hello guys n gals, fyi i am a new member here in zerotohundred. just wanna share my experience on 3sgte mr2 overheating/bubbling sound.
after long drive, there is bubbling sound coming from the engine bay. (it could be in reservoir)
start car while still cold, water is pouring out from the radiator cap, but not much..
well for the first case, i guess, maybe..its too hot and when u turn off the engine the water is boiling thus pushing the water out..need to check the water when the next ride...
second case, i dun know whether this theory ngam or not..
1. engine cold start, thermostat close, pressure is after thermostat, thus pouring out..engine is warm, thermostat open, suck water/coolant and operating as normal..head problem, engine cold start, suck water when rev, after warm, start pushing water (breathing),
there is one way to tell whether ur head is ok or not (hahahaha i mean the engine head) is to squeeze the hose before the radiator cap when its hot. if it is stiff, like wanna burst feeling , kembang, then main suspect is the head breathing..no good.
2. there is air locked inside our coolant system (radiator), u know, when we flush the coolant, after that we just pour water from the radiator cap. then there is air inside the radiator..so when we start the engine, u can see bubble coming out (not much tho)..mr2 radiator in front , engine is mid, coolant hoses are long, so to get 100 percent water/coolant in the radiator is quite difficult..
i may be wrong :)
i am just a newbie here, just wanna give my opinion ..sorry if my comments dont make sense.. :)