC is not as advanced as the later versions. Price wise, I think the Evo 7 is like the best buy out of the CT9A now coz the price has become much cheaper relative to the 8 never mind the expensive 9! I'd rather take that than any Evo X! I'd also rather take the Evo 7 than S204 but that's just me coz I like Evo more than any Subaru Impreza (except the old 22B STI). :biggrin:
Wow the satria looks good though:biggrin:

Will Evo 7 tricky to repair if there's any problem and hard to find parts due to the age of the model?
Now is it a high possibility for me to encounter Evo 7 with not really good condition?

Calvin Leong

Dec 21, 2016
There is a 5 speed manual unit for Evo X but those are quite hard to find over here.

Better leave the idea of transplanting a 4G63T into Satria GTi yourself. I think they can't be done legally anymore.

Or Blitz Nur Spec exhaust. Try finding videos of WRX STI with that exhaust at youtube. Sounds really nice.
Ok I'll go check it out

6UE5t

6UE5t

Oct 8, 2010
Wow the satria looks good though:biggrin:

Will Evo 7 tricky to repair if there's any problem and hard to find parts due to the age of the model?
Now is it a high possibility for me to encounter Evo 7 with not really good condition?
Evo 7 parts I think still widely available coz they are interchangeable with 8 & 9.
Just like buying any used performance cars, there is always a relatively higher possibility that you may get a bad one! Cars like this are only bought by people who will appreciate and explore their performance so there's a good chance it can be already having problems due to owners abusing/pushing them to their limits, wrong mods, and accidents! The fact that Evo 7 is also already around 14-15 yrs old now makes the risk higher. Even Evo 9 is already 10 yrs old and already difficult to find a good one on sale. So yeah must be careful when choosing one and also still be prepared to further fix it back to top condition.

Got many Evo 7 now on sale:
http://www.mudah.my/Mitsubishi+Evolution+VII+2+0+M+ORIGINAL+EVO+7-49773631.htm
http://www.mudah.my/Mitsubishi+Evo7+2+0+M+2001+2003-50700878.htm
http://www.mudah.my/2001+Mitsubishi+Evo+7+2+0+M+-49429696.htm
http://www.mudah.my/2001+Mitsubishi+Evo+2+0+M+-50420399.htm
http://www.mudah.my/2002+Mitsubishi+Evo+2+0+M+-50364540.htm
http://www.mudah.my/Mitsubishi+Evo-49614281.htm

Calvin Leong

Dec 21, 2016
Evo 7 parts I think still widely available coz they are interchangeable with 8 & 9.
Just like buying any used performance cars, there is always a relatively higher possibility that you may get a bad one! Cars like this are only bought by people who will appreciate and explore their performance so there's a good chance it can be already having problems due to owners abusing/pushing them to their limits, wrong mods, and accidents! The fact that Evo 7 is also already around 14-15 yrs old now makes the risk higher. Even Evo 9 is already 10 yrs old and already difficult to find a good one on sale. So yeah must be careful when choosing one and also still be prepared to further fix it back to top condition.

Got many Evo 7 now on sale:
http://www.mudah.my/Mitsubishi+Evolution+VII+2+0+M+ORIGINAL+EVO+7-49773631.htm
http://www.mudah.my/Mitsubishi+Evo7+2+0+M+2001+2003-50700878.htm
http://www.mudah.my/2001+Mitsubishi+Evo+7+2+0+M+-49429696.htm
http://www.mudah.my/2001+Mitsubishi+Evo+2+0+M+-50420399.htm
http://www.mudah.my/2002+Mitsubishi+Evo+2+0+M+-50364540.htm
http://www.mudah.my/Mitsubishi+Evo-49614281.htm
Ok understood
Eh~I saw most of them on mudah before:laugh:

6UE5t

6UE5t

Oct 8, 2010
Ok understood
Eh~I saw most of them on mudah before:laugh:
The cheapest blue one with black hood looks reasonably decent. Price also the cheapest, I'm sure can nego a few thousands more, maybe even down to 55k region if serious with cash on hand. Coz most showrooms are taking those Evo 7 around 50-55k then try to sell them at 70-80k, so since this one only asking around 62k then can try lowball to 50-55k. :biggrin:

1-2 months ago there was a white Evo 7 AT but converted to manual sold at just below 50k.

hye sifu,

i have a problem...im using waja campro 1.6 and last week my car fuel pump having problem and i already change it .... this week i having problem to start my car...really hard sometimes i will make "tek tek tek " sound.... i check the batt already and it normal.... any advise for me plz on this situation....

every day i need to turn on and of the batt 4 times before i can get my car start....