Black Top (check engine)

GSRTurbo

Would like to ask sifu here that are using black top, Cause I'm running a black top with open trumpet, when i high rev the check engine light comes out, izzit normal. and also the idling is not stable, goes from 1.5k without air-con and 1k with air-con. I'm just running a regulator with no management.

im using BT with open 4 aluminium trumpet too, does not have the problem that you mention, idling very stable......

Or izzit wiring issues, I'm running 86 compressor and PAS, so I suspect the load is higher on the engine when the air-con kick in hence the higher idling,

I am running Svt with BT ecu and open trumpet dont have such problem,idle at 850rpm operation temp and 1500rpm during cold,on aircon 900rpm+/-.I also use 86 compressor,no problem at all.You can adjust the on aircon idling by turning the adjusting screw of the aircon idle bypass valve.

Hello Rahmat,
How do you connect the a/c idling valve to the ECU? As far as i know, BT's ECU doesn't has A/C idling up control pin.

GSR,
You may find out your problems by retriving the error codes from the ECU.

How to retrieve to codes? WHo got the diagnostic tools, me is 4a newbie.

Yes i can adjust the idling down to a lower rpm but once the air-con kick in the idling will be to low and once i on the lights it will be worse. My air-con idling valve is connected to the throttle body in one end and another end is left un plug.

Do u know the actual position of where to plug?

Hi Sifu Wong,
the aircon air bypass valve does not come form ecu,it comes from the a/c switch,whenever i switch a/c on,it opens the bypass valve,i dont know how the standard wiring works but thats is how i connect it in my car.Got 2 wires there so one from a/c switch (12v) and one for Gnd.One thing i know is the SVT and BT ecu controls the a/c clutch,which means when we switch a/c on,the signal sent to ecu(AC1) and ecu switch on the a/c clutch(ACT),and AC2 for feedback signal from a/c compressor.Correct me if wrong.I will try to verify this when i have a complete wiring BT engine.

GSR,
To retrieve diagnostic codes,open your hood and find the diagnostic box,jump terminal TE1 and E1 together,switch on ignition(dont start),count how many times the check engine light flashes and follow by a short pause and count how many times it flashes after the pause.Since u run open trumpet,u can leave the idling valve unplug at one end,u might wanna put small filter there.

sifoo levin818 - do you remember the a/c idling valve i asked you to test it long time ago...at Trial Tuning...that one is for SVT one...until now i didn't connect it hee...

sifoo cuscostrutbrace - do you use back the silvertop a/c idling valve n socket...? if you do...how's the connection of the hoses...? I've seen Chu's on his SE, but i've forgot...

GSRTurbo - where did you put the Air Temp Sensor ???

Chinozie,

I use AE86 one,i have tried using AE101 idle valve but it does not give me the adjustability of the AE86 valve.The hoses is connected one before the throttle and one after the throttle.For 20v its at the vacuum chamber near the injector,where got round thing where the ISCV hoses/etc connects.The other end u can open to air or plug into air intake hose.

huuu...no wonder can't adjust it until we thought it was faulty (checked with levin818, it was OK)...

orait thanx...
got to find a "Y" or "T" junction...to connect it...

Sifu cuscostrut,

Where is the diagnostic box? Fuse box? I'm running in rwd config meaning i'm only using the engine wiring from bt and the ecu. Really confuse. I assume u are runnin rwd also with the ae86 compressor, My idling is very erratic which i suspect its cause by the vaccum, fueling or the sparks, And once i wot the car will sttutter for a few second before the revs climb. I'm setting the pressure regulator at 45psi, issit ok

chinozie,
Where is the air temp sensor located? need to have a look on my engine bay.

Gsr,

the diagnostic box should be in your engine bay,it is not a fuse box.On top of the box is written 'DIAGNOSTIC',sure you cant miss it.Inside the lid there is a sticker showing the pin assignment,connect as per instruction.I hope your mech does not cut the diagnostic box,hehe.I too use SVT engine wiring only,body wiring is original.That should not be a problem if it is connected correctly and all the I/O the ecu need is connected.

sifoo cuscostrutbrace,
when u can get timing light? my idle still high laaaaa. around 1500 rpm. i'm worried people thinking i'm using adjustable pulley and racing cam...hehehehe

Is it because of the ecu i'm running is AT that causes the check engine light to lit up?

Bro,

I'm running BT 5 speed with AT ECU and open ITB as well. However, my ride is equipped with a 1.3 meter cluster (not the FX or 4A-GE version). I send to Danny @ Pandan Indah area for him to go for handheld diagnosis last month. Only Intake Air Temperature error code was present. And based on those peoples' at the diagnosis center, they said such an error code for Intake Air Temp is common on most open ITB BT 4A-G..... Try calling up Danny @ 016-697 0700 for the exact code number....

Although with the error code, 4A-G 20V runs smoothly.... Idling when cold @ 1500 rpm.... At optimum working temperature is @ 850-880 rpm.

Cheers....

so meaning that your check engine light will lit up when the car is started....

silvertop rev limit (original ecu) at 7400rpm

blacktop rev limit (original ecu) at 7800rpm

GSRTurbo, why not go diagnostic and check your wiring, i have that check engine light on when i rev kaw kaw resulting laggy in acceleration and i found out that 1 of my wiring is not connected to ecu, lol... reconnect back everything goes off :D

okay maybe will try diagnose first, where is this danny place in pandan indah exact loc. maybe can go there and try. near red sun area?