E30 320i has 129hp (for the late model Motronic models)Originally posted by zerocool@Oct 7 2004, 18:46
Thank 4 da info man. help alot....
Till now still considering getting an E30... hehe :D
always scared of da maintainance cost.
but wat 2 do, i like E30 & it suit my budget. :D
Still young & Still dangerous.
How is the stock E30 performance?
0-100? hp?
hehe.....................
Ya, 2.0/2.5 liters wit some mod or heavy mod is more than enough, btw i'm aOriginally posted by e30bob@Oct 12 2004, 13:36
why bother to convert to jap engines? 2.5 litres engine can give you more than enough power to drift. get 1984 model of 325i, its very cheap nowadays. if the M20B25 is not enough, buy an M50B25 halfcut. the feel is different; NA vs turbocharger, 6 vs 4 potters, conti vs jap engines, etc.
too much power from sr20 or rb20, you won't get a good traction on those engines. handling will be very poor. "rojak" engine will give headache sooner or later..
just an opinion to share though..
Originally posted by zerocool+Oct 12 2004, 17:46 -->
QUOTE (zerocool @ Oct 12 2004, 17:46 ) --QuoteBegin-e30bob
@Oct 12 2004, 13:36
why bother to convert to jap engines? 2.5 litres engine can give you more than enough power to drift. get 1984 model of 325i, its very cheap nowadays. if the M20B25 is not enough, buy an M50B25 halfcut. the feel is different; NA vs turbocharger, 6 vs 4 potters, conti vs jap engines, etc.
too much power from sr20 or rb20, you won't get a good traction on those engines. handling will be very poor. "rojak" engine will give headache sooner or later..
Ya, 2.0/2.5 liters wit some mod or heavy mod is more than enough, btw i'm a NA fella :D. Using turbo 4 drifting, it must be drink hell lot of petrol & nowday petrol aint cheap.... hehehe.. NA save abit.. since alot say aint good 4 japs engine into BMW, so just stick to BMW engine is da best way ... i tink. Does any1 here using E30 for drifting? [/b][/quote] I don't really drift the car larr... LSD is difficult to source here in malaysia. However, I do sometimes do Powerslide U turn. The LSD made it simpler to execute... And sometimes, i do dump the clutch at hi RPM at the traffic light when it's wet. shiokalingam, both rear tyres spinning to find traction and sometimes needs to correct the steering wheel cause car moving slightly sideways from all the spinning... :rolleyes: |
Originally posted by zerocool+Oct 12 2004, 17:46 -->
QUOTE (zerocool @ Oct 12 2004, 17:46 ) --QuoteBegin-e30bob
@Oct 12 2004, 13:36
Ya, 2.0/2.5 liters wit some mod or heavy mod is more than enough, btw i'm a NA fella :D. Using turbo 4 drifting, it must be drink hell lot of petrol & nowday petrol aint cheap.... hehehe.. NA save abit.. since alot say aint good 4 japs engine into BMW, so just stick to BMW engine is da best way ... i tink. Does any1 here using E30 for drifting? [/b][/quote] Modify on BMW ??? That cost u bomb bro .... An upgrade from 2.5 to 3.1 (hiop, Hartge, AC S3) that will kill u mate .... ekzos ? Cam ? Valve ? Rim (male & female type) ? Those belt will gone anytime without warning .... but i still prefer BMW with BMW heart .... But nomatter what don't go SPEED Work for the conversation kit (HIOP) .... HIOP is good, just SPEED WORK SUX ... |
r u in the klang valley area? if you are, you can always join us for yumcha session.. PM me if you want to meet up for pointers..Originally posted by jonathan79@Oct 23 2004, 08:26
Hi all sifus,
i have read all the advise on this post..
I have a E30 auto and would like to make this car more powerful.Due to the engine is quite old and the mantainence is very high coz the parts is very hard to find.
I have been quoted for a SR20 Det transplant for around 10k. Is that the price for a transplant?
some have advise me to transplant RB20 and the price will be more cheaper than Sr20 ;)
Do i need to used back the original rear axle if i do the transplant??
Thanks for advise in advance..
B)
Now i found u here ...Originally posted by shaifulo@Oct 23 2004, 23:10
jonathan,
which part is hard to find???....maintenance very high????....you must have gone to the wrong shops. I own an E30, I have never came across that sort of a problem!!!! other E30 owners can attest to this.....unless u r talking about special upgrades i.e. lsd, dogleg box, strut brace, ori bodykit, then maybe la....but then again, once in a while, they'll surface in our local chop shops. you just have to know where to go :P
I just burst my gearbox and it cost me 8k for the insatllation and replacement...:(Originally posted by shaifulo@Oct 23 2004, 23:10
jonathan,
which part is hard to find???....maintenance very high????....you must have gone to the wrong shops. I own an E30, I have never came across that sort of a problem!!!! other E30 owners can attest to this.....unless u r talking about special upgrades i.e. lsd, dogleg box, strut brace, ori bodykit, then maybe la....but then again, once in a while, they'll surface in our local chop shops. you just have to know where to go :P
Originally posted by jonathan79+Oct 26 2004, 10:28 -->
QUOTE (jonathan79 @ Oct 26 2004, 10:28 ) --QuoteBegin-shaifulo
@Oct 23 2004, 23:10
jonathan,
I just burst my gearbox and it cost me 8k for the insatllation and replacement...:( and the fuel consumption is kinda high.My meter cluster was not working anymore and was told by the mech that i need to chg the whole meter...:( and it will cost me 300 for that. Fabianyee, I'm from penang :) hehe So i was planning to chg the engine to SR20 or RB20 :) [/b][/quote] there's not many workshop in penang who actually knows the E30 well enuf. Got a member who sent his 320i down to Puchong for top overhaul and port polish.. a lot cheaper than to be done in Penang. |
Originally posted by jonathan79+Oct 26 2004, 10:28 -->
QUOTE (jonathan79 @ Oct 26 2004, 10:28 ) --QuoteBegin-shaifulo
@Oct 23 2004, 23:10
jonathan,
I just burst my gearbox and it cost me 8k for the insatllation and replacement...:( and the fuel consumption is kinda high.My meter cluster was not working anymore and was told by the mech that i need to chg the whole meter...:( and it will cost me 300 for that. Fabianyee, I'm from penang :) hehe So i was planning to chg the engine to SR20 or RB20 :) [/b][/quote] Dude, My advice financially. Change your engine to RB20. Ask Cuping for his experience coz i dun think he spen more then RM5k. Then, sell your BMW GB. Not to me lah. but try some1's bmw with nissan engine first. U may like it or may not. :D :D :D |