95.5-98 JDM B20B are 8.8:1 p3f compression pistons
Rated at 126hp

99-00 JDM B20B are 9.6:1 PHK compresion pistons
Rated at 146hp

97-98 USDM B20B are 8.8:1 p3f compression pistons
Rated at 126hp

99-00 USDM B20Z are 9.6:1 PHK compression pistons
Rated at 146hp

Bro..one of my friend's using DC5 86mm piston to run with his B20B with some sleeve works...wat do you think...is it good@safe?

shfish said:
Some info on the B20B & B20Z blocks, their Compression & Rate HP:

95.5-98 JDM B20B are 8.8:1 p3f compression pistons
Rated at 126hp

99-00 JDM B20B are 9.6:1 PHK compresion pistons
Rated at 146hp

97-98 USDM B20B are 8.8:1 p3f compression pistons
Rated at 126hp

99-00 USDM B20Z are 9.6:1 PHK compression pistons
Rated at 146hp

ohh mean that b20b 99-00 got the same compression as b20z.
better search for b20b 99-00.

wil_alastor said:
Bro..one of my friend's using DC5 86mm piston to run with his B20B with some sleeve works...wat do you think...is it good@safe?

pm bornzreign, he using that setup with jun type 4, motec m800, crower crank n conrod n lots more...

b-eater said:
ohh mean that b20b 99-00 got the same compression as b20z.
better search for b20b 99-00.

if u planning to run 2L on stock piston, then its a good choice. but if u planning to put oversize piston, then either one oso can...

hattech-v said:
pm bornzreign, he using that setup with jun type 4, motec m800, crower crank n conrod n lots more...

wahahkakhakhakhkakakakakakakakkkakakkakakhakhaahhahahhaha...cipets~:_:

Nice compression info, those are dynamic compression ratios, aren't they?

Thing is, with the B20B and B16/b18C head combo, the "Static" compression ratio varies according to how much volume the combustion chamber holds, and if you rework the head slightly to accomodate pistons or rework the pistons to clear the valves, then you'll have less compression, and probably have to build the engine to accomodate this to achieve desired compression.

Cams also play a part in compression, but not static compression, they play with the timing of the valves closing to achieve desired "dynamic compression" compression.

As you change your engine setup in terms of "static" compression, you can adapt by using cams... stock ones will work, but might not get you the powerband you desire.

My thinking is that too high a static CR on VTEC engines, and you'll have problems with knocking pre-vtec, and run too low, and you don't get much power as the revs climbs..both which can be curbed with cams.. but customs cams are $$$$$$$$

it's getting more complicated laa to learn this engine....anyway hidup b20

hattech-v said:
shiro, do u have any info on comb chamber volume for b16b and b18c r?

Still no.. remember I asked this same question on another thread?

If have, it's much much easier to gauge static compression changes just by changing heads (if there is a difference... some say got, some say not.. I oso not sure got diff or not)

Looking at the piston of the B16B, it does seem like either B16b head is slightly deeper around the comb. chamber area, but unless measured, can't say for sure.

I have access to a damaged B18C head , but one of the comb chamber is still perfect condition.. so when I have time, I'll try measure it and see.

I oso weighted some EG parts already.. but haven't typed them out yet.. you know lah.. work already start for me mah... :P

haha.... u working haf day oni laaa... not like me... 14hrs a day...
let me dig up again the honda diet program thread....

anyway just put the h-series in....H22A..
so how do u all think abt H22A????

Don't worry mie.. I can search for it once I weight more stuff. with the rain and all, I'll get around hopefully soon, since my travelling hours are really 'extended' now due to the rain and slow moving traffic... so doesn't leave me much time after work to do those kind of stuff.

Ori glass headlights are damn heavy oh! I tried on the kitchen scale and it's more than 1kg.. and that's the limit of the scale.. so it's possibly more. The plastic headlights, I haven't weigh yet, and I don't have spares for those.. so might have to remove them from my car to weigh them.

The rear headlights are superlight.. less about 440g only.. the inwards light haven't removed yet.. so dunno.

The JDM EG9 black carpet vs the ori MDM carpet is also different in weight.. I'll weigh one of the spares when I have time.

Cool H22A,

H22A is good for Accords, but I've heard that some people who plonk it in a civic gets the occasional 'driveshaft tercabut' syndrome.. seems like it's not long enough that it pops out during full compression of the shock, where there's simply not enough length for it to reach the intermediate shaft.

Ask around though.. I've heard only.. never seen a H22A civic in Malaysia, although heard there's one in Kelantan.

hattech-v said:
i've tested it b4... b4 it sold to that guy.. kelantan guy.. now study at moscow...

Yeah.. actually I heard it from the kelantan guy himself.. he pmmed me last year.

civic h22a

here r some pic 4 u guys to share.....:regular_smile:

Write your reply...