B16A check engine lite turns on..

helmistaley

Hello sifus...
Currently im using B16A from eg9 fitted to ek 4 drs...my problem is once happened the check engine lite illuminate while vtec opens and it was at range 6-7k rpm.when i slow down the lite still on and the engine idle seems to be high and unstable.after i turn off the engine and restart the problem gone and engine back to normal.for info the engine is standard,manual tranny and only got e-manage installed and basic air intake and exhaust mods.
hope u guys can give ideas at least i know where and what to look at...cheeers :wavey:

Do you know how to extract the CEL codes? There's a 4 wire socket connector just near to the passenger glove box. Its directly connected to the ECU. If i'm not mistaken it has Blue, Brown, 2 Green Whites stripe. Jump the Brown and Green White Stripe using a wire. Turn on the ignition to ACC, Check engine light should come on and blink in a pattern.

Examples:
1 long blink + 4 short blinks = code 14 (Oxygen sensor)
2 long blink + 3 short blinks = code 23 (Knock sensor)

Just let us know what code you have and its easier.

Based on that, I think it's possibly O2 sensor error.

It could be others, but usually that.

True, i had that problem myself before after a hard run but that was intermittent. Not totally the O2 sensor but the heater core of the O2 sensor.

Thanks guys..if this happen again i'll go check as what D-IV suggested.Let say if found O2 sensor faulty should i just clean it or hafta replace?is it possible that the problem also might be caused by dirty throttle body?
Today got new problem sumore...aircon belt slips.aiyooo....headache :mad:

Hi bro,

This problem had happened to me twice d since i bought this car.
The engine light will go off when u re-start the engine. If not mistaken, mine was knock sensor....
I can't really recall how much i replaced with 2nd hand sensor.... i think around 1xx.

Bro..
Check you e-manage setting....
What i know if you set e.g safc over 15% it will happen.
It thinks that the map is spoilt.....
The ecu too "smart".
If air fuel to lean... try change injector and reset or use the function in e-manage to increase the injector timing instead of adjusting the air flow....

Write your reply...