Another turbo engine project

blackie-singh....i heard got 2jz halfcut la. auto one. but i think not from supra body, must be from the aristo/lexus type la. if u really interested, i go find out for u la.

ccl...just get the whole 2JZ engine la....:) then can do mega burnout's......eheheh

indecided......ehehehe. remember the robin williams' show? err...forgot what name. but he kept mispronouncing volvo as vulva. :D :D

danny.....wah, low yat plaza also got problem ar....thats y i say. put 2JZ, then u can fly out of low yat plaza....ehehehe

haha ramsing, not only car fly out but all the body parts fly out also!

Originally posted by Danny@Jul 16 2004, 09:55 AM
haha ramsing, not only car fly out but all the body parts fly out also!
ehehhe...like that good laaa.....natural body lightening process. car can go faster laa....
go for sepang drag also easy...coz lighter. :D:D

Posted pre-transplant pictures here :-

http://dannysphotos.fotopic.net/c234418.html

Original specs :-

http://www.volvoclub.org.uk/tech/122S1960USASpecifications.pdf

http://www.volvoclub.org.uk/roadtests/AmazonRoadTest1958.pdf (considered good 40+ yrs ago la ...heheh)
1/4 mile 19.9 sec
0-30mile 3.7 sec
0-50mile 9.7 sec
0-60 mile 14 sec
85bhp max speed 94mph

RB20 in a 122? farking scary ler around the bends.
drove 1 a long time ago, steering makes me feel like i'm driving a bus, handling? HAHAHAHAH. bodyroll? yikes. brakes?

+ RB20 ? cwazey man. :rolleyes:

Just DO IT.

*two thumbs up*

n bring it 2 the sepang drag. guaranteed 2 make the crowd go wild.

kekeke handling will be handled after the transplant of coz, can't do without good brakes and suspension. I'm also scared afterwards cannot control the car.

the original steering memang like bus, it is twice the size of the standard steering wheels, but this one is just built for normal driving and maybe once in a while scare those mat rempits (big noisy exhaust but no power type).

holy crap!!! an AMAZON!!!

really hope it works out for you dude!!! i LOVE this car! rally heritage summore!

used to drive a 244 myself, had some money for a RB20 already but then found out that i needed to spend 3k to restore the body (badly rusted) so that project got junked.

now happily driving civic :D

VOLVO now has been primary target for ultimate JAP-EURO conversion.

Why not put Toyota V8 engine ?

bcoz minum petrol maaa ;)
in US its a common practice to put ford or chevvy small block v8.
moreover handling will be slightly affected becoz of a heavy front.

Well bro, I've got a fren using a RB20turbo on a 1982 datsun laurel...and i know of some1 using a RB20 twin turbo on a volvo too...but its a volvo 240 GL...althoug i think it would be possible on ur 122 but i think it better to refurbish the car and maintain its classic look rather than turning it into a mean beast...its up to u anyway...chillss

I won't do any crazy stuff to the body etc, so it will still have the classic look (volvo classics just dont look good with bodykits and gt wings), maybe just get some higher profile tyres or bigger rims at the most and some metallic paint job.

Danny,

I currently have the RB20det in my Daimler Sovereign III. The stock engine was a 4.2 liter straight 6 but it was no where as powerful as the RB20. You won't regret the swap as Volvo's weight is no where close to my 'tank'

Also, your car will definitely have better value if you preserve all the other parts (interior, exterior etc..), if you plan to resell it that is. Otherwise, I think you could care less. I preserved everything else on my car just because I wanted the look & feel of a daimler. The swap was done simply because the stock engine consumed gas like a mofo and was a pain in the @$$ when it comes to maintenance.

Anyway, good luck with your project. Remember to keep us posted. :)

nice use of language
i applaud u!!! :huh:
hahahah jk pal ;)

the daimler would cost a bomb to maintain lah... say suspension alone already will kill u ;) u only save on engine maintanence i guess!

Aeto ... cool car u have! I drove a similar car before last time when my parent's friend wanted me to bring it to the workshop, pure class I must say. It had full leather interior with walnut dashboard, 6 pcs component speakers, auto windows etc and the twin tank 4.2 litre had plenty of torque, but the petrol usage was scary. Good to know you have good experience with the RB20, I'm looking forward to the transplant!

wah cool... any comments after your transplant? are u satisfied with the engine and response?

still haven't done anything yet, the mech filled with jobs until this month... most probably next month only...